We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Experience a Butler….”
Review of A Butler's Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
A Butler's Manor
Ranked #1 of 5 Southampton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
white plains
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Experience a Butler….”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Wow, where to start…..The energy changes when you step through the gate and are welcomed by Chris and Kim. Chris is a professional Butler with a long resumè of fascinating and formal training and work experiences and he brings it all to you! He is there for your every need, there was not ONE time that I 'wished' for something that he did not suggest or provide and he is not at all under your feet or hovering around. He is there when you need him and truthfully, I LOVED it. I admit I love 5 STAR and the service is at least that! His wife Kim is amazing too, so helpful and knowledgeable and is one of the best chefs I have experienced! We used to go more often but had a child 4 years ago and don't get to travel without children too often. It is part of the peace and tranquility that the Butler's Manor policy is 12 years and older…..

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arlenepastor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    361
    8
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
47
248
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Can't say enough about our stay this past weekend. Kim and Chris felt like family members by the time we left! The level of attention to every detail imaginable was something I have experienced only a handful of times in all my travels. I cannot imagine a better place for a Hamptons getaway.

oh and the best kept secret? after Kim's home-made scones, it would have to be the pool. sometimes you just don't want to deal with sand -- and the pool in their beautifully landscaped English garden/backyard is pure bliss.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

One of the most wonderful places I have visited in my life. A warm-hearted welcome by Chris & Kim in the beautiful living room with an attention to detail I have hardly seen started the amazing stay. We chose the Oak Knoll room which is on the first floor (like the other rooms), beautifully decorated, a comfy queen size bed - a carafe with Sherry on the table and hand-picked flowers on the desk.

Breakfasts with the other guests was entertaining, i.e. the banana-stuffed french toast were a delicious start into the day. Chris even brings you to Cooper's Beach and picks you up again - of course not without your personal beach bag and beach chairs, which they always have in their car.

On top, both of them have great knowledge of the surroundings, so do ask them for recommendations ( we loved Harlow's and The American Hotel in Sag Harbor).

In our opinion - many 5-star-hotels (if not nearly all) should take a look at this place and experience the true, warm-hearted hospitality which you will find in this little peaceful haven.

Room Tip: Check the rooms on the website, they differ in style, but I guess they're all beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UliPhuket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mt. Cook Village, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Simply the best B&B experience period! Not a single thing is missing here esthetically. Linen napkins, crystal stemware and a fambulous English garden are just some of the things that conspire to take you away to a time where grace and ellegance once defined holiday. All of this takes second place to the atmosphere of consideration set by the hosts of this very special place. You are never made to feel it is about them, and you always sence their caring.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Daniel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The house is deep and inviting but really it's all about Chris and Kim who are the most adorable hosts ever! Having read the reviews online, I was confident of a lovely stay - but their ability to remember every throw away comment and convert it into a thoughtful addition to enhance your stay is remarkable. The garden is mature and lush, the pool an Alan Hollinghurst dreamboat and the bed enduced only the deepest happiest of sleeps.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GertyElephant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marblehead, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We had the most enjoyable stay at A Butler's Manor. Our hosts, Chris & Kim, were charming and they provided services above and beyond. Every detail was taken care of for us! The breakfasts were delicious and served in their beautiful garden. I highly recommend this B & B. We have already booked our next trip there!

Room Tip: The rooms can be viewed on line.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowie, Maryland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

My husband and I stayed at A Butler's Manor for approximately a week while I participated in a summer writing program. The B and B got each morning off to a great start for me by serving a beautiful and tasty breakfast in its serene garden. It also served as the perfect retreat in the evenings after I had a long day of workshops, readings, and lectures. We stayed in Oak Knoll - a slightly more affordable, medium-sized room with a wrought iron queen bed, wooden beams, and a vaulted ceiling. Though the bathroom is small, it is tastefully updated with a vessel sink and mosaic tiles, and the shower has great water pressure.

My husband and I enjoyed the following:
- Wonderful and witty innkeepers (Kim and Chris are excellent business and life partners.)
- Delicious breakfasts (fresh fruit, warm muffins, sticky buns, turkey bacon, scrambled eggs and bruschetta, quiche, French toast)
- Beautiful flower arrangements in the guest rooms and on breakfast china
- Availability of tea, coffee, sherry, and cookies

The following are minor areas of improvement:
- Street noise (However, ear plugs are provided.)
- Room's DVD player was difficult to work (But there are plenty of cable channels to watch as an alternative on a rainy day.)
- Community bath products (Though there weren't individual lotions and shower gels, great Bath and Body Works products were provided.)

Room Tip: Oak Knoll is a lovely, medium-sized room with exposed beams and a vaulted ceiling. Though the bathro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TT777_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southampton
0.8 mi away
Southampton Inn
Southampton Inn
#3 of 8 in Southampton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Hamlet Inn
The Hamlet Inn
#2 of 8 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
13.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Long Island East End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 mi away
Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa
5.6 mi away
Topping Rose House
Topping Rose House
#1 of 1 in Bridgehampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
8.6 mi away
Baron's Cove
Baron's Cove
#1 of 5 in Sag Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Butler's Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Butler's Manor

Property: A Butler's Manor
Address: 244 N Main St, Southampton, NY 11968-3342
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Southampton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — A Butler's Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to A Butler's Manor, a Southampton, NY bed and breakfast inn. A Butler's Manor Bed and Breakfast offers lodging complemented by incredible amenities and exceptional service in five individually-designed guest rooms, all with private bathrooms, located off a wide second-floor hallway accessible by both a front and back staircase. The large, welcoming living room is handsomely decorated and features a wood-burning fireplace. The inn is situated on an acre of lushly landscaped gardens with dozens of mature trees surrounding a beautiful full-sized saltwater swimming pool. A full breakfast is served in the garden in pleasant weather; in the comfortable formal dining room in cooler months. Wireless Internet service is free and is accessible anywhere on the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your A Butler's Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Butler`s Manor Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing