We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A touch of England”
Review of A Butler's Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
A Butler's Manor
Ranked #1 of 5 Southampton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Massapequa Park, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A touch of England”
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Upon arrival greeted by Kim Allen the Proprietress of Butler"s Manor ...so warm and inviting...loved Butler's Manor upon arrival...the gardens are magnificent...the home just lovely, warm and inviting....our room outfitted with all the amenities anyone could ever want..afternoon.tea and delicious cookies outside our room on buffet....heard Chris (the BUTLER and Proprieter's English voxie downstairs). Breakfast was a delight...Kim serving her most delicious food...and of course Chris right there too!!! A four hats experience...

Room Tip: all rooms well located
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauline A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    368
    8
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
47
254
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Every discerning traveller must make an effort to stay in "A Butlers Manor". We stayed for two nights as part of our USA east coast holiday. Coming from the UK we had already visited Washington and New York and we needed somewhere to wind down and be pampered. The Butlers Manor did just that. Beautiful surroundings, superb rooms and Kim and Chris were the perfect hosts. Our only complaint is that we didn't stay longer, but we will be back.

Room Tip: Chose the front room with the exposed beams.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterA1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We just returned from two nights at A Butler's Manor. There are not enough accolades to give to
Kim and Chris the proprietors. They are warm and welcoming, and you feel that you are
staying at the beautiful manor of close friends. The rooms are immaculate and the grounds are
finely manicured by Chris in the style of an English country manor. Kim's breakfasts are
delicious, and can be enjoyed in the backyard garden, weather permitting. The location is so
convenient, a short walk into the town of southampton. We were with two other couples,
and cannot say enough positives about our stay. Thank you Kim and Chris. We look forward
to returning!!

Room Tip: We stayed in Eton Court which had a king Size bed. Villafranche is larger but has a queen size bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JN302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
1 review
Reviewed 3 June 2013

my wife and I spent a night at A Butler's Manor for our anniversary, but wish we could have stayed longer. Kim & Chris were terrific hosts, they helped make us feel incredibly welcome from the moment we arrived. The room we stayed in was comfortable and private, with no detail spared. I can't begin to say enough about breakfast the following morning ... it was outstanding. We will definitely be returning next year (if not sooner!)

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Billthay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

I cannot recommend this B&B enough. The owners - Chris and Kim are delightful and cannot do enough for you - they are friendly, welcoming and full of great local advise. Kim is a great chef and every morning she wowed us with a new home-made delight for breakfast. Our room was large, and the four poster bed was very comfortable (if a little high to get up on!), and the sky roof window above the bath makes for a very relaxing bubble bath. Also we should note that the bed linen was the most comfortable and luxurious we have ever stayed in - and the soft toilet roll is also incredible! The location of the b&b is great - a short stroll to the local pub and all the shops and restaurants. We very much hope to return here again some day.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaPage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We stayed in the Villefranche room (for three) at the Butler's Manor.
The house is just perfect and Chris and Kim are great hosts. We love B&B's because you have the opportunity to meet other people from different places of the world, and this was exactly the case. Chris, a professional butler, takes care of all your needs in advance and Kim is a great chef. If that is not enough, the gardens are gorgeous.
Regarding location, you can walk to Southampton's centre from the manor and drive, or rent a bike, to visit around. We loved our stay and we will certainly be going back.

Room Tip: All rooms are greatly decorated and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gaby64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013 via mobile

A Butlers Manor is wonderful! A charming place to spend a night (or two or three...) while exploring Southampton/Hamptons. The house is picture perfect from the exterior and once inside you are greeted with a charming interior - home away from home feel. Oh and not forgetting the huge warm welcome from Chris and Kim. We took two rooms during our stay; ours Cliffside, the in-laws Oak Knoll. Both rooms were lovely - everything was there that you needed, plus those extras (cookies, aromatherapy toiletries, water, bathrobes etc) to make you feel special and welcome!
Garden & Pool - wow, beautiful. It wasnt quite warm enough to brave the swimwear to experience the pool, however during the summer months you have a lovely place to relax and enjoy the sun if you didn't fancy heading to the beach! Location - very close to the train station, you could easily walk into town too. The beach is a short drive away - I believe during the summer months there is transport to the beach.
Breakfast - delicious! We were treated to French toast stuffed with I think Lemon Ricotta. Yummy! Chris and Kim's breakfast set me up for the day!
Chris and Kim have lots of tips and ideas to share for things you can do while visiting the Hamptons. They recommended Wolffer Winery, for pre dinner drinks, before we headed into Southampton for dinner. Spot on recommendation: this vineyard is beautiful! The wine was great too. I actually said, I'd like to get married all over again, so I could do it here!
In a nutshell - a charming manor, with fantastic inn keepers. A great 1 night getaway, to escape the city with the in-laws. Hopefully our go to during the summer months for a weekend in the hamptons.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Around_the_World_165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southampton
0.8 mi away
Southampton Inn
Southampton Inn
#3 of 8 in Southampton
295 reviews
13.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Long Island East End
8.6 mi away
Baron's Cove
Baron's Cove
#1 of 5 in Sag Harbor
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 mi away
Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa
3.2 mi away
The Hamlet Inn
The Hamlet Inn
#2 of 8 in Southampton
66 reviews
5.6 mi away
Topping Rose House
Topping Rose House
#1 of 1 in Bridgehampton
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Butler's Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Butler's Manor

Property: A Butler's Manor
Address: 244 N Main St, Southampton, NY 11968-3342
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Southampton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — A Butler's Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to A Butler's Manor, a Southampton, NY bed and breakfast inn. A Butler's Manor Bed and Breakfast offers lodging complemented by incredible amenities and exceptional service in five individually-designed guest rooms, all with private bathrooms, located off a wide second-floor hallway accessible by both a front and back staircase. The large, welcoming living room is handsomely decorated and features a wood-burning fireplace. The inn is situated on an acre of lushly landscaped gardens with dozens of mature trees surrounding a beautiful full-sized saltwater swimming pool. A full breakfast is served in the garden in pleasant weather; in the comfortable formal dining room in cooler months. Wireless Internet service is free and is accessible anywhere on the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your A Butler's Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Butler`s Manor Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing