We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not as Bad as Reviews. . . . but”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The Hamlet Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Hamlet Inn
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Southampton
Southern U.S.
Level Contributor
107 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Not as Bad as Reviews. . . . but”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

Was guest of an organization who made my reservations here. When I arrived, I immediately checked Trip Advisor for reviews. There are some tough ones. The property is not as bad as described but there are certainly weaknesses that could discourage travelers, especially at the rate of $298 a night on weekends.

Wifi was off and on; explanation was power outage was the cause and couldn't get the cable company to repair it on the weekend. Probably true. But you could haul your lap top around the property and find a hot spot; lobby seemed to work.

Continental breakfast was okay. . . . Keurig coffee maker with choice of brew packs.

And yes the innkeeper, who seemed in some reviews to be kin to Norman Bates, was a little loud and full of rules. ..

One story I must share. . . .read in a review about the person opening the microwave in the room and finding a cold pizza slice housekeeping missed. When I read this, I got up and looked in my microwave. This is true: No pizza slice but there was crusted, dried pizza sauce that had come from a slice. I proceed to do housekeeping and wash the glass tray.

An investment of money to spruce this place up could make it a wonderful boutique motel with charm. There are beautiful grounds, a pool, and parking. And note no places close by to walk for a meal or any service.

Better housekeeping and more attention to details could really raise the reviews.

Room Tip: Look for another hotel. . . . .. .
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DownSouthUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    18
    7
    6
    3
See reviews for
16
26
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2013

I am writing the review while I am already here in Hamlet in first room in front of car park, so that I don't forget to review it and others don't have to suffer like me unless they really want to suffer.It might be good idea to stay here in summer as they are close to beach and have nice swimming pool but staying in winter is penalizing yourself. Its very cold despite they say the heaters are on and on auto mode. My feet are freezing and burning due to intense cold and cold wooden floor with no carpet on it old style heaters.
The Wifi was not working in room so I had to go to their office lounge to use it and in the evening through the cold freezing windy walking distance between my room and their office lounge.
Last night I stayed in Comfort in Medford for 107$. The room was very warm and they also have breakfast available. Whereas over here I paid about $116 with no breakfast and Fffffffffreezing bloody cold. You go out of the room and your in the middle of arctic temperature...I am sure it should be my first & last time ever to come here..!

Room Tip: Don't stay in the outside rooms in winter.....! or don't stay here at all in winter..!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank F K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2012

We stayed at the Hamlet Inn for one night in early October, 2012. We arrived earlier than expected, and were able to check in with no problem. Our room (23) was spacious and bright, with comfortable bed and nice flat screen TV. The grounds were beautiful, with a large grassy area outside the rooms. The staff was friendly and accomodating. Molly helped us with a map and things to do in the surrounding area. We had a continental breakfast in the morning, which was plentiful. The Hamlet Inn was much less expensive than almost every other option in Southampton. Overall, a very nice stay at a budget price!!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CaliCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

We booked this place based on the feedback we found on Tripadvisor. No one happens to mention that this is basically a glorified motor lodge - 10 rooms in a row, simliar to the old places you'd see along the roads before highways came through. We were looking for a place that would allow us to book one night (most places in the Hamptons require 2 night minimums). We specifically booked a room with a Queen-sized bed. Well, when we arrived, we were told that no rooms with Queen-sized beds were available. When I showed my reservation, the comment was, "well, that's the room you were assigned", meaning the room with the double beds. To be fair, the room was clean... how did we know? Well, the entire room smelled of bleach. The previous guests thoughtfully left a piece of pizza in the microwave, but my wife and I decided to pass on the "welcome snacK". When my wife complained about the bleach smell, we were moved to another room, which was a little less "bleachy". The front desk person was very pleasant and helpful, and the continental breakfast was basic, but adequate. However, nothing could make up for having spent $300 for one night and ending up in a room that didn't even have a rug or carpet, nor the Queen-sized bed, nor anything else someone might expect for $300 off-season.. Sure, there was a flat screen TV and a small fridge and microwave. The sheets were clean, and the towels were actually the highlight of the room's amenities.

In closing, let me just say that you'd be better off paying for 2 nights somewhere else and only staying one than to go to this motor lodge for one night.

Room Tip: Don't stay here is the best tip I can give you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimTrvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Commack, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

What an improvement over cookie-cutter hotel rooms! The room smelled clean; instead of funky-musty old carpeting there was clean white Terrazzo tile, the sparkling white sheets and towels smelled clean (NOT of a heavy masking odor of highly fragranced detergent, just CLEAN!), and the smell of the pine trees outside the room made it seem naturally fresh. Speaking of the trees outside, the landscaping is so pretty. There is a really comfortable deck outside the room shaded by the pine trees where you can enjoy the natural beauty. Indoors I had a comfortable desk and chair and was able to get my work done. I had wanted to be close to the ocean and was prepared to be disappointed, but the innkeeper told me in detail exactly which direction to take my morning run down to the bay, it's only a few minutes away by foot! And the ocean beach is five minutes by car, anyway.

No restaurant, but again, a few minutes with the innkeeper and I had a long list of places to eat, she knew ALL the restaurants too, more than I had time to try out - good excuse to go back!

Room Tip: The rooms with the two beds are BIG
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moG77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westhampton Beach, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

What a lovely place to stay anytime of the year!The room was clean and fresh,It was easy to relax and watch my dog enjoy the beautiful grounds before I retired for the evening watching the large flat screen t.v. in my cozy room! I'll be back soon,Thanks Hampton Hamlet Inn!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marilyn c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

Very cozy, clean and friendly place. Drove from the city very late and ended up in the Hamlet which to my surprise was open. It was snowing the night we arrived and the fire place was glowing and hot chocolate was brewing. It was lovely. We chatted with the very pleasant care taker drinking our hot chocolate in a very cozy sitting area. The guest room was very clean, beds drapped all in white. We will be coming back for Valentines Day. Thanks Again!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xanthi c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southampton
2.0 mi away
Southampton Long Island Hotel
Southampton Long Island Hotel
#5 of 8 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
2.8 mi away
Southampton Inn
Southampton Inn
#3 of 8 in Southampton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
11.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Long Island East End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Easterner Motel
Easterner Motel
#4 of 8 in Southampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
11.2 mi away
Baron's Cove
Baron's Cove
#1 of 5 in Sag Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
14.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo East End
Hotel Indigo East End
#3 of 7 in Riverhead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hamlet Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hamlet Inn

Property: The Hamlet Inn
Address: 300 Montauk Hwy, Southampton, NY 11968-4109
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Southampton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — The Hamlet Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in quiet Southampton, Long Island; the Hamlet Inn offers its guests charming country-style rooms. All of our rooms are equipped with either a king size bed or two full beds, all with a pull-out sofa bed and all designed to offer you the most comfort possible. Some of our guest rooms have a covered outdoor porch that allows guests to sit outside and enjoy the Hampton air. While the inn offers a relaxing rustic atmosphere, our guests enjoy modern amenities such as free WiFi and cable TV, along with daily maid service. One of the most unique features of the Hamlet Inn is the silence. The inn is nestled on 3.5 acres of verdant lawns that offers a level of peace and tranquility that other inns and hotels in the area cannot offer. Exploring and soaking in the gorgeous landscape is a perfect way to spend to the Southampton summers. We invite you to be our guest at Hamlet Inn and experience the peace and tranquility of Southampton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Hamlet Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing