We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Wonderful Birthday!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mainstay Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Southampton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mainstay Inn
Ranked #3 of 5 Southampton B&B and Inns
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Birthday!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

As soon as we walked in to this wonderful 200 year old home, it was warm and we were greeted by 2 poodles and Elizabeth, the owner. The dogs were friendly and WELL trained.

It was a beautiful home decorated in Colonial/Victorian flavor with a nice touch of Country.

We were given our room key and directed up-stairs to our suite, the GIN LANE.

As soon as we walked in, we were AMAZED at the Beauty and Brightness of the king suite!

My daughter was sooooo excited to find she had a room of her own to sleep in! (this was a surprise to all of us!!)

The WiFi was great, the TV was perfectly small, so as to not detract from the beauty of the room.

The garden and back yard were wonderful!

Our stay at Mainstay was above our expectations!!!

We will DEFIANTLY return!

Also the other guests were very friendly, and we all had good conversation during breakfast!

Thanks again Elizabeth for a wonderful Stay!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElizabethMain, Owner at Mainstay Inn, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
John it was a pleasure to have you spend your birthday here at The Mainstay with your family.
Please come again, and thank you for your review!
Elizabeth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    18
    6
    5
    5
See reviews for
9
43
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plainview, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

We spent two lovely nights at the Mainstay Inn in April. We were warmly welcomed and offered as much information and suggestions that we wanted. Our room was beautiful and extremely comfortable and well appointed with everything we could possibly need. Breakfast was nicely served and gracious. We would certainly recommend it and hope to return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Alice T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valley Stream, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

It was our first time at a B & B and at the Hampton's. The room was very cozy, the property was very nice. Early Spring, so the flowers weren't quite blooming but it was easy to imagine how lovely the property must look. The rest of the house was quite beautiful. The low fat waffles (with bananas) where delicious. The Host, Elizabeth was very kind, helpful and very accommodating. We'll be doing more B & B getaways and I hope the rest will stack up as well as Mainstay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Doris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

I'm sure the Mainstay is fabulous in the summer, but it is also a divine getaway in winter. There is a very comfortable, elegantly shabby chic feeling to the large rooms and the owner/innkeeper, Elizabeth, is a wonderful hostess. She hits all the notes perfectly.

I slept more soundly than I have in years. The sheets are crisp, the pillows perfect, and the view of dawn over a snowy field was breathtaking. A homemade waffle and great coffee, too. And a location that allows a walk to the beach.
A gracious and peaceful respite from Manhattan!

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank nicole y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElizabethMain, Owner at Mainstay Inn, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Nicole, thank you so much for your review, it was a pleasure having you stay here at The Mainstay, a wonderful time was had. Hope you had a nice walk to the beach. Please be in touch when you are around again.
Elizabeth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

My boyfriend and I had a lovely experience at Elizabeth's Mainstay B&B. The rooms were all gorgeous, cozy, and comfortable. We loved our king-size bed and fireplace (it was winter). Elizabeth herself was delightful, friendly, and kind. She made a wonderful breakfast and awesome coffee! We were able to walk into town and to the beach, although you could easily drive it was a manageable walk. All in all it was a great weekend and I have recommended it to friends and family already!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank CityGirl410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElizabethMain, Owner at Mainstay Inn, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time for this review. It was delightful having you and hope to see you again!
Elizabeth Main
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Quogue, New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

My wife came I had a beautiful weekend at Elizabeth's 'MAINSTAY ' in Southampton. The house was beautifully appointed with the best of antique furniture and accessories.
We especially loved the beautifully maintained grounds with private sitting areas and heated pool.
The proximity to the village shops and the beaches was equally as impressive.
We loved every minute of our stay and will definitely be returning. 5 stars from us!!!
PS. The waffles and fresh fruit were just Delicious!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElizabethMain, Owner at Mainstay Inn, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Joe, thank you for the review on Trip Advisor, it was a delight to have you and your wife stay here with us. You were wonderful company at the breakfast table and a compliment to our weekend.
Please come again and your wish is our command.
Elizabeth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

If you are going to the Hamptons, make this your first port of call for an excellent B&B. We recently stayed at the Mainstay to recharge our batteries following a NYC/DC trip across from the UK. Could not fault it at all. Warm and welcoming reception from Elizabeth, large clean room, excellent breakfast selection and 10 minute walk into Southamption with great selection of restaurants and bars. Ideally placed for Coopers beach - "USA's No 1 rated beach" so the sign said, and we couldnt disagree. The welcoming glass of wine each evening was a great touch. Will be our first choice next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElizabethMain, Owner at Mainstay Inn, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Ed, thank you so much for your review, it was a pleasure to have you both stay here nad hope that you will return for your next anniversary,
It is always wonderful to have such nice people visit us at The Mainstay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southampton
1.9 mi away
The Hamlet Inn
The Hamlet Inn
#2 of 8 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
1.0 mi away
Southampton Inn
Southampton Inn
#3 of 8 in Southampton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
0.8 mi away
Southampton Long Island Hotel
Southampton Long Island Hotel
#5 of 8 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Easterner Motel
Easterner Motel
#4 of 8 in Southampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
7.0 mi away
Topping Rose House
Topping Rose House
#1 of 1 in Bridgehampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
10.0 mi away
Baron's Cove
Baron's Cove
#1 of 5 in Sag Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mainstay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mainstay Inn

Property: Mainstay Inn
Address: 579 Hill St, Southampton, NY 11968-5305
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Southampton
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southamptons B&B in historic village on Long Island, NY. Colonial House 1870s, Minutes to town and ocean beaches,Delicious waffles inc in cont. breakfast. All rooms dripping in charm from hand painted walls to slanted ceilings with skylights. All rooms had antique iron beds. King master suite with fireplace, two bedroom suite sleeps 5. Situtated on one acre with garden and pool. Most rooms with private bath. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing