We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of The Atlantic

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Atlantic
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Southampton
Reviewed 13 February 2014

My husband and I stayed at The Atlantic for business. Our stay was a week long and no complaints. I had read some of the reviews and was a little worried. My mind was put to rest upon check in. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. Our room was clean and spacious. I requested a refrigerator and a microwave. They were brought up to me early the next morning. Maybe because it is in the Hamptons, this hotel is not getting the reviews it deserves. We were so happy with everything, that we have booked two more weeks with them. I can not say enough about the friendly service we have received. The staff makes you feel at home.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy-Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin T, Director of Sales at The Atlantic, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate your kind words and are happy to hear your stay was pleasant. We look forward to your returned patronage.

Our Best,

The Management and Staff of the Atlantic Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (113)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2014

The customer service was way below average and many unspecified "company policies" when given information about booking. Bad experience overall. Never again. I would deeply advise any person to seek other places for your stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Dylan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin T, Director of Sales at The Atlantic, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We apologize that your stay wasn't a pleasant one. We pride our self on having a pleasant and inviting staff and have addressed your concerns with our staff.

The Management and Staff of the Atlantic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We decided to stay here for a New Years Eve party. Stayed on the second floor, and had no problems. The room itself was quaint, would not stay for long term as they are smaller than expected. The breakfast was a good pick-me-up as well. The stay was good for overnight, but not sure if their rates are worth a visit in the summer. Overall, decent stay, no major complaints.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katrina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin T, Director of Sales at The Atlantic, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are happy to hear your stay with us was a pleasant one and we look forward to an opportunity to have you with us again.

Our Best,

The Management and Staff of the Atlantic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

I decided to visit Montauk during Thanksgiving. No hotels were available near Montauk. I booked this one on booking.com. The room with two double beds cost $90, and I paid $106, which included tax and service fee. It is right on Route 27 and about 10 minutes drive west of South Hampton. I interacted with three members there: two ladies in the front desk and one man in cafeteria. All were nice and helpful. The heating kept the room too warm and there was strong smell of Clorox. There is a pool there. The wifi was free; so was continental breakfast. The choice was better than average. I got two small English muffins with butter and peanut butter spread. Overall, this is a decent place.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abuben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin T, Director of Sales at The Atlantic, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We appreciate your time and are happy to hear your stay with us was a pleasant one. We look forward to the opportunity to have you with us again in the future.

Kind regards,

The Management and Staff of the Atlantic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

The Atlantic needs a complete overhaul! I would say start with some clorox on everything!! The bathroom was disgusting! Moldy walls and ceiling, the tiles were cracked and loose and the toilet when flushed ran for literally 22 minutes! The walls are gross with squished bugs, scuff marks and cracks. The beds are OLD! I was afraid to walk on the carpet without shoes, socks or slippers and left my slippers in the garbage as I didn't want to bring anything home that touched that filthy carpet. The stains were large and throughout the room! The maid knocked on the door, woke me up and asked if I wanted service, there are no Do Not Disturb Signs on any of the doors.When she did "service" the room she left two towels, no wash cloths and half used bottles of complimentary shampoo. She did NOT make the bed, but pulled up the sheets and comforter, sort of half way up the bed, not kidding you. AND, there were no fitted sheets only top sheets used as both. The pillows were flung towards the headboard. Awful! The smell of smoke was everywhere as was the smell of animal urine. NEVER AGAIN we will stay there. The property has great potential but it lacks just about everything. The staff has NO personality for the hospitality business. They even go as far as to speak to each other in another language in front of guests. Also, there were large trucks idling in the parking lot late at night. What the hell is that about? Won't be surprised to see this place shut down soon.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank H R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

The grounds are well managed and the staff are friendly. However, the rooms and furnishings are dated and the mattresses are worn out. The same goes for the bathroom finishes; Old, dated, and worn out. I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shellgrabbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

This was a nice place to stay...easy to access local attractions. Room was comfy. The staff was super nice. I enjoyed the continental breakfast, too! If you're looking for a high end place, this is not the place to stay. I would definitively choose The Atlantic again.

Room Tip: If you just need a place to sleep at night, this is the place to stay. It is a simple room with comf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin B, Director of Sales at The Atlantic, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are happy to hear your stay was pleasant and we look forward to having you with us again.

Our Best,

The Management and Staff of the Atlantic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southampton
3.2 mi away
Southampton Inn
Southampton Inn
#3 of 8 in Southampton
309 reviews
2.1 mi away
Southampton Long Island Hotel
Southampton Long Island Hotel
#5 of 8 in Southampton
95 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Hamlet Inn
The Hamlet Inn
#2 of 8 in Southampton
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Baron's Cove
Baron's Cove
#1 of 5 in Sag Harbor
257 reviews
1.5 mi away
Easterner Motel
Easterner Motel
#4 of 8 in Southampton
67 reviews
10.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Long Island East End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Atlantic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Atlantic

Address: 1655 County Road 39, Southampton, NY 11968-5254
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Southampton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Southampton
Price Range: £69 - £1,289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Atlantic 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Atlantic features 68 oversized rooms on 5 acres of tentable event space including a beautiful pool-side beach area. The rooms offer two double beds, a queen bed and convertible sofa, a queen bed with jacuzzi bath, or Luxury two room suite. We also offer meeting space that can accomidate up to 35 people. Conveniently located just minutes from beautiful Southampton Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Atlantic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Atlantic Hotel Southampton
Atlantic Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing