We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No hospitality, cold reception, waste of my money”
Review of Arbor House Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Skaneateles
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Arbor House Inn
Ranked #7 of 14 Skaneateles B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 September 2010

My husband and I had reserved for 2 nights and knew in advance that we would have to be in a smaller room for the 2nd night. Unfortunately my husband was not well so we had to leave after only 1 night. We were advised that we would have to pay for the 2nd night unless it was rented. Although this prooved to be expensive, we can still understand the policy. However, we feel that this was the worst B&B experience we have had in over 20 years. An envelope was waiting in the mailbox with our room directions. A binder was available in the room with area information, breakfast time etc. We had a suite with a sitting room but there was only a daybed in it. The bedroom although large did not have reading chairs so there was only the bed if you wanted to read. It felt very cold and unfriendly. No coffee was available in the room. Breakfast started at 8AM so we arrived ready for coffee and to get an early start on our trip home. Once again, no one was there to greet us. When my husband yelled 'hello', we were told to 'wait a minute'.The coffee in the pots was cold and from the previous day. As were the biscuits. Our breakfast choice was french toast or eggs and sausages. When they arrived there wasn't even a slice of tomato or a sprig of parsley to brighten the plate. No fruit just juice. The coffee we had longed for was not even drinkable. Throughout the time we were there, no one welcomed us or even said 'good morning'. We go to B&B's because we like the friendliness that we have always had in the past. Because of having to pay for the 2 nights, this rudeness cost us $351. When I e-mailed my comments to the innkeeper, I was told that it would be better in the future for all of us, to stay elsewhere. No worry.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janetblakely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidSchnyer, Owner at Arbor House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2010

Dear Guest,
We appreciate your taking the time to review your stay with us. It is very important for our business to find ways to improve along with having feedback on what you appreciate as well. At this time I would like to ask for your attention to my response to your review.
Our business has a Two week cancellation policy that is stated right on our website under policy’s RESERVATION CANCELLATION POLICY: 14 days notice to cancel reservation is required. If notice of cancellation is given later than 14 days prior to check-in we will attempt to re-book the room, however any losses incurred will be your responsibility. We also state this policy when we take a reservation. We are very sorry that your husband became ill and that your stay with us was shortened. We did try to rebook the room as our policy states but were unable to do so. This policy is very important to keep our business running smoothly; we had a verbal contract that had to be upheld. It is the same in many businesses and it is important for both parties involved: an example would be if the scenario was reversed and you came to stay with us for two nights and we told you when you arrived that we could only accommodate you for one night instead of the original two.
Our staff works very hard to please our guests and to make them feel at home while staying with us. We are a Country inn that serves a complimentary breakfast. Our staff is at the inn until 5pm, However we are always on call and only minutes away. For guests that arrive after 5pm we do have a Box letter policy that works very well for us. And stated right on the door and in the letter if there are any questions or concerns please feel free to call us. Our binders are an information tool for our guests so that they can see what types of restaurants we have in town, what shops we have and some nice activities that you may enjoy. The concord master suite is off from our parlor in the main building the room is set up with a king size bed, an antique desk with a chair and a daybed with a stand and reading lamp. In the parlor just outside the room there is a couch and a plush chair both with reading lamps set up for all our guests to use. I’m very sorry if you did not feel comfortable enough to use this area. We used to have every room set up with individual coffee pots but found that they were a safety issue. Our Coffee pot is set up to turn on at 7:30am every morning. Our staff arrives at the same time so they can set up for breakfast, check out our guests that are departing and manage the phone. We have a staff of three as we are a family run establishment. Sometimes the mornings can be difficult when you are serving breakfast as well as doing checkouts. At the time you came in for breakfast the innkeeper on duty was in the process of doing a cash out for one of our guests that needed us to fax his receipt to him so she was getting his fax number. We try to get to everyone of our guests in a very timely fashion and we do go in order as it is only fair. I do apologize that you were asked to sit and start with your coffee and pastries while you waited. Our housekeeper does the best of her ability to be a diligent as possible. We always have fresh bananas, apples and oranges on our fruit platter and scones or breads out for any guest that would like them; however we do not serve biscuits. As stated above we serve this as a complimentary meal and we try to make choices that the guests will enjoy and I’m very sorry that it was not a meal that you were happy with. We do not serve tomatoes as a breakfast item as many guests have allergies to certain foods. We do appreciate your thoughts on ways we may be able to “decorate” our breakfast. Our coffee is Maxwell House and we very sorry it was not to your liking many of our guests seem to enjoy it. It is a shame that you didn’t feel that we were polite, and that we were unable to re-rent your room. I feel that several of your issues could have been taken care of if you would have voiced them while you were still staying with us rather than telling us that you had a good stay and that it was unfortunate that you had to leave early. Yet again our staff hopes that your husband is better and we as we stated in our e-mail we feel it would be better if you stayed at another establishment that you feel more comfortable with because we do work extremely hard to make our guests feel at home and make sure that they have a pleasant stay with us. If our guests are not happy we are not happy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (201)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 201 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2010

I stayed at the Arbor House for 2 nights with my daughter. Our room was called Shiraz. It was in the back house and had French doors opening out onto the garden. We spent time sitting at the table in the garden watching the ducks and squirrels. There is a stream running along the back of the garden. The hotel is a short walk from the lake and there is a handy supermarket across the road. I presume it must be a very safe area as the owners left our room keys in an envelope at the back door with instructions on how to find our room - very trusting. Our room was large and very clean.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angie-Bruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2010

The great people at Arbor House made our short vacation to the Finger Lakes one to remember. Our suite (the Concord) was tastefully decorated and furnished with a number of wonderful antiques! We enjoyed the spaciously comfortable bath (and jacquzzi). And, breakfast was delicious! The Swansons

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MattnMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2010

Spur of the moment we decided to stay overnight in Skaneateles. Found the Arbor House Inn to be the only available and very happy that we did. The Inn was walking distance from downtown Skaneateles which was nice. The accomodations were great in the back house which is newer and more modern. The staff was extremely pleasant and we enjoyed our breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LadyoftheLake_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2010

We happened to be the only guests staying in the older house part of this establishment. There is a newer separate building behind the house with larger rooms and suites. We had the Niagara Room--the private bath is across the hall. The room was smallish but had a large closet and very comfortable queen bed. There was little in the way of decoration but that did make for a calm, restful room. The room and the bathroom were very clean. The bathroom was huge with a Jacuzzi tub. Great lighting and wonderful airconditioning--it was 96 outside when we were there. Breakfast was large, not fancy but well done. Coffee left a lot to be desired but there is a great coffeehouse right down the street. We paid $120 for our room for one night.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msannie57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2010

Our entire family just spent an amazing weekend at the Arbor House Inn. It was not only aesthetically beautiful, the comfort level provided by our hosts, Wayne, Connie and Danielle was without flaw. We truly felt as if we were at home, with everything needed at our fingertips. Skaneateles itself is beyond charming. The lake is crystal clear, and provides all the peace, and beauty of nature one could ask for.

Thanks Wayne, for opening your home to us!
The Denault Family

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timeforanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2010

My husband and I booked our trip on line,and received an immediate response from Wayne the owner of the Inn. We were going to Skaneatels to stay because we were going to do a tour of the wineries and the inn is in close proximity of them. Wayne suggested we check in early so we could head out and not worry about it later. When we got to the Inn we were meet by Wayne's sister Connie who was was so nice and check in was a breeze. She showed us our room (The Merlot) which was just as beautiful if not more in person then on line. She then showed us another room (Really a suite) that they had available (Bella Rosa } that was just breathtaking it had a separate living and dining room and a kitchen with cherry cabinets and granite counters and then the bedroom with a gas fireplace and jacuzzi tub in the bathroom .There was also a private deck outside both the bedroom and kitchen/living room that overlooked a creek. Connie then asked us if we'd like to stay in the suite for the night as it was available. Did we ever. We had the best time going to the wineries and then heading back to go to dinner at the Sherwood. The Inn is in the perfect place in town as it is very quiet and set back yet still in walking distance to just about everything in town. The breakfast the next day by Connie's daughter Danielle was excellent we had two choices and plenty of it. We had an amazing anniversary because of all the special touches by Wayne, Connie and Danielle we would rate this Inn about a 15 on a scale of 1-10. We will surely be back

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hoho5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Skaneateles hotels
0.2 mi away
Skaneateles Suites Boutique Hotel
1.8 mi away
Skaneateles Suites
Skaneateles Suites
#1 of 7 in Skaneateles
736 reviews
0.6 mi away
Finger Lakes Lodging
Finger Lakes Lodging
#5 of 7 in Skaneateles
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
34 State Historic Luxury Suites Skaneateles
0.2 mi away
Lady of the Lake Bed and Breakfast
0.5 mi away
Mirbeau Inn & Spa Skaneateles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arbor House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arbor House Inn

Address: 41 Fennell St, Skaneateles, NY 13152-1118
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Skaneateles
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Skaneateles
Price Range: £72 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Arbor House Hotel Skaneateles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing