We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We didn't want to leave.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Silver Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Silver Bay YMCA - Conference and Family Retreat Center
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Silver Bay
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We visited Silver Bay for a weekend in August, and it was a perfect place to relax, enjoy a wide variety of outdoor activities and spend time with family.

The grounds are beautiful, with wonderful views and access to Lake George. The Inn is charming, the boathouse is picturesque and the gym facilities are outstanding. We enjoyed swimming in the lake from their two beaches, kayaking and sailing. There were canoes and boat trips on the lake available. We enjoyed the entertainment that was available on Friday night in the gorgeous auditorium. In addition, there are tennis and handball courts, shuffle board, yoga classes and more.

Silver bay is largely catered towards conferences and large groups. Two weeks a summer are 'family weeks' where no conferences are scheduled. If you are planning a large family reunion or gathering, this is a fantastic place to do so.

The only downside (and reason I didn't give 5 stars) is that the food was a bit lacking. The large dining hall was convenient and the food was fine, but nothing to write home about. In addition, the rooms in the inn were pleasant but basic. If you are looking for a five star resort, check out the Sagamore.

There is a feeling of community at Silver Bay. People are friendly, and the staff love being there (some have worked for decades). It is a very special place to visit and we can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank NewYorker22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (43)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 43 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2012

It was amazingly beautiful. Lake George....If you love outdoor, this is the place to be. This nature welcome you in very warm way and let you be a part of it. Every corner you walk, it is wonderful views. Nice people and a lot of fun outdoor activities. I specially loved Kayaking. You just melt into the beautiful Lake George. Family and a couple...single person....we are all together in this place. And price was unbelievable! We stayed in just renovated overlook room with shared bath. Bathroom are very clean and bed was very comfortable. Meals are pretty good. I loved the breakfast with fresh fruits bar! You should go!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Junkoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We attended our family reunion here in July of 2011. The grounds are large and well maintained. We stayed in the main building where the rooms had private baths as the other buildings did not. There was no air conditioning and the room had two single beds complete with super squeaky floors! Our package came with 3 meals per day and access to all the facilities and participation in all activities. The food was very good and plentiful and the sleeping arrangements were tolerable. At night about the only entertainment is the ice cream shop which we made good use of. Our family reunion negotiated price was 130 dollars per person per night which seems pretty high but we felt it was fair for all that was included.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Midland98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

A beautiful and peaceful bit of heaven here on earth

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ptsarlene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Silver Bay is from a previous generation -- no a/c, no TV, no bar, etc. It is actually a YWCA camp. But for that growing population of healthy non-drinkers/natural living folks, this place has a lot to offer. The amenities (sailing, canoeing, swimming, tennis, etc.) are excellent, well-maintained, very available. The rooms are nice and spacious with no cheap plastic furniture. The halls and lobby are huge, wide, low-ceilinged, richly carpeted, etc. The food is WAY beyond even good regular resort food, more like a fine restaurant (ex: shellfish marinara w shrimp, clams, mussels as a standard dinner item). The grounds are gorgeous old-Adirondacks style -- giant boxwoods, endless lawns, enormous patios and porches with stone benches and wood rockers. Almost Gatsbyesque.. A delightful experience. Note-- bring a small cooler full of ice.

Room Tip: The main inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank McLyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

Absolutely gorgeous and tons to do. If you're an outdoorsy person, this is the place for you. It's absolutely scenic, the Inn is a gorgeous building. The staff are friendly, although most are quite young (think camp counsellors).

For what you pay per person per night ($115+), you get very little, the room is basic, but clean and has what you need. And I knew what to expect. Although no A/C in August with a sunburn - definitely not ideal

But on top of this, you have to buy meal tickets - to eat "camp style" food - it's awful. Cheese & chicken quesadillas (Or just spaghetti) are not a meal! It may work for small children at summer camp, but its not appropriate for a resort. They had vegetarian options - but no gluten free or lactose free options (other than the salad bar). You're much better off to drive into one of the little towns along 9N and get lunch at a restaurant

Lake George is beautiful - and everywhere in the area is pricey. I can honestly say that Silver Bay isn't the most expensive and at least it comes with tons of options in terms of activities. If you do stay here, expect simple rooms and go somewhere else for your meals!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank brneyes24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2010

We usually go to fancier resorts; but we wanted a different experience. I think we wanted a resort where my son (an only child) could meet some kids and we could get away from all the electronics. We are not crunchy or into nature in general. However, we found out to truly recharge nature is the way to go, and a kayak on the lake beats any computer.
My son was in archery camp all day; we usually have to think of ways to entertain him so that was just great. The archery teacher was excellent as were all the instructors: in fact I could not believe the quality of all the instructors. My husband spent the day reading on the porch overlooking Lake George ( and the campus is just beautiful), I was in watercolor and kayaking etc.
I met many intellects and had great conversations. Many of the residents had been coming back to Silver Bay for decades.
I also loved the spiritual talks ( the Reverend Bruce Tamlin and Cathy Paparella were great)and I am not the kind to ever do this on a vacation. It was a complete renewal; mind body and spirit.
I teach at a medical school and know what it means to be a good teacher, and many of these teachers were giving college level seminars.
Food for breakfast OK. We went out to dinner in Bolton Landing, which has some beautiful restaurants. (Algonquin and Sagamore) and also Hague(Firehouse) The camp is dry and we like a glass of wine at night. Fort Ticonderoga is nearby and supposedly great ; we just found the activities so worthwhile on the property we never went.
I think a family with active kids needing an real break would love this place the most, although the elderly seemed to love it, too.
Many of the people there were doing reunions and seemed happy.
Hope this review helps .

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mh3_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Silver Bay YMCA - Conference and Family Retreat Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Bay YMCA - Conference and Family Retreat Center

Address: 87 Silverbay Rd, Silver Bay, NY 12874-1908
Region: United States > New York > Silver Bay
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Silver Bay
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Think of Silver Bay for conferences, family reunions/vacations, retreats, leadership development, special events, and so much more.The mission of Silver Bay YMCA is to offer all people opportunities to renew, refresh and nurture their spirit, mind and body. The vision of Silver Bay YMCA of the Adirondacks is to be an outstanding family conference center that provides quality services in a historically rich setting and is recognized as a welcoming community that connects generations, develops leaders, creates world mindedness, and feeds the soul. Silver Bay YMCA of the Adirondacks is a 109-year old YMCA family retreat and conference center on shores of Lake George. Silver Bay hosts conferences, family reunions, family vacations, weddings, and team building & leadership training on a 700-acre waterfront campus within the Adirondack Park of New York State. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Silver Bay, Ymca Of The Adirondacks Hotel Silver Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing