We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place”
Review of Skaneateles Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Skaneateles Suites
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Skaneateles
Certificate of Excellence
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Very clean suite in quiet location. Newer property. Close to Auburn premium outlets and finger lakes. Nice individual patio to relax with a beverage. This was our second stay and we plan to stay again. Only improvement to the property for me would be a pool.

Room Tip: Suite worth the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pentime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    594
    90
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
120
345
24
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sewickley, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Great place. Nice comfort, very roomy, comfortable, lots of percs. We could hear neighbors TV - not loud, but kept us up. The sofa bed for our child was an extra $20, even though it was part of the room.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ellen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2013

very nice clean like a 5 star suite price is 100$ less than anything other comparable look forward to return nice setting close to town about 10 min. nice towels beds large rooms microwave ref. sink plates real cups for coffee 60 channels large flat screen cd mp3 player many other perks.

Room Tip: rear is quieter very private
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missouri
Level Contributor
362 reviews
192 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

For a family get-together we needed accommodations for 10 adults. It's not that easy to find in the Finger Lakes area or in NY for that matter. A lot of vacation rental houses require at least one weeks' stay, but we only wanted 2-3 nights. Prices range from high to outrageous. So we were pleased when we found the Skaneateles Suites which is just outside of town on Rt 20 (Genesee St). We rented the main house (8 people) and bungalow #1 (2 people).

The house was very clean and free of dust and bugs. Furniture was new and comfortable, unlike some older rental houses where you get creaky, dusty old sofas and tables. The master bedroom was on the main floor and had a jetted tub in the bedroom and a separate bathroom with a standup shower. The other 3 bedrooms were up the staircase on the 2nd floor, and they shared a smallish bathroom with a shower.

The kitchen was ok but not quite right for preparing food for a large crowd. There were some pots, pans, and utensils but fortunately we brought our own larger cooking gear. We used the outdoor propane gas grill on two of the three nights. There were inexpensive dishes and flatware that we had to keep rewashing as there weren't quite enough. We suggest adding some place settings for larger families. The cabinet space was adequate although we ended up piling a lot of food and beverages on the floor. We filled the fridge pretty quickly - it's normal-size, not extra-large. The table wasn't large enough to seat everyone so most meals were eaten on our laps in the sitting area (there are extra folding chairs in the closet). There were a few chairs and a small table on the front porch but not on the deck.

We didn't use the TV but the screen was large so I'm sure it's fine. There was a handy channel guide. Wifi didn't work - we reported that on several occasions and they said "the guy was working on it" but it was spotty and intermittent during our whole stay.

The housekeepers were friendly and helpful but we didn't need too much service as we cleaned up after ourselves after every meal. They changed out towels and touched up the bathrooms.

Moving on to the bungalow - it was larger than a standard hotel room but not huge. There was a queen-size bed and a sofa that could be pulled out as a sleeper. The kitchenette had a microwave, small fridge, and sink. A sliding door led out to a patio. The heater/AC was one of those floor units seen in (cheaper) motels and was noisy cycling off and on. Because the weather changed abruptly from hot to cool while we were there, we ended up using both A/C and heat. The tub was jetted but not large like the one in the house - just a rectangular plain bathtub/shower. Wifi didn't work consistently in the bungalow either, as noted above.

Other nice touches - a supply of free beverages including bottled water, orange juice, and regular and diet Coke cans. There were some Nutri-Grain bars, instant oatmeal cups, Cheez-Its, and Oreos. We put the washer/dryer in the house to use - quite handy to be able to throw in some wash while on vacation and detergent and supplies were free. There's some yard space for kids to run around or to throw a Frisbee around.

Downsides - traffic noise on Rt 20. The house and bungalows sit right on the main road so cars and trucks zip by all day and night. Parking for the main house was a little tight although in front of each bungalow you can fit 2 cars. There's no walking trail, but one morning we cut through the back yard and took a short walk on N Broadway which is a country road without much traffic. You can see a dairy farm and some goats across the street.

Recommended? Yes, definitely. I wouldn't say it's a grand bargain but it's a good value and a cut above other vacation rentals we've had in NY and New England over the years. You can research the town of Skaneateles on other sites to see if it's your cup of tea. Or you might stay here and drive over to Auburn (5 miles). We also took a hike in Millard Fillmore state park, about 25 miles away.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Latham, NY
Level Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

This is a little bit out of town. When traveling we usually stay closer to the water, but since we had our dog with us this was where we stayed and I am so glad. It was terrific! I definitely will stay here again, it is a rare find. The rooms are big with a good sized kitchenette and sliders to a nice brick patio-great for going out with the dog. Lots of land to walk around, very peaceful area. Some snacks were provided, even 1/2 and 1/2 for the coffee-how nice!! It was super clean with nice linens. Wifi worked great, staff was terrific. It is just a short drive to the village, which is adorable. Eat at Doug's Fish Fry, great food and prices.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NYBosox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus
Level Contributor
158 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Very nice hotel on the main drag, just outside Skaneateles proper. I'm not sure I've ever been in a cleaner place. Room was big and well-equipped for our stay, with snacks (which are a GREAT touch), lots of towels, sheets, etc. They were great about setting up a feather-free room. It was pouring outside, so we didn't get to use the nice little patio space behind our bungalow but I'm sure it would have been a lovely place for coffee. There's a great diner up the road (Hilltop) which flipped some great flapjacks and bacon. We only stayed one night but would happily stay again and explore the lovely Fingerlakes area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Furcow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dickson City, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Very nice stay! The location was perfect and the rooms were clean, spacious, and just what we were looking for! Checking in after "regular" hours was not a problem, as the key was left for us with a lovely welcome letter.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skaneateles
2.0 mi away
Skaneateles Suites Boutique Hotel
1.2 mi away
Finger Lakes Lodging
Finger Lakes Lodging
#5 of 7 in Skaneateles
89 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Auburn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Inn at the Finger Lakes
16.9 mi away
The Gould Hotel
The Gould Hotel
#2 of 4 in Seneca Falls
329 reviews
18.3 mi away
Maplewood Suites Extended Stay - Syracuse/Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skaneateles Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skaneateles Suites

Property: Skaneateles Suites
Address: 4114 E Genesee Street Rd, 2 miles West of the Village on Rt 20, Skaneateles, NY 13021-8209
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Skaneateles
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Skaneateles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Skaneateles Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Collection of Places to Stay in Skaneateles, Finger Lakes Region of Central New York 13152 Nightly, Monthly, Extended Stay Furnished Hotel Rooms, Suites, Apartments, Condos, Houses.... Be careful you know which property you are reserving... we have multiple locations and addresses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Skaneateles Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skaneateles Hotel Skaneateles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing