We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasantries Abound”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Skaneateles
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Aunt Louise's Lake House
Ranked #4 of 14 Skaneateles B&B and Inns
Pennsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pleasantries Abound”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

My husband and I stayed here with another couple for the weekend. Dale and Louse are gracious hosts. The attention to detail was amazing. The breakfasts were delicious, healthy and picture perfect. The rooms were quaint, cozy, clean and decorated in period pieces. The ability to sit back and relax is made easy by their wonderful and friendly hospitality. New and modern amenities do not abound but comfy and homey accommodations are at the top of the list at this B&B. We would highly recommend you stay here and you will sure to return. Extra KUDOS to Ali, the young lady that is there " helping hand"

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stangvet2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    7
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
43
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
106 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Very comfortable, very accommodating in every aspect. The breakfast each day was picture perfect. Very balanced breakfast, much thought goes into what they serve each day. You won't find these breakfasts just anywhere. Dale and Louise are gracious hosts. We thoroughly enjoyed Ali, the nice young lady who helps make the morning enjoyable. if you are looking for a big screen tv, oversize beds, and the hot tub, don't go here. But if you want to have the most enjoyable, relaxing, good old fashion stay with friends, this is the spot. You will feel like you have known the owners for years. It is place you will come back to!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winechick329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

My husband and I stayed here two nights in late May, 2013. Dale and Louise were the most gracious hosts, answering our questions and engaging in conversation, but definitely not intrusive. Both days' breakfasts were delicious and filling! And Alli, their college-student/baker helper is wonderful as well. There were also freshly-baked chocolate chip cookies and lemonade available each day. The room was clean and comfortable, and the location was great. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Sunrise Room. A potential guest should be aware (even though this is stated in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kadoodler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

We have stayed in many B&B's in many countries and this one is superb! The beautiful landscape overlooking the Lake , the tastefully decorated rooms and the cheerfulness of Dale and Louise made our stay very enjoyable. They made every effort to ensure that we had a great time. The fine restaurants for dinner in Skaneateles were very good! Did I mention the fabulous breakfast that was served on beautiful china and crystal served by Louise and Dale? We certainly will return!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrianandBarb11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

For years, as a travel columnist I trained myself to have an eye for unique travel experiences -- the ones that linger in your memory long after your vacation is over. It is true that this charming B&B is immaculately clean, cheerfully decorated and offers an exceptional breakfast but what makes it so very special is the welcoming nature of the inn keepers and their ability to engage all of the guests in warmhearted conversation. My sweetheart and I found this lovely oasis on a rainy night as we traveled from Cape Cod to Toronto. Not only were we welcomed warmly but throughout our stay we were given great tips for our journey ahead. If you enjoy a B&B experience amidst beautiful antiques, friendliness unsurpassed and a genuine desire to make your stay memorable this is the place for you! Pat s. from Cape Cod / Montana

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington DE
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

This was our 2nd stay at Aunt Louise's and the 2nd one was even more enjoyable than the 1st if that's possible.

We stayed for two nights to attend our son's graduation from Suny-Cortland and unlike the 1st visit got to spend more time at the B&B.

Once again Louise and Dale were the perfect hosts and the breakfasts were out of this world.

We are thinking of retiring to this Region of NY State in our retirement years and Louise provided my wife with some excellent information to help assist in our decision.

We also had our daughter and son-in-law with us and they were equally impressed with their room, the food, and the hospitality.

We can't wait to return for a 3rd visit hopefully some time in the fall.

Room Tip: Not a bad room in the House-just depends on your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingMan023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield, N
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013

Stayed one night in the Tree Top room for Valentine's weekend and was extremely pleased with the hospitality and comfortability. Dale and Louise are very accommodating and helpful with making plans in the area. The breakfast was delicious and far from bland. This was my first Bed and Breakfast and it couldn't have exceeded my expectations any further.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skaneateles
5.5 mi away
Skaneateles Suites
Skaneateles Suites
#1 of 7 in Skaneateles
5.0 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
4.4 mi away
Skaneateles Suites Boutique Hotel
4.7 mi away
Finger Lakes Lodging
Finger Lakes Lodging
#5 of 7 in Skaneateles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Auburn
9.4 mi away
Inn at the Finger Lakes
4.4 mi away
34 State Historic Luxury Suites Skaneateles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aunt Louise's Lake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aunt Louise's Lake House

Property: Aunt Louise's Lake House
Address: 2498 E Lake Rd, Skaneateles, NY 13152-9034
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Skaneateles
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Skaneateles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vintage 1837 tastefully furnished B&B overlooking Skaneateles Lake. Enjoy park like setting in warm weather months or relax by wood burning fire in crisp winter months. A delicious continental breakfast is a perfect way to start the day at this beautiful B&B. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing