We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tolkien would be delighted”
Review of Hobbit Hollow B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Skaneateles
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hobbit Hollow B&B
Ranked #10 of 14 Skaneateles B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tolkien would be delighted”
Reviewed 13 July 2010

The B and B was a beautiful, wonderfully kept up victorian house on a horse farm. We had 2 of the largest rooms and one smaller room, all with private baths, air conditioning, TV, phone, radio alarm clock---all the amenities except a room safe, not necessary in this B&B. The place was immaculately clean, the innkeeper was immediately responsive to all our requests and questions. The breakfasts were delicious, although there was no buffet, but rather service of the same meal to everyone. There was no afternoon tea, although their advertisements said there would be. The B&B was a 10 minute drive from the center of town. The property was large and beautiful, the horses were interesting to watch and did not in any way compromise the quality of our stay. The drawback was the lack of any activity other than walking on the property, i.e. no swimming, tennis etc. This was not a problem for us.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JudyCP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    5
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
18
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2009

We are not B&B people, but Hobbit Hollow was lovely. Our room was superb; the bathroom was spacious and clean and there were NO STREET LIGHTS, so it was actually DARK at night. Our hostess, Jill, was wonderfully accommodating and made very good suggestions in terms of dining. The house itself is well-kept and tastefully furnished. We were completely pampered and would seriously consider staying here again if we're back this way.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaturnGirlWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairport, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 December 2008

Since our children typically celebrate Thanksgiving with their in-laws we choose this time as a "get-away".

Our initial plan was to stay at the Sherwood Inn and have dinner there. Since the Sherwood was full we were referred to Hollow Hobbit B&B. What luck!

Although our dinner was wonderful at the Sherwood it was bedlam in the lobby area, not conducive to a restfull few days.

On the other hand, Hollow Hobbit was the perfect spot for a relaxing stay. The room was large, inviting, and full of amenities.
We had wine before a crackling fire. Since there are only 5 rooms you barely saw the other guests. It was like having your own mansion.

Laura, the innkeeper was very pleasant and tended to our every need. Her breakfasts were a delight.

We would return in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank gypsiesFairport_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NW Indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2007

This was a gift from friends when my husband was home on R&R from Iraq. It was a wonderful place for a reconnect and enjoy each other during the short period we were together. We appreciated the quietness of the area. We went to the Sherwood Inn for dinner - a wonderful choice. Not much in walking distance to the Inn but a short drive brought you to downtown Skaneateles. Very beautiful.

Stayed November 2005
Helpful?
Thank ChrEliza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
80 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2007

We chose this B&B because the Sherwood Inn which is located right in Skaneateles was full. This is one of their other properties just 2 miles outside town. The inn boasts sweeping views of Lake Skaneateles saying that it is just across the road from the lake. What they failed to mention is that parallel lake road is about a half mile from the Lake and that there is a vineyard between the farm house, the road and the lake so while you can see the lake – it is a long way away. This was the biggest disappointment.

The B&B itself is beautiful and the staff is friendly and helpful. We upgraded to stay in the Lake View Room which was $230/night for 3 nights. Had we known just how far away the lake was, we would have stayed in one of the much cheaper rooms because you still get all the amenities and views around the farm house. Plus if you want to see the lake in the distance, they have a screened in porch at the front of the house where you can sit and relax. The lake view rooms are just not a good value in my opinion. The room itself and the en-suite bathroom were quite large and had lots of amenities like thick terry bathrobes, spa products and an in-room TV. It was furnished with antique furniture and the bedding included high end $800 Frette sheets. They must have a problem with their washer though because we noticed that the sheets and some of the fluffy towels had holes that looked as though they got caught in the washer.

The common rooms feature gorgeous furniture as well as things to do such as TV’s, games and high speed internet access. Wine, cookies, cheese, bottled water and other drinks are complimentary and easily available by asking the hostess or getting them from the refrigerator. Breakfasts were fantastic and included selections such as fresh fruit, local granola, blueberry stuffed French toast (they used croissants for the bread), vegetable frittata with ham on the side and traditional French toast with fruit.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank janices7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
77 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2007

My wife and I spent our honeymoon week touring the Finger Lakes Region. We looked for B&Bs that were elegant but not outrageously priced. We checked on Hobbit Hollow online, saw the reviews here and booked it. The house is tucked away from the Lake on a quiet hillside. The interior is immaculate and well-decorated with fine antiques. Our room was quite spacious and the bathroom was large and clean. The Hostess gave us several recommendations for dinner and prepared a delicious breakfast the next morning. Being only a few minutes from the heart of town, the property was still very secluded, quiet and romantic. It was the best B&B that we stayed at on our trip (5 inns total). We would highly recommend it to anyone seeking a romantic getaway.

  • Liked — Luxurious Room
  • Disliked — NONE
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank perfectlyfrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2007

I spent the night at Hobbit Hollow Farm B&B with my boyfriend and it was everything we could have hoped for. The Innkeeper was a complete doll. She tended to our every need and was also conscience of our privacy. The rooms were all perfect right down to the ironed sheets and big fluffy towels. We were looking for a romantic getaway and that is just what we got. The room had a big jacuzzi tub with views of the lake. The breakfast was delicious and she served us outside on the deck since the morning was so beautiful. It was a little more than we planned on spending, but after checking out the other inns in the area we were glad we did so. Just a short ride to town and not far from the vineyards in the area. I will be writing a review on our wine trip and the must sees in the area.

  • Liked — The view of the lake
  • Disliked — the price
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mreeder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skaneateles
2.4 mi away
Skaneateles Suites
Skaneateles Suites
#1 of 7 in Skaneateles
5.0 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
2.1 mi away
Skaneateles Suites Boutique Hotel
1.9 mi away
Finger Lakes Lodging
Finger Lakes Lodging
#5 of 7 in Skaneateles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Auburn
6.5 mi away
Inn at the Finger Lakes
2.0 mi away
Mirbeau Inn & Spa Skaneateles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hobbit Hollow B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hobbit Hollow B&B

Property: Hobbit Hollow B&B
Address: 3061 W Lake Rd, Skaneateles, NY 13152-9439
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Skaneateles
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Skaneateles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hobbit Hollow is currently closed for renovations. Located on top a rolling hill and rising above colorful meadows, Hobbit Hollow offers sweeping views of vineyards and Skaneateles Lake, the Eastern Gateway to the Finger Lakes Region of Central New York. Hobbit Hollow is a turn of the century Colonial Revival farmhouse featuring five elegant and comfortable guest rooms, each uniquely appointed with master-crafted period furniture including four-poster beds, antique accessories, exquisite linens and private baths. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hobbit Hollow Hotel Skaneateles
Hobbit Hollow Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing