We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another lovely Inn!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sherwood Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Skaneateles
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sherwood Inn
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Skaneateles
Certificate of Excellence
Michigan
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Another lovely Inn!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

We are very happy to have found another lovely place to stay in the Finger Lakes area of New York! This is an historic property that has been beautifully restored. It was clean, comfortable, spacious and charming. I noted another reviewer also had Rm 32. It does have a great view of the lake, a fireplace, great bed and a spacious bathroom with a deep and long jet tub. My husband is 6'4" and he could actually stretch out in that tub! The only downside of the rooms on the street is the noise, which wasn't a bother until the morning when everyone is getting to work, etc. The restaurant was fantastic! A great wine list, superb service and the food was outstanding!! What a treat after a disappointing experience the prior days at a different property. The staff here was terrific everywhere...at checkin, check out, dinner and breakfast. The breakfast was very good with a variety of great choices, too. We will certainly be back!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HPYTRVLRS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    67
    31
    17
    7
See reviews for
45
149
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield, Ohio
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

This charming inn was built in 1807. The expensive rooms are very homey and quite comfortable-you pay for the fact that this is a historic dwelling, I guess, and that you can see Lake Skaneateles across the busy street (between the semi trucks). The staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful. However, the free breakfast left much to be desired - the coffee was bitter, the pastries dry and crumbly. We ate in the Inn's restaurant that evening and report that the meal, although very pricey, was delicious.

Room Tip: If you check out their website, each room is pictured.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Branford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

Excellent location. Directly across the street from the lake. Old, well maintained, classic, comfortable. Room 32 has a king bed, overlooks the lake, and is very roomy. Buffet breakfast was included - scrambled eggs, home fires, cold ham and cheeses, fruit salad, croissants, pastries, scones, toast. Service at breakfast was slow.

Room Tip: Rooms 18, 19, and 29 are adjacent to the ice machine, so that could create a noise problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MDS41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scranton, PA
Level Contributor
66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

There's not a whole lot to say here. This place is in an EPIC location, so let's get that right out of the way. This place is a throw back to days gone by, so let's get that right out of the way. However, if I am paying $300 a night, while throw back is nice, I want a bathroom larger than 6X6 (maybe smaller) and better working Air Conditioning. Perhaps those are impossible requests for the "throw bacK" type hotels (like literally it may be impossible for them to do that), but if so, then lower the rates to something reasonable. Don't get me wrong, the place is beautiful and in the best location you should hope for, so maybe this review should be 4 stars...but the reason I went with three, is because the service was good but didn't blow me out of the water...the food was good, but didn't blow me out of the water...so location alone can't bail you out in my opinion. If the price was lower, say maybe $150-$200, I would give this a 4 star review...but for $300.00 for average everything, that is borderline crazy.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RJKESQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, NY
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

We just visited the Sherwood Inn for a night, and wished that it had been for a week! We were in Room 21, second floor center, in a romantic suite overlooking Skaneateles Lake and the village's memorial park. Although it rained on and off, we were cozy indoors with tastefully decorated rooms. My husband and I had a four poster bed, antiques mixed with comfortable pieces in the sitting room, and a really awesome bathroom! It was white tile with a huge whirlpool tub that took up at least a third of the space. The shower had a large head mounted directly from the ceiling; it gave a very even wash and would easily accommodate more that one at a time. The wide plank floors, carpets, mellow woods, and old prints and paintings were fun to traverse, and the Inn is spacious with large public rooms. The front desk was efficient and very welcoming when we entered. We ate in the pub room (see review) and enjoyed the hot and cold buffet breakfast that is included with the room. It was fairly extensive, and a waitress brought us tea, coffee, and juices. After breakfast we had a leisurely hike along the main street, through the park, and along the lake for about a half mile. Hard to tell whether the Sherwood Inn complements Skaneateles or if Skaneateles complements the Sherwood! Anyhow, it's a perfect package!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovevacation02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budd Lake, New Jersey
Level Contributor
139 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

My wife and I "discovered" Skaneateles when my daughter began college at Syracuse University 2 years ago. Always wanted to stay at the Sherwood - fully service hotel built in 1807. Each room is individually decorated and uniquely sized. We found it very clean with an attentive staff. Breakfast is free and the selection was very good. But you cannot beat the location - it's just wonderful to walk out the door and be able to cross the street and enjoy the lakeside park. The quaint town shops are also an easy walk. I like to swim and the town park allows swimming. Water temp is a bit cold but he lake water is clear 50 feet and is the unfiltered drinking water for Syracuse. Very upscale town. Loved the Sherwood. One negative mention - while you really need to check out the restaurant, my dinner was served cold. Wait staff was very friendly and made amends.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, VA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

we stayed and ate at the Sherwood inn in august when visiting friends in the area. the king room we had was nice enough, the bed comfortable and the air conditioning adequate, though for the price I don't expect the wallpaper to be peeling off the walls in the bathroom. the jetted tub was yellowed and old looking.

the meal was just average. I ordered the creamed spinach and literally got a side of spinach in a bowl of cream. no seasoning. nothing. the fillet was cooked properly and the scallops were delicious. my wife had the pork chop, which was very good, but served over a bed of greens so heavily doused in vinegar that it was nearly inedible. the service was about average.

the breakfast was poor. flies were buzzing around the food and they had nothing more than some browned potatoes, plain scrambled eggs with a bowl of katsup, and a few pastries. I suffered intestinal distress not long after eating breakfast and I have a cast iron constitution.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sn0wB0ard3r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skaneateles
0.1 mi away
Skaneateles Suites Boutique Hotel
0.7 mi away
Finger Lakes Lodging
Finger Lakes Lodging
#5 of 7 in Skaneateles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
6.7 mi away
Inn at the Finger Lakes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Auburn
15.7 mi away
Jefferson Clinton Hotel
Jefferson Clinton Hotel
#3 of 31 in Syracuse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
6.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Auburn - Finger Lakes Region
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sherwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sherwood Inn

Property: Sherwood Inn
Address: 26 W Genesee St, Skaneateles, NY 13152-1020
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Skaneateles
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Skaneateles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For almost two centuries, travelers have come to the Sherwood Inn to rest and relax. The Sherwood Inn offers 25 comfortable guest rooms, each carefully restored and uniquely decorated to retain the Inn's original charm. Many of our guest rooms overlook beautiful Skaneateles Lake, the easternmost of New York's five Finger Lakes. And always, our hospitality is enhanced by an attentive, friendly staff to make your stay comfortable and carefree. Lakeview dining is available in our casual Tavern and Front Porch or in our romantic, candlelit Dining Room ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Sherwood Inn
Sherwood Hotel Skaneateles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing