We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Serenity” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sherwood Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Skaneateles
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sherwood Inn
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Skaneateles
Certificate of Excellence
East Amherst, New York
Level Contributor
511 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Serenity”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

This year's stay was a delight. Not only did we have a complimentary breakfast every morning (included in the room fee), but we got to shop the annual Curbstone Sale and eat some terrific meals. The room this year was absolutely the best one you could want. It had a very spacious sitting room with a sofa bed and TV. The sitting room was very beautiful and had great lake views. The bedroom was quite comfortable but could have used a better closet for clothes. The armoire provided did not allow you to hang long dresses or pants without folding first. The bathroom provided a deep soaking/jetted tub with shower.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    67
    31
    17
    7
See reviews for
45
149
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

We chose The Sherwood for our small (60 people) wedding ceremony and reception because we knew the food was wonderful and the setting beautiful. We were not disappointed!! Everyone and everything met our high standards. Meredith and Meghan, the events coordinators, were extremely helpful in the months prior to the date. They were always prompt in their replies to my questions and offered valuable suggestions. On the actual day of our event, they went out of their way to make sure things ran smoothly. Very accommodating! Our guests couldn't stop raving about their meals and the wait staff were wonderful--attentive, polite and professional. We strongly recommend The Sherwood for this type of event.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Batavia, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

This was our third stay at the Sherwood. Probably wont go back. Our room smelled, the electricity in the bathroom didn't work and when I turned on the Jacuzzi tub one of the jets shot out and hit my leg, Staff apologized but sometimes that doesn't help when you expect better accommodations for the price. As always though, the dining was excellent. We go back for that, but stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: Facing the lake is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lmhinny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

We had a great 2-day after going to see our daughter at Syracuse. Only 30 minutes away by car. There were running a special and we got a fancy suite, plus a $50 a day dining credit for a great price. Our suite, Room 24, was actually two rooms, plus bath: a bedroom and separate lovely sunroom with great views of the Lake. The employees were all extremely friendly, helpful, and attentive. Oddly enough, the only relative disappointment was the highly rated dining room. Our dinner was pretty good, not great. However, the free breakfast was fantastic. And don't let the "continental" description fool you. You can also order eggs with bacon, potatoes, toast--the works.

In sum, a very quaint and charming inn with exceptional service and a 200 year plus tradition. A true find!

Room Tip: Room 24 had a very spacious and cheery sunroom, as well as a nice bedroom. Large and very comfortabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank charlieworldtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rock Hill, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

Recently we had the pleasure of luncheon dining at the Sherwood Inn with my wife's sister. When we first arrived we were seated at a table near the bar which we found was very loud with a group of friends whooping it up. We requested another location and were efficiently and speedily moved to a booth in another part of the room and it was much quieter. We went there for the quiche, but unfortunately they only had one portion left since it was later in the afternoon. But we persevered and the food we ended up with, including the one quiche, was excellent. We enjoy the Sherwood Inn very much and have eaten there before and will dine there again, no doubt. All in all it was a delightful dining experience. An added benefit which I must mention is the 2-person handicapped elevator/lift which is available upon request. Since my wife has trouble walking very far we rode the lift which was fun. The lunch and the Inn are very good, indeed!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeanHey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

It was our" 25th" anniversary and we chose the Finger Lakes area . We were recommended by a friend to visit Skaneateles because of the town. I looked up the hotels and chose the Sherwood Inn and decided to give it a try. We have stayed in many hotels, and I have to say it was probably one of the worst. When we checked in on a Friday, the three ladies behind the front desk acted like they couldn't be bothered. We received the same treatment when we came down the next day for recommendations for shops and restaurants in the area. When we checked out on Sunday, there was a very nice older lady who had blonde hair (can't remember her name) that was friendly.
The rooms were nice, but the furniture and walls are definitely showing signs of wear . The rooms were clean and hotel had a really nice continental breakfast. I would not stay at the hotel again, due to the unfriendly front desk staff and the price you pay for the rooms. I would however, eat at the restaurant again if we were in the area. Definitely not a 4 or 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank TexasTravelinggirl_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meghan L, Manager at Sherwood Inn, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
We regret that you were disappointed with your experience at the Sherwood Inn. We strive to provide the highest level of guest services.

We thank you for your comments and we hope that you will consider us for another stay in the future. We are confident that we will exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

We found the Sherwood Inn by accident two years ago during the holiday season and decided to make the two-hour trip back to Skaneateles again this year for the purpose of staying there again. My girlfriend loves the Christmas tree and the fireplace in the foyer (not to mention the gas fireplaces and hot tubs in every room). Many of the rooms have shelves full of old books along the walls and it's surprisingly head-clearing to be able to lean over and grab an outdated world atlas or a literary digest from the 1800s.

During our last stay, we were able to request a stay in the room we had stayed in two years previously. There was a problem with some pipes in the wee hours of the morning. Call it part of the charm of a 200+ year old building. We called the front desk and we were immediately moved to an equally-charming room down the hall. They treated us to a nice dinner, apologized out the rear, and generally went out of their way to see that we were comfortable. We were happy, and we'll be there again next year.

Room Tip: Each room is unique. We got to see several. You'll enjoy any one of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 320Andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skaneateles
0.1 mi away
Skaneateles Suites Boutique Hotel
0.7 mi away
Finger Lakes Lodging
Finger Lakes Lodging
#5 of 7 in Skaneateles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
6.7 mi away
Inn at the Finger Lakes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Auburn
15.7 mi away
Jefferson Clinton Hotel
Jefferson Clinton Hotel
#2 of 31 in Syracuse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
6.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Auburn - Finger Lakes Region
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sherwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sherwood Inn

Property: Sherwood Inn
Address: 26 W Genesee St, Skaneateles, NY 13152-1020
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Skaneateles
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Skaneateles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For almost two centuries, travelers have come to the Sherwood Inn to rest and relax. The Sherwood Inn offers 25 comfortable guest rooms, each carefully restored and uniquely decorated to retain the Inn's original charm. Many of our guest rooms overlook beautiful Skaneateles Lake, the easternmost of New York's five Finger Lakes. And always, our hospitality is enhanced by an attentive, friendly staff to make your stay comfortable and carefree. Lakeview dining is available in our casual Tavern and Front Porch or in our romantic, candlelit Dining Room ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Sherwood Inn
Sherwood Hotel Skaneateles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing