We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect family stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of 1708 House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Southampton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
1708 House
Ranked #2 of 5 Southampton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
“Perfect family stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

We stayed three adults and two small children (1 & 3) in one of the charming cottages. The location was great, with a very short distance to restaurants and shops, and a 30 min slow walk to the beach. Lovely staff and good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrkFjeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    14
    5
    2
    5
See reviews for
34
60
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Garden City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

This is a hidden gem in the heart of Southampton. It is a nice and peaceful setting. You are in the heart of town and within walking distance to all of the shops. Rooms are very clean and decorated nicley. Staff are extremely helpful and courteous.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013 via mobile

My son booked us in here as a Mothers Day treat for my wife. Have to say we were blown away by this place. Our room (no. 8) was amazing. Beautiful older world furniture and decorations. Greeting was so friendly. Not only do you get breakfast but afternoon tea (with wine) and unlimited access to cold drinks in the fridge in the kitchen. Breakfast great choice. Location excellent v close to main shopping street and some highly rated restaurants. Only prob was the weather - bit wet and miserable but can't blame the 1708 house for that. Highly recommended.

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Elwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

My dear friends gave us a weekend away at 1708 House for our wedding gift. We had such a wonderful stay. The Inn is absolutely charming (and spotless), and located in central downtown Southampton, which is great for exploring the nearby shops and stores. I recommend renting a car, so you can drive by the beach and check out other Hampton towns.

Not only was the inn charming, but so were the inn keepers. They were excited to show us the intricate details of the historic home, always had lovely wine and crackers out in the afternoons, and encouraged us to help ourselves to Perrier in the kitchen. They also served a lovely breakfast with eggs made to order.

I would highly recommend the 1708 House. We stayed in a newer room, but had a chance to peek at the historic rooms, which looked fun and cozy.

An excellent weekend away! Cannot wait to return to 1708 House.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank m o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mineola, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

My wife and I spent a wonderful weekend in Southampton at the 1708 House and it could not have been better!!! Due to the fact that it was "off season", we got a great price on a beautiful room, which had a queen bed, private HUGE bathroom, and a jacuzzi tub. The house itself is a gorgeous piece of history, and the people running it (Skip, Linda, Kelly) make it a truly "homey" experience. They were always around, but never intrusive, so if we needed directions somewhere, advice on the area, or a tour of the house, they were there with a smile.

The house is gigantic, and centrally located in the town, not far from the beach, and right around the corner from the main strip. The breakfast was excellent, eggs made to order, bagels, smoked salmon, coffee/tea, pastries and muffins galore. They also had all sorts of beverages available at any time in the fridge, soda, water, sparkling water, and juice. I have been to a lot of B and Bs, but have never seen this level of service, they should be commended.

We will definitely be coming back to the 1708 house, it was a memorable experience, thanks to the staff!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Myles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2013

We had the pleasure to once again stay at the 1708 House over a beautiful winter weekend in March. The Bed & Breakfast is like coming home to stay with family. Linda & Kelly are such friendly and gracious ladies, always making us feel welcome without being intrusive. 1708 House sparkles and is decorated with beautiful period furniture that is pleasing to the eye but also comfortable and functional. There is a wonderful fireplace glowing as you check in. Breakfast choices were plentiful and eggs were cooked to order if requested. Our favorite time is in the late evening downstairs in the cellar. Take down a bottle of wine, turn up the gas fireplace and enjoy the peace and quiet...we just love it. We'll be back again when our travels take us north.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leisuretraveler02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

My wife treated me to an early birthday getaway from the city on the weekend of 3/22/13. In a word-relaxing!1708 has tons of character, is clean and comfy all around. Gracious and diligent staff. We were the "young couple" on the same weekend that a group of older couples, and one or two families, were in attendance - no conflict of "vibe". Everyone was so nice, and the general atmosphere of 1708 had a lot to do with that. 1708's location puts you within a few mins drive from solid dining options, and within walking distance of shops and cafes if you want to ditch the four wheels. Beaches are similarly close by car. We went for a run at Agawan Lake- minutes away and a perfect scenic 5K loop for runners or cyclists ( we ran from 1708 and back). You're hard pressed to find a better value in the area. We can't thank the staff enough for making our stay a memorable one, and hope to return very soon!

Room Tip: Room 12 - quiet,lots of natural light,2bdrm
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southampton
0.4 mi away
Southampton Inn
Southampton Inn
#3 of 8 in Southampton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Hamlet Inn
The Hamlet Inn
#2 of 8 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
1.4 mi away
Southampton Long Island Hotel
Southampton Long Island Hotel
#5 of 8 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Easterner Motel
Easterner Motel
#4 of 8 in Southampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
9.1 mi away
Baron's Cove
Baron's Cove
#1 of 5 in Sag Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.6 mi away
A Butler's Manor
A Butler's Manor
#1 of 5 in Southampton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1708 House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1708 House

Property: 1708 House
Address: 126 Main St, Southampton, NY 11968-4835
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Southampton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 1708 House is an historic bed and breakfast in Southampton, located at 126 Main Street (next door to the former Saks Fifth Avenue). The house was known to exist in 1708 and has a museum-like cellar dating to approximately 1648 which is open to its guests as a cozy getaway for a game of chess or cards, in front of a roaring fire. Filled with fabulous furnishings, the inn boasts modern amenities such a wireless internet access and flat screen TVs/DVD players in every room. In addition, the property has two-bedroom cottages which are perfect for families. Its central location in the Village is perfect for walking to shops, galleries, restaurants, the renowned ocean beaches, which are only a mile away, and many points of interest in the area. Stays include a sumptuous daily breakfast and afternoon tea to be enjoyed in the formal living room, or inviting library, both of which have fireplaces. Beach parking passes for both Village and Town beaches are available. The 1708 House welcomes you to come and experience all our unique property has to offer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
1708 House Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing