We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B & B ever! You can not ask for more.”
Review of A Butler's Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
A Butler's Manor
Ranked #1 of 6 Southampton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 May 2009

I can't say enough positive things to explain how much we loved our stay at A Butler's Manor. The Inn was beautiful the breakfast was amazing and the Innkeepers are wonderful people who you feel like you have known for years after just meeting them. I can't wait to stay there again. It is everything a B&B should be and more!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank _Nevele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (388)
There are newer reviews for A Butler's Manor
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

325 - 331 of 388 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2009

run by Chris (a real english butler) and Kim (his wife) the stay my wife and I had was perfect! They pay attention to every detail and are right on top of their game!
a little pricey , however , if you are looking to do it right-this is the place!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tiger0526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2009

A lovely place in Southampton, near East Hampton and Sag Harbor. A short and scenic ferry ride from nearby Sag Harbor to the wine region of the North Fork. Chris and Kim Allen are exceptionally friendly and gifted hosts. After our daily excursions we enjoyed relaxing, reading, and sipping wine in the very comfortable common area beside the fireplace. If you like gardens you will love this place. Exceptional restaurants for gourmet dining abound in the area and Chris and Kim know all of them. We will definitely stay there again on our next trip to the Hamptons.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2009

We are well-traveled and stay in many beautiful inns and B&B's throughout the US and Europe. This is the standard to which we compare all other B&B's. Our son lived in the Hampton's for many years with his friends. This is the place we would stay when we visited him. In fact, we often planned our trips around their availability. When I tell this story, Kim and Chris will know who wrote this review as it became well known in the area. The first time we were going out to see our son, we weren't sure where to stay and made reservations at The Butler's Manor. Our son was out and about town, and knowing how picky I am, asked several townspeople, telling them "my mom's a little clean crazy, she even vacuums all our mattresses". The answer he got astounded him -"She'll be fine, so does Kim". I felt great. After I met Kim & Chris, I knew we made the right decision. Their exuberance is infectious. They truly love what they do and it is reflected in everything they do. You feel like royalty when you stay here. If you can get reservations here, lucky you!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank panter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2009

This place was SUCH a pleasant surprise. We've stayed at a lot of B&Bs and never had such a wonderful time. Chris and Kim are amazing hosts, their house is an absolute gem, and I can't wait to return when the weather turns warm to see what becomes or their gardens (they were bursting with promise during our early-spring stay). This was only our second visit, yet when we walked through the door it felt like a homecoming.

I thought the whole "butler" thing was going to be some sort of gimmick, but instead it's what makes this stay so special. Their attention to detail, and their commitment to service, make this an amazing experience. We will never stay anywhere else in the Hamptons after this.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spinnaker92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2009

Kim and Chris provide a level of service that rivals any five star hotel. In fact, I'm sure the competition is very glad that Kim and Chris only run one B&B! From the food, to the hospitality, and the attention to detail nothing is over-looked here. This B&B is all about catering to their guests and maximizing their experience.

After arriving from a long exhausting drive Chris could sense we needed a drink and was quick to offer us a complementary glass of wine. I don't remember the last time any one still offered this, but from that moment my wife and I knew we were in for a real treat. The following morning Chris and Kim had prepared a complimentary pre-planned itinerary with a map and everything we could possibly need to explore the area! We took their advice and it was spot-on. What a great time saver! It's unfortunate we only had two nights to enjoy the Butler's Manor, and I'm certain the property is even more stunning in the summer time.

Chris brings his wealth of knowledge from his career in the service industry and Kim only complements it with a warm smile and nurturing heart.

If we ever return to the Hamptons, this one's a no-brainer. One of the best B&B experiences we've ever had.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank novatravelreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2009

We knew we were in for a good stay when Chris came jogging outside to meet our arrival at A Butler's Manor on a blustery January afternoon. He graciously welcomed us and asked to carry our bags inside. Once inside, a wonderfully energetic Kim immediately met us at the door and whisked us away on a tour of the house while Chris carried our bags up to our room. The smell of a delicious stew (not for us) filled the air, and the fireplace was ablaze with a recently lit fire.

The house is truly beautiful without being overdone and "stuffy". On the wide open first floor , the old-world feeling of the brick floor contrasts elegantly with the completely redone and modernized interior. Chris lovingly oversaw the home's renovation several year's ago and made brilliant choices to ensure that the "old" and "new" blend nicely.

Our room, Oak Knoll, was similarly nicely decorated and large enough for a two night stay, but would best be described as smallish. The Oak Knoll bathroom was very tiny (the website creatively refers to it as "jewel box") -- but, every nook and cranny is efficiently used. The shower (no tub) is a fine size. And, to say this place is clean would be an understatement. The white tiled shower was literally spotless and smelled clean and thoroughly disinfected. We are very picky travelers (usually with Clorox wipes in our suitcase ready to wipe surfaces) -- and, this place was almost spotless (due to everything else being so clean, we couldn't help notice that the toothbrush holder needed a good scrub -- but, that's the ONLY thing I could find wrong). The bed was firm and comfortable.

To be fair - the worse part of the room is the relatively thin walls. We could here the murmur of voices and televisions on either side of the room (Oak Knoll is the only room bordered on two sides). However, on the first night, our neighbors were sleeping by the time we shut off our TV -- and the second night we were alone at the inn, so this was not a problem.

We confess to have peeked in the other four rooms. In our opinion, Oak Knoll and Ville Franche are the nicest. The latter has a beautiful bathroom and mini-suite feel to it. Goose Creek and Laguna Beach were nice, but the most simply decorated. Eaton Court, while large with a nice bathroom, was not really our style. Every room is elegant, updated, clean and worthy of an "excellent" rating.

The Allens have thought of everything to make a stay at the B&B comfortable: Filtered water at the bedside; wireless internet throughout the house (included, and it worked effortlessly on our laptop); an always available internet connected computer on the first floor; a beautiful fireplace surrounded by a cozy seating area (it felt like Chris lit it for us personally each time we arrived back to the B&B); coffee, cocoa and tea (about 12 varities) right outside the room available anytime with all the necessities (honey, sugar cubes, milk, etc.); the New York Times (spread out carefully so you can select a section or two at a time); CDs and players in all the rooms; flat screen TV with DVD player; and every bathroom amentity you could need. We ended up in a discussion wherein we learned they are even particular about the comfort of the personal tissue (toilet paper) they supply in the rooms!

We had two very delicious and memorable breakfasts. One morning featured fresh baked scones and an egg strata (sort of like quiche). The second morning was a stuffed french toast that was perfect, complemented with a zucchini-carrot muffin with cream cheese frosting (I think). Kim boasted that she uses a particular fresh cranberry bread for the french toast. Let me just say that this is the first time I've not poured maple syrup on my french toast because it tasted so good "straight up". Fresh OJ, hot delicious coffee (they asked the previous evening whether we would likely want decaf or regular to be certain it was hot and ready at 9:30) and specially made ice tea rounded out the meals. Chris and Kim anticipate every need at the meal and almost compete with one another to make sure every guest has everything they want at every moment. Somehow, at the same time, they also are wonderful conversationalists.

At the end of our stay, Chris cheerfully honored our request for a tour of the gardens. This is a man who takes tremendous pride in his manor -- inside and out. Even in the middle of winter, we could tell that this garden would be simply spectacular in the spring and summer. Moreover, there is a large pool (no doubt lovingly maintained as well) available starting in May.

What makes this place most special is the care taken of its guests by its owners. Chris and Kim seemed to truly love serving their guests. Kim probably spent nearly an hour with us discussing restaurants and attractions in the area, while insisting to provide us with maps highlighted by her in yellow marker with notations. It felt like we were special family to the Allens the moment we entered the Manor.

They are proud to be the #1 B&B on this site - and work hard to ensure they will stay there. They certainly deserve to!

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Father-of-Dragons71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southampton
13.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Long Island East End
0.8 mi away
Southampton Inn
Southampton Inn
#3 of 8 in Southampton
303 reviews
8.6 mi away
Baron's Cove
Baron's Cove
#1 of 5 in Sag Harbor
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Hamlet Inn
The Hamlet Inn
#2 of 8 in Southampton
69 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Drake Inn
The Drake Inn
#1 of 12 in Hampton Bays
176 reviews
11.0 mi away
The Hedges Inn
The Hedges Inn
#1 of 11 in East Hampton
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Butler's Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Butler's Manor

Address: 244 N Main St, Southampton, NY 11968-3342
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Southampton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Southampton
Price Range: £215 - £378 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — A Butler's Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to A Butler's Manor, a Southampton, NY bed and breakfast inn. A Butler's Manor Bed and Breakfast offers lodging complemented by incredible amenities and exceptional service in five individually-designed guest rooms, all with private bathrooms, located off a wide second-floor hallway accessible by both a front and back staircase. The large, welcoming living room is handsomely decorated and features a wood-burning fireplace. The inn is situated on nearly an acre of lushly landscaped gardens with dozens of mature trees surrounding a beautiful full-sized saltwater swimming pool. A full breakfast is served in the garden in pleasant weather; in the comfortable formal dining room in cooler months. Wireless Internet service and parking are free and is accessible anywhere on the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your A Butler's Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Butler`s Manor Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing