We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of Gray House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Skaneateles
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gray House
Ranked #8 of 14 Skaneateles B&B and Inns
Gateshead
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night . The owner , Valerie, met us as we arrived and showed us around the house and our room . The house feels very welcoming and homely . Our room was downstairs . It wasn't huge but the bed was comfortable and bathroom clean . We could go into the kitchen anytime to make coffee etc which was very nice . It was quiet as there were only two ladies staying in the room next to us . It was very pleasant to talk to them at breakfast the next day . There was fresh fruit, muffins, cereals and the table laid out very nicely for breakfast . It was a short walk into the centre of Skaneatles. What a lovely village it is . We enjoyed our time very much , no complaints at all and a good price too .

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pixie056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    7
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oshawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We stayed at the Gray house while passing through Skaneateles, what a beautiful home, very Victorian, and the B& B in right in town, just park your car and walk a block and your right in the town, great location, The owners daughters were very helpful with giving us tips on where to eat,and shop, our room was very comfortable, with our own bathroom with a shower, everything was very clean, the house is very well decorated, and the yard is beautiful. great place to stay at a great price, would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margaret l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chatham NJ
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Would definitely return if I am ever in the area. The house is a close walk to town, nice, comfortable and quiet. We called last minute and found the owners to be accommodating. They are quiet and low-key but very nice when we engaged them in conversation. We stayed upstairs in a large space that was more like an apartment. The queen sized bed was comfortable and the room was spotlessly clean, meticulously maintained and well-appointed with attention to detail in the decor and furnishings. I liked the nice touch of the little chocolates next to the bed and hot water and tea bags available anytime. Breakfast was self-serve in a quaint room with an elegantly set table. In addition to the usual assortment of cereals and oatmeal packets, there were fresh baked muffins from the local bakery and fresh fruit that were delicious.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank H M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

We took mom mom to Skaneatles for a birthday trip. We found the Gray House and are glad we stayed there. The price was terrific compared to other places and we could walk to town and dinner. They had a room that slept 3, which was important for us. Breakfast was an assortment of cereals, fresh and bread and English muffins and bagels. There were 2 coffee types and OJ. That was fine for us. The owners lived next door but were there for anything we needed. I would definitely recommend this place it was very nice, but not "Over the top" like some B and B tend to be.

Room Tip: They have 2 rooms that each slept 3 with was a real plus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SheilaWeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orland Park, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

We stay here at least once a year, usually more. Sometimes just the two of us, sometimes with multiple teenagers in tow. The rooms are always clean and Val and Bob are wonderful about meeting our varying needs. The location is fabulous and we walk all over town. We don't usually eat breakfast here, because we love visiting the bakery and the coffeehouse in town. They redid all the bathrooms last year and they are high quality and wonderful. I highly recommend spending a few days here!

Room Tip: There are a variety of rooms available. Be aware of the lighting in the parking area and on the str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CookTeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring City, PA
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2011

Strange as it may seem, Skaneateles and Christmas seem to go hand in hand. The town has a 4-week Dickens Christmas Festival, complete with characters from "A Christmas Carol", Queen Victoria and her entourage, and Charles Dickens himself who roam the streets or are featured at various times and places for speeches, caroling and enactments of scenes from "A Christmas Carol". Even if, for some inexplicable reason, "A Christmas Carol" does not resonate with you, Skaneateles at Christmas time will.

If you go to Skaneateles for the Dickens Festival or any other time of year, stay at Gray House. It is a delightful B&B that is located two or three short blocks from the main street and within easy walking distance of everything that you may wish to do and see in Skaneateles. The rooms on the first floor are large while those on the second floor are suites with sitting rooms and full kitchen facilities (not that you will need them). By all accounts, the beds in all the rooms are comfortable. Our group had the entire B&B to ourselves, which made the experience all the more enjoyable. The hosts provided breakfasts consisting of cereals, baked goods (e.g., blueberry loaf), coffee, tea, hot chocolate and juice. The inside and outside were decorated with trees, lights and artifacts, and warm cider, cookies and Christmas music awaited our return in the early evening.

Across the street and half a block away is Joe’s Pasta Garage. It has good pasta and salads, and the service is terrific. For lunch, there is an assortment of places from which to choose. Our group split up between Johnny Angel’s Heavenly Burgers (a great place for knock-your-socks-off burgers) and Doug’s Fish Fry. If you’re looking for something to satisfy your sweet tooth, try the doughnut and coffee shop between Gray House and the main street. Regardless of the time of year, be sure to dine at Moro’s Table in nearby Auburn, a 15 minute drive from Gray House. It has a very interesting menu and the food and service are excellent. The night we were there, the chef prepared a fabulous Beef Bourguignon.

While the Sherwood Inn on Skaneateles’ main street overlooking Skaneateles Lake is reputed for its fine dining room, we were disappointed. There are no tables large enough to accommodate a large group (in our case, 7) and the hostess had to place 3 tables side-by-side-by-side, which made positioning dinner plates an adventure. The menu was not anywhere near as interesting as Moro’s Table and, while the quality of the food was fine, it was not on par with Moro’s. The most disturbing part of the evening was the behavior of nearby patrons. A table less than 10 feet from us exploded in raucous laughter followed by loud conversation that lasted for what seemed to be an eternity. Ten minutes later, a party of 8 immediately arrived, sat immediately behind us and spoiled the rest of our stay at table. One of them was loud- very loud- and noticeably drunk. We tried to ignore the noise and enjoy the evening but that proved to be impossible. Despite several urgings by least one person in that group, the drunken patron persisted in talking loudly and conversations among others in the group were conducted in no less a volume. At no time did the manager or anyone else from Sherwood take any action. All in all, the Sherwood did not live up to its reputation and you are better off dining elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MFBSpringCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2011

Just returned from a long weekend in Skaneateles. A girlfriend and I selected the Gray House primarily because it offered a room with 2 beds (full & twin) at a fair price. But the choice turned out to be a good one. The house itself is a large, lovely Victorian, full of cute/fussy bric brac. Location was outstanding for the town. Lots of parking behind the house. Our room was a good size with a very clean bathroom and stall shower. Beds themselves were definitely on the hard side, and pillows, although there were many,were flat as pancakes. House was relatively quiet, even at full capacity (with a baby in the room above us) on a Saturday night. The innkeepers are low-key, just stopped by to process our credit card and give house instructions. I knew from the website that they don't offer a full, hot breakfast, which has always been a favorite treat of mine at other B&B's, but instead put out a spread of cereals, granola, fresh fruit, english muffins, juice, coffee, and a fresh breakfast bread each morning. We had pumpkin chocolate chip & coffee cake on our stay. The kitchen is open though, and stocked with fruit, cookies, juice, iced tea, etc. for snacking anytime - a nice treat. The town itself was quaint, quiet, walkable, and adorable. We saw most of it on foot the afternoon we arrived. Lots of cute shops stocking locally made art, jewelry, etc. The restaurant scene is very quiet. A bar/nightlife scene - non-existant. The options we saw were the Inn, Doug's Fish Fry (locally famous), The Pasta Garage (good dinner), a sushi place, and 2 grills (names?) with what seemed to be a shared kitchen. Specialty coffee and treats can be found in the bakery. That's about it. We booked a wine trolley tour at Cayuga Lake - about a 1 hour drive away. Highly recommend that tour!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leilaniox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skaneateles
0.1 mi away
Skaneateles Suites Boutique Hotel
2.0 mi away
Skaneateles Suites
Skaneateles Suites
#1 of 7 in Skaneateles
705 reviews
0.8 mi away
Finger Lakes Lodging
Finger Lakes Lodging
#5 of 7 in Skaneateles
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Inn at the Finger Lakes
7.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Auburn
7.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Auburn - Finger Lakes Region
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gray House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gray House

Property: Gray House
Address: 47 Jordan St, Skaneateles, NY 13152-1105
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Skaneateles
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Skaneateles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gray House is located in the village of Skaneateles, one block from the lake and shopping. We offer rooms with twin, full or queen size beds, each with a private bath and air-conditioning. Plus we have two suites each with a sitting room and kitchen. A continental breakfast is served from 8 a.m. until 10 a.m. After a long day relax in one of our two large parlors, or read a book on our porch. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing