We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sherwood Inn
Nearby Hotels
Mirbeau Inn & Spa Skaneateles(Skaneateles)
US$329
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$305
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Finger Lakes Lodging(Skaneateles)(Great Value!)
US$146
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Skaneateles Suites Boutique Hotel(Skaneateles)(Great Value!)
US$170
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Skaneateles Suites(Skaneateles)(Great Value!)
US$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Skaneateles Inn on 20(Auburn)(Great Value!)
US$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sleepy Hollow Motel(Auburn)(Great Value!)
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Inn at the Finger Lakes(Auburn)(Great Value!)
US$96
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$116
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Packwood House(Skaneateles)
Birds Nest Motel(Skaneateles)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (286)
Filter reviews
286 results
Traveller rating
146
82
33
17
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
146
82
33
17
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsno elevatordining roomthird floorbreakfast was includedthe yankee pot roastsunday afternoonunique roomsporch overlooking the lakeunoccupied roomssconesmy husband and igranolafinger lakesjetted tubquaint townwedding receptiondickens festival
Filter
Updating list...
178 - 183 of 286 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2013

My daughter and I were at the inn during the second week of October, staying for two nights.We were offered a suite at a reduced rate as we checked in after 6 PM and so we stayed a night longer than planned. The inn itself is beautiful with warm woods, carpets everywhere, and a super staff throughout.
Our suite in room 33 consisted of a main large king bedroom beautifully appointed with fireplace, large bathroom with lots of storage, and another twin bedded room with its own TV and lovely decor. All the rooms--even the bathroom-- had a view of Lake Skaneateles,that gem that makes their Main Street beyond description.
Everything was meticulously clean and staff were to be found cleaning everywhere.
A continental breakfast was included with scrambled eggs, potatoes,cold ham and a variety of scones,muffins, and danish.THE COFFEE WAS ATROCIOUS.Our wonderful server,Emily, made fresh decaf for me on the two mornings which was better but the brand they use is basically awful
We ate dinner in the tavern once and the restaurant once and were not impressed with the food at all.Something we found throughout this region.Adequate but not great.
We did find a great meal at Doug's Fish Fry which I will try to write up later.
The Sherwood Inn,staff, and the town are top drawer.Just don't drink the coffee.

Room Tip: The hotel leaves doors open for clean,unoccupied rooms so you can peek .
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RDBOOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

The Sherwood Inn has always been one of my favourite places to stay! The town is magic, the location of the Inn is idyllic. The Inn itself has been beautifully restored and just so warm and comfortable. The staff are always amazing. We also had our dinner in the Inn which was excellent. After dinner we took our drinks and just sat out front and enjoyed the ambiance of the town. Breakfast is included, which was very tasty and fresh with the best fresh morning pasties and breads, scrambled eggs , cereals, yogurt, fresh fruit......!

Room Tip: The more you pay the more you get.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris1Brian2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Wanting to visit the Finger Lakes region, we opted to stay at the Sherwood Inn on Skaneateles Lake. It is a lovely old inn (1800s), dressed with antiques, lovely woodwork, oriental rugs, and a wonderful lakeside porch where we had scrumptious complimentary breakfasts each morning and a delicious dinner the first night of our stay. We also enjoyed a light dinner salad in their tap room on another occasion. Because it is an old inn, there is no elevator service and we had to walk to our room on the third floor. There was no need to carry our bags as we had help to do so and the walk up lovely, wide stairs and the views up their inviting halls proved to be no problem despite our being 70 years old. We had unusually hot weather during out stay and there was a problem with the air conditioning system. The staff bent over backwards to correct the issue and we couldn't be happier with the service we received. A lovely park and the waterfront across the street, great restaurants and shops nearby made for a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: All rooms are identified on their web site and you can pick a corner room, lakeside room, etc.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

My husband and I came to Skaneateles for the first time and stayed at the Sherwood Inn for our 1 year wedding anniversary. The Inn was beautiful you can see the lake right across the street and some of the rooms were open so we were able to take a peek at them. The staff was very friendly and helpful. In the morning we had a nice breakfast on the front enclosed porch and had a great view of the lake. Love the history and the feel of this place we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikkichixy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We are very happy to have found another lovely place to stay in the Finger Lakes area of New York! This is an historic property that has been beautifully restored. It was clean, comfortable, spacious and charming. I noted another reviewer also had Rm 32. It does have a great view of the lake, a fireplace, great bed and a spacious bathroom with a deep and long jet tub. My husband is 6'4" and he could actually stretch out in that tub! The only downside of the rooms on the street is the noise, which wasn't a bother until the morning when everyone is getting to work, etc. The restaurant was fantastic! A great wine list, superb service and the food was outstanding!! What a treat after a disappointing experience the prior days at a different property. The staff here was terrific everywhere...at checkin, check out, dinner and breakfast. The breakfast was very good with a variety of great choices, too. We will certainly be back!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HPYTRVLRS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews