We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Horrible experience even trying to make a reservation.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Northern Lake George Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Silver Bay
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Horrible experience even trying to make a reservation.”
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Fortunately, I experienced the rudeness that has been written on Tripadvisor while attempting to make a reservation and did not have to experience a horrible holiday at this "resort". A man answered the phone without giving the name of the resort and told me he had to change phones. A minute later a lady answered. I told her the dates we needed and she said they were available. THEN the man yelled at the woman that he needed that phone line and told her to get off. She took my number and 24hours later she has yet to return my call. I made reservations at The Rauh B&B as soon as got off the phone with Northern Lake George Resort.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Jem M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    3
    3
    5
    17
See reviews for
24
5
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yonkers, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Brought my family for a week here at one of their Villa. We had an excellent time. Management goes out of their way to make your vacation the best! The Lake was wonderful and the sandy beach was great. Their restaurant on the premises served some of the greatest food we have ever eaten. Boating at this end of the lake is also the best because very little traffic.

Room Tip: Choose the villas--fireplace is wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Donald F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brockton, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 September 2013

The food was very good I proposed to my girlfriend after dinner it was very romantic setting over looking the lake the service was great mark was very thoughtful he gave us a bottle of champagne on the house looking forward to next year thanks Mark




Rick & Karen

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rick l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We booked for a family vacation and had a great time here. The workers were so helpful and friendly, and were always smiling. One of the reviews said the food is terrible, this is simply untrue. The food is great, the rooms are small but clean and overall I and my family were very satisfied.

Room Tip: For a longer stay choose the villas--they are like condominiums on the lake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vermont
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

My title says it all. The staff (local young folks) can be fine, but the owner/management is just as the reviews say. I can't imagine how this guy stays in business. Just to the north, you have Trout House Village, and Silver Bay YMCA - both fine places to be. To the south is Bolton Landing, with various options. We have tried the food a few times, and it has always been awful, and treated poorly by the managment. Disclaimer... I am perfectly happy with average food (fairly priced) and "funky" settings (if clean & friendly). This place has way too much down side.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dockman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Silver Bay hotels

New York
Level Contributor
166 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2013

This is a very basic and plain resort or cabin-like. If you plan to stay here, be sure to find outdoor activities to do as well bring your own things for indoor activities. I think this resort is really meant for those who just want to relax and read or write a book. The television is the old 19" from the 80's which has very limited channels. There is no internet service available and no cell service (your smartphone is now paperweight). The couch, though not really, is not very comfortable and seats two. It has a kitchen with utensils that you can cook your own meals, a refrigerator and a small table with two chairs. You can bbq which there are grills available but you have to buy the charcoal and lighter fluid. The units have two twin-size beds on the ground level bedroom as well an upper level room with two twin-size beds but doesn't have a door and a wall for privacy. There is a fireplace which is nice to have going in the winter time but be sure to bring sufficient matches or bbq lighter. This is ideal for four single people sharing a single unit. I've stayed here five times during the winter and there was always an issue with the shower draining slowly. The main lodge is the check-in as well as the guest area and dining room. I could not give this resort a higher rating based on amenities and old decor.

Room Tip: Villa Unit with lakeview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BTFeedback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 29 December 2012

The staff were so nice to accommodate us during a horrible unexpected snowstorm, in which we had to pull off the road for the night, and they even brought us pasta for dinner after simply asking if we were hungry. Supllied us with plenty Of Firewood for the night as well.

Really nice people turned a crappy situation into a very pleasant one.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sickstring5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Silver Bay
21.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
18.6 mi away
The Lodges at Cresthaven
The Lodges at Cresthaven
#23 of 88 in Lake George
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
20.2 mi away
The Georgian Lakeside Resort
The Georgian Lakeside Resort
#21 of 88 in Lake George
3.5 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
The Sagamore Resort
The Sagamore Resort
#1 of 8 in Bolton Landing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,519 reviews
12.1 mi away
The Stone House Motel
The Stone House Motel
#5 of 6 in Ticonderoga
3.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
16.7 mi away
Blue Lagoon Resort
Blue Lagoon Resort
#1 of 5 in Diamond Point
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northern Lake George Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northern Lake George Resort

Property: Northern Lake George Resort
Address: 8074 Lake Shore Drive, Silver Bay, NY 12874
Region: United States > New York > Silver Bay
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Silver Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Northern Lake George Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Northern Lake George Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northern Lake George Hotel Silver Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing