We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best that the Hamptons has to offer!”
Review of A Butler's Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
A Butler's Manor
Ranked #1 of 5 Southampton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bellevue, WA
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“The best that the Hamptons has to offer!”
Reviewed 2 October 2008

My husband and I didn't know what to expect for our first visit to the Hamptons, and weren't sure what section would yield the best results (Southampton, Montauk, etc.). We found the Butler's Manor on this site, and thought it looked like a safe enough bet. Well, let me tell you - we couldn't have been more fortunate, or more pleased to have selected this B&B, and this particular area to stay in. The B&B has fantastic service, being owned and operated by a warm, friendly couple, excellent accomodations, and phenomenal home-made breakfasts served in their beautiful, peaceful garden. They competently and happily catered to our special dietary needs - both of us being vegetarian, and me being allergic to eggs. The B&B also has a pool in a gorgeous, private back area of the garden. I loved everything about this place, and would definitely return again. Plus, after driving through the other areas of the Hamptons, we found that Southampton was definitely the most beautiful, interesting section of the region. I highly recommend renting a bike and riding through the gorgeous neighborhood streets, to ogle the mansions, and then ride on the very long road that leads past the beachfront properties, where you can stop off at various public beaches.

  • Liked — It felt like a real home; very warm, and welcoming.
  • Disliked — I don't care for shared seating at meal time, because I feel uncomfortable making small-talk with strangers.
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Capybara22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    368
    8
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
47
254
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2008

From the moment you cross the threshold at A Butler's Manor you feel at home. The service given by Chris and Kim was second to none. The breakfasts were superb and certainly set you up for the day. The room we stayed in (Oak Knoll) was spacious and homely. The cookies and chocolates were also a really nice touch. If we visit The Hamptons again, we would definitely stay at A Butler's Manor.

Paul and Susan Hindle, Lancashire, England.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
Thank nurse1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
den bosch
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2008

We are a family from the Netherlands with two teenagers and we do a lot of traveling. We've seen many places and hotels.
This summer we made a trip from NYC, to Old-Greenwich (CT), Chatham (Cape Cod; where we stayed at the Wequassett Resort), Southampton (Long Island) and at the end of the trip we stayed a few days in NYC.
In Southampton we stayed at a butler's manor, and what can I say... it was GREAT! Chris and Kim (the owners) have taken so good care of us, and did everything they could to satisfy all their guests. There are home made cookies in the room and there is turn-down service, and in the morning there is fresh coffee and tea outside your room. They brought us to the beach and picked us up again, so we didn't have to think of parking the car. (The beach is ranged as the 4th of the best beaches of the whole USA)
The house is wonderful: You'll feel at home right a way.
The breakfast is served either in the lovely garden, or in the dining-room and everything was delicious and freshly cooked. It all looked very well at the well-decorated plates: Chris walks every morning in the garden to pick some flowers or leaves to decorate the plates!
The garden is beautiful and the pool is very nice too.
We were sorry we had to leave to NYC. We stayed at the Plaza there, and of course we had a great time there, but we all loved a butler's manor the best!
If you ever plan a trip to the Hamptons: Stay at a butler's manor!!

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank flyingdutchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2008

This sweet treasure is like nothing I've ever seen. The kindness and thought that Chris and Kim put into every detail of the accomadations and their service is truly remarkable. When you speak to one of them on the phone, it's as if you have known them for years. They have a unique way of making you feel special, yet not uncomfortable. If you are new to traveling to the Hamptons like my husband and I were, then this is the place to go because they will sit down with you and help you figure out the best sights to suit your time constraints. We would definitely go back if we were to return to Long Island.

  • Liked — Chris and Kim
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank HappyCaliforniaDinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2008

We recently stayed for 3 nights at A Butler's Manor, a bed and breakfast located in Southampton, N.Y. What a beautiful place to stay! The owners, Chris and Kim, made us feel welcome from the moment we pulled into the driveway. Chris was at our car immediately and insisted on carrying our bags to our room. Kim met us right at the front door and gave us a personal tour of their gorgeous home, filled with comfortable furnishings, books, and cozy nooks to relax in. We were blown away once we went outside into the beautiful, lush backyard, overflowing gardens, and pristine swimming pool. Kim had even made us fresh iced tea that was waiting for us at the pool.
Our room was Goose Creek. It was spacious, comfortable, elegantly furnished, and the bed was like sleeping on a cloud!! Freshly baked cookies were in our room to enjoy with our iced tea. We asked for beach and restaurant recommendations, as well as ideas for fun things to do, and Kim provided us with all that we asked for, including letting us know about a secluded (free!) beach that was absolutely gorgeous and so private and unpopulated. There was even a fully packed beach bag in our room with towels, sunblock, and a book to take with us. We spent much of our time on that beach after enjoying the incredible breakfasts made by Kim, each day better than the last. The muffins and scones she bakes are worth the trip alone. Each morning, a full gourmet breakfast is served at either the dining room table or outside (weather permitting) on the patio, surrounded by those beautiful gardens. The company was also great as well, as we met some wonderful people from another state and truly enjoyed sharing conversations over our delicious breakfast.
I would return to A Butler's Manor in a heartbeat. We didn't have to lift a finger the entire time we were there. Chris and Kim were the most incredible hosts and generously provided for our every wish and whim.

  • Liked — Service, food, location
  • Disliked — I loved it all, nothing to complain about at all
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank brettbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
1 review
Reviewed 3 August 2008

We absolutely loved our stay at the butlers manor. It is a wonderful escape from the city life, the garden is amazing and both Kim and Chrs make you feel special during your stay. We have been staying at A Butlers Manor for the last few summers and even have given gift certificates to our friends and family because it is always a gift that people talk about for months. Can't wait until our next trip!

  • Liked — the pool and garden
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank rosemary00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2008

I stayed at the Butler's Manor with my 17 year old daughter and it was amazing! We both loved hearing Chris's stories about his life (and reading about them). The house is lovely and very welcoming. We had breakfast outside on the patio, with freshly squeezed orange juice and excellent tea served in a teapot. The bedrooms are very cosy and there is a very good selection of books to read. Afternoon cookies (home made of course) were delicious. Chris and Kim's knowledge of the area is outstanding and they could not have been more helpful - even driving us to the Jitney with our laden suitcases. We cant wait to return, and now we want our very own butler.

  • Liked — Friendliness
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank GrettonHalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southampton
0.8 mi away
Southampton Inn
Southampton Inn
#3 of 8 in Southampton
295 reviews
13.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Long Island East End
3.2 mi away
The Hamlet Inn
The Hamlet Inn
#2 of 8 in Southampton
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 mi away
Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa
5.6 mi away
Topping Rose House
Topping Rose House
#1 of 1 in Bridgehampton
112 reviews
1.2 mi away
Southampton Long Island Hotel
Southampton Long Island Hotel
#5 of 8 in Southampton
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Butler's Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Butler's Manor

Property: A Butler's Manor
Address: 244 N Main St, Southampton, NY 11968-3342
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Southampton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — A Butler's Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to A Butler's Manor, a Southampton, NY bed and breakfast inn. A Butler's Manor Bed and Breakfast offers lodging complemented by incredible amenities and exceptional service in five individually-designed guest rooms, all with private bathrooms, located off a wide second-floor hallway accessible by both a front and back staircase. The large, welcoming living room is handsomely decorated and features a wood-burning fireplace. The inn is situated on an acre of lushly landscaped gardens with dozens of mature trees surrounding a beautiful full-sized saltwater swimming pool. A full breakfast is served in the garden in pleasant weather; in the comfortable formal dining room in cooler months. Wireless Internet service is free and is accessible anywhere on the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your A Butler's Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Butler`s Manor Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing