We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The hosts were wonderful and we will be back to enjoy their company.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sodus Point
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Carriage House Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 3 Sodus Point B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 August 2011

My husband and I went with trepidation for a return stay at the Carriage House Inn when nothing else was available while we visited friends who were sailing in the area. We had not had a pleasant experience on our last stay at this B and B, and were delighted to find that this lovely inn is under new ownership. Jerry and Claudine had just taken over and made us feel like we were at home. We enjoyed great visits and chats with this lovely couple. The breakfasts were fabulous...best French toast I have ever had. My coffee cup was never empty and they could not do enough to make our stay enjoyable. I give them 5 stars. Lucia Sleight, Buffalo, New York

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lucia154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (38)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2011

The Carriage House is the Best place to stay in Sodus Point! I've stayed there many times, it's comfortable, relaxing and the owners are the Nicest people in the World! Going again this month and can't wait!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bev9494
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2010

This Bed and Breakfast is in dire need of updating. Our bathroom towels were completely unacceptable. They were very worn with ragged edges and they smelled very bad. Our bed linens were also very worn and needed replacing. Only hand soap provided in the shower, no body soap or shampoo. No typical "Bed and Breakfast" extras at all. Breakfast were very minimal. Could not connect to the internet even though they said they had wireless.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank topchef25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jerry K, Owner at Carriage House Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2011

We are the new owners at the Carriage House Inn, arriving here in Sodus Point in June, 2011. The Carriage House Inn has a great reputation for friendliness and hospitatlity, and we will work hard to preserve that heritage. We have also listened to this review and others in order to make our guests stay even more enjoyable.
Come visit us and enjoy our fresh new linens, and fall asleep on our luxurious soft pillows. In the morning you can enjoy our updated breakfast menus. From Claudine's popular Carriage House Inn Baked French Toast, to the savory egg casseroles, or the unique flavor of our fruit topped lemon pancakes, I think you will enjoy a hearty start to your day. Jerry will keep your coffee cup full of our bold French Roast brew, as you share share meal and conversation in our repurposed dining room, We look forward to meeting you!

With warm regards,

Jerry and Claudine Karczewski

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2009

This is a lovely setting, there is a screened in gazebo overlooking the lake, The past reviews are right, though, the bedding and towels are threadbare, frayed and faded. The breakfasts were very disappointing, just scrambled eggs and ham or pancakes and sausage, plain toasted white bread, weak coffee with milk (no cream or half and half available), small glass of warm, watery OJ, nothing fresh or home made. The bed was ok, bathrooms miniscule. All in all, decor may have been nice years ago, but nothing has been replaced since.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lilyloll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jerry K, Owner at Carriage House Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2011

We arrived at the Carriage House Inn as the new innkeepers in June, 2011. While preserving the great reputation for hospitality Jim and Vivian built this Bed and Breakfast on, we have listened and responded to your comments. Please see the statement in response to the "needs updating" review above to see what we have been up to!!

Claudine and I wholeheartedly invite you to come to Sodus Point to visit this our lovely community and check out the changes at the Carriage House Inn!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2007

We were travelling east from Niagara Falls and wanted somewhere near the water to break our journey – the description on the web site read well so we booked.
The location is great, beautiful lawns running down to the lake, with gazebos you could use anytime. It’s a pleasant walk along the lakefront into town and back via the main road. The town is small and was quiet when we were there (October) but from what we were told becomes quite busy during summer
The house presents well but inside the rooms and furnishings are tired and need attention. There was no problem with the cleanliness of the house just the fixtures, fittings, towels & sheets that are past their use by date.
Breakfast was fine and more than enough and very friendly and informal
We didn’t eat in town but drove a couple of miles out to a German restaurant that was really good value.
The web site says the property won awards for the last 3 years, there couldn’t have been much opposition.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BazinBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jerry K, Owner at Carriage House Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2011

Claudine and I have fallen in love with this 1870 Victorian house when we purchased the business in June 2011. The simple elegance of a time gone by is wonderfully preserved here in Sodus Point,

We have listened to your comments, and hope that when you arrive for a return stay, you will enjoy our new linens and towels and drift away to sweet dreams on the luxurious soft pillows.We hope you will find a beautiful old house with a touch of modern accessories and comforts.

Come and see us again at the Carriage House Inn!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2007

We found this B&B on the web when looking for a place to stay while we were visiting friends.

On the website, it claims that this B&B was voted #1 in North America and voted 2nd place (2005) for best overall B&B's in North America.

When arriving to the place, the exterior of the home was charming and has two gazebos on the property. Unfortunately we couldn't use them since it was raining off/on that day. Inside the home was decorated in a country theme.

Our room had a king size bed. The furnishings were okay. Small bathroom though. We had a small tv in the room, with a remote that didn't work too well (couldn't scroll up the channels, only down). The floor lamp in the room wasn't working (it was plugged in too...). The room's a/c needed to be cranked up all the way to keep the room comfortable. The bed was quite hard with flat pillows. Sheets were ok, not of good quality. The bath towels looked old. The only items in the bathroom were liquid hand soap to use at the sink and the shower and plastic drinking cups. We've been at other B&B's and this was low standards to what we expected for a place voted #1.

Breakfast was ok. Pretty stingy with the ham...just gave you one thin slice. Nothing fancy...just ok.

Next morning had some sunshine and made walking around the garden nice. You could walk down to Lake Ontario and have a nice view of the historic lighthouse.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank suchaqtpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrr42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Carriage House Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriage House Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: Corner of Ontario St. & Wickham Blvd, Sodus Point, NY 14555
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Sodus Point
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Sodus Point
Price Range: £94 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carriage House Inn Bed & Breakfast is the place to stay when visiting or vacationing near Sodus Point, New York. Located adjacent to the historic Sodus Bay Lighthouse Museum, we are just a couple hundred yards from a walk on the beach of beautiful Lake Ontario. In our quiet neighborhood, experience the peace and beauty of the 1870 Victorian house. Whether you are relaxing from the hustle and bustle of the daily grind, enjoying the many water activities at the Point, sampling the products of our region’s orchards and wineries or traveling through on business, stop here to rest and rejuvenate. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing