We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful find”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hummingbird's Home Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 14 Skaneateles B&B and Inns
Washington Township, NJ
1 review
“Wonderful find”
Reviewed 27 June 2010

This is a great place! We stayed in the spacious and spotless, yet tastefully decorated, Magnolia room on the second floor. Sabina the innkeeper is very gracious and went out of her way to make sure our stay was pleasant. The breakfast was delicious and my husband and I plan on staying here again the next time we visit the area.

Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jagged12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    9
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
23
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2009

For our 20th anniversary, my husband and I decided to go to Skaneateles and we are happy we chose the Hummingbird's Home as the place to stay. Warm, welcoming, comfortable and clean, everything we wanted in a B&B. Sabina was friendly and helpful and prepared us a great breakfast every morning. She obviously cares about her guests and tries very hard to make sure they have a great time while they are there. As innkeepers of a ten room inn ourselves, we have VERY high standards. It is hard staying at a place and not comparing everything there to what we would do at our own place. Sabina lived up to our standards in every way. Her home was spotless and provided us with everything we needed to feel as if we were staying with a friend. I highly recommend the Hummingbird's Home to everyone.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2008

This is a comfortable, homely, Inn with a massive plus - a wonderful hostess and a great home made gourmet breakfast.
Stunning.

  • Liked — Wonderful Hostess
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKFOXY45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatjaGosek
1 review
Reviewed 1 August 2007

A truly delightful bed and breakfast! When we arrived, we were delighted to see that the Inn was even more beautiful than the photos on the website. Hummingbird's Home has a european elegance and charm. The Inn Keeper greeted us warmly and made us feel very welcome, helpfully recommending several wonderful restaurants in Skaneateles. We stayed in the Rose Room which was luxurious and tranquil. The gourmet breakfast in the morning was also superb and exceeded our expectations! We highly recommend staying at the Hummingbird's Home if you are visiting Skaneateles. We will certainly return many times!

  • Liked — Charm and elegance
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank KatjaGosek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed 7 September 2006

We were recently in Skaneateles for a family gathering and chose to stay at Hummingbird's home. The B&B is very well run, we were greeted at the front door by the owner, and her dog, and welcomed into the home. Check in was quick and easy, the rooms were nicely decorated and very clean. Service was wonderful and the breakfast was fantastic! The owner was very helpful with information on surrounding restaurants. Max -the dog- is very well trained and stays by his owners side, very cute.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Hummingbird's Home and would definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — Nice rooms, clean
  • Disliked — A bit over priced
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trip_Taker2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 15 July 2006

Recently my husband and I had the distinct pleasure of staying at the Hummingsbird Home B & B. We selected the Lilac room, a beautiful, spacious accommodation on the second floor with a private bath and fireplace. The experience we had for the four days we were there can only be described as staying with old friends, not just lodging. Our hostess, Sabina, was gracious and welcoming, and the breakfast we were served every morning was fabulous. The grounds around the home made it a place where you could stroll around the gardens and the gazabo, and relax while taking in the scenic countryside. Sabina was extremely helpful in answering questions about attractions in the area, restaruants, and directions to get there. In short, we have never been more pleased with a vacation experience, and we would highly recommend the Hummingbird Home B&B for anyone visiting the Skaneateles area.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey City
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2006

The town of Skaneateles is Beautiful!
But, Hummingbird is just about ok.
My husband and I are avid B&B ers and would definitely not rate this as our best experience.
The quality of the bed, linen, toileteries etc is top notch and place looks, smells and is clean and well-kept. But some how, we felt we were overpaying for the small room (the Lilac Room).
The website claims there is a 'fireplace' in each room and we were excited at the prospect. But it turns out that it is nothing but an electronic makebelieve screen of glass with a heating coil at the top!
Frankly, I was quite disappointed by it.
However, the Innkeeper Sabina was charming - to say the least and the breakfast she served us was decent -we are vegetraians and she served us crispy pancakes and, the best tea I've had in a while (apart from some bread - but i've had more sumptous breakfasts for the price i've paid)
Overall, I'd rate the place 2.5 on a scale of 1 to 5.
We checked out the rooms at the Sherwood Inn and for the same price, they offer a spectacular view of the pristine, crystal clear lake. But, it's a larger place with several rooms......not a 'cozy' B&B.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank IndianTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skaneateles
0.5 mi away
Skaneateles Suites
Skaneateles Suites
#1 of 7 in Skaneateles
686 reviews
1.5 mi away
Skaneateles Suites Boutique Hotel
5.3 mi away
Inn at the Finger Lakes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Finger Lakes Lodging
Finger Lakes Lodging
#5 of 7 in Skaneateles
88 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Auburn
1.6 mi away
34 State Historic Luxury Suites Skaneateles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hummingbird's Home Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hummingbird's Home Bed and Breakfast

Property: Hummingbird's Home Bed and Breakfast
Address: 4273 W Genesee Street Rd, Skaneateles, NY 13152-9364
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Skaneateles
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Skaneateles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A comfortable & elegant home in Skaneateles, village by the lake in Finger Lakes region. Offers warm and inviting atmosphere with gracious hospitality with European touch. Five beautiful rooms all with private baths. Wireless Internet Connection. Healthy & hearty breakfasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hummingbird's Home Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing