We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hate to share this gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mandana Inn

Mandana Inn
Ranked #19 of 36 Restaurants in Skaneateles
Price range: US$0 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Skaneateles
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Hate to share this gem”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

One of our favorite places to eat. The owner and hostess are so wonderful and are genuinely glad to have you at the restaurant. Started with great drinks from Grace at the bar, then a smoked trout appetizer with spinach and a potato pancake that was amazing. My hubby almost always has the scrod and has never been disappointed. I had the best lightly battered fried shrimp I have ever tasted. Veggies are fresh and local. Dessert. choices are standard, except for the funky flavors of ice cream and gelato. This is a hot spot in the summer so make reservations.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Niftyfifty59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    16
    13
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“lousy service”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Party of 6. Just came in fm a day of boating with high expectations. walked in at 610pm. Restaurant not full. 8 or 9 seats at bar; 3 seats open. Hostess surprised to see us--do you have a reservation? No, we said. It may be a while, she said--we just seated 3 other large parties. Do you know how long, we asked. Couldn't get an answer. After chking with servers she returned saying "it might be a while--would you like to have a drink in the bar and we said sure. Moved to the bar. The bartender wouldn't acknowledge us. He was talking with one couple and watching the golf tourney on the TV. Our party took turns for the restroom, waiting to get seated and/or get drinks. We were told that they just had 2 servers on but they would seat us but it would still be "awhile". We couldn't get a definition of "awhile" was. We had been there for 15 minutes at this point and we elected to go elsewhere. The hostess advised the server (that had begun to set up our table and within earshot of us) that "we didn't want to wait". not true--we couldn't get served drinks nor could we find out how long we were going to have to wait. The server was agitated and said back, loudly enough for us to hear "what do they expect on a holiday weekend?"
Wait a sec: if it is a holiday and you are expecting a lot of business, wouldn't you have more than just 2 servers? As we were leaving we were told "you wont get into any place in the village (of Skaneateles) because they will be busy too". What an obnoxious and rude bunch of people. Whoever is the owner of this place should have a conversation about the importance of customer service..

  • Visited May 2014
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MikeinSyracuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Homer, New York
Level Contributor
125 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Continuing the tradition...”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Arriving 45 minutes before they opened the restaurant, the bartender took excellent care of us. Besides the wine, a free sidebar of various cheeses and crackers was provided.
Our meals were wonderful (there were 6 of us) and were beautifully presented. The scrod was very much appreciated by both guests who ordered it and my medium- well filet was perfect. The owner/host/server did an outstanding job of quietly serving our meals as well answering our questions about the preparation of each meal.
HIghly recommended!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Iadmit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skaneateles, New York
Level Contributor
191 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Hosted a wonderful graduation dinner at Mandana Inn”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We recently hosted a college graduation dinner for 23 people for our son. James suggested the upstairs dining room, which we had all to ourselves. His chef created a wonderful display of vegetables, cheese, and house-made meats for the cocktail hour. After being seated for dinner, each guest was served a plated salad. Then entrees, side dishes, and fresh roasted asparagus were served by the terrific staff. (Seconds were passed, family style.) We selected beef tenderloin, sauteed scallops, and the famous scrod as entrees and house-made fettuccine, mashed potatoes, and sweet potato hash as starches. Our guests selected dessert from the menu, and the chef specially prepared a bowl of fresh fruit for a guest who is dieting. Everyone had a terrific time and raved about the delicious food. And the price was very reasonable. Kudos to James, Luke, Tess, Tami, Kay, and Penny. Well done!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SkanLaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Excellent food and atmosphere. James is the owner, and he also waits on the tables. He is a very charming and hard working man. Would recommend it to everyone.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank R H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mandana Inn also viewed

Skaneateles, Finger Lakes
Skaneateles, Finger Lakes
 
Skaneateles, Finger Lakes
Skaneateles, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Mandana Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing