We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You arrive strangers and leave friends” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of A Butler's Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
A Butler's Manor
Ranked #1 of 6 Southampton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
PA
1 review
“You arrive strangers and leave friends”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2009

We recently spent five nights at "A Butler's Manor" arriving on a Sunday and leaving on a Friday morning. (Prices per night are less on those days) There are five rooms at the Manor... none alike....all on the second floor. ...all pleasant. ...a variety of good beds. Everyone respected the privacy of the other guests....that's so important at a B&B. Coffee and tea was prepared and placed outside our rooms very early in the a.m. For early risers, it was a wonderful touch. Over the course of our stay, we met people from England, Brooklyn, Germany and Italy while eating our breakfasts in the morning. Breakfast was served around 9:30 am and so good that the wait was definitely worth it. Also, the people that were at breakfast with us were so fascinating that we were anxious to exchange thoughts and experiences. Weather permitting, breakfast is served outside in Chris's "second to none" garden. Charming.
This was our first trip to the Hamptons. Owners Kim and Chris helped us achieve our plans for the day. Without their help,maps,directions,suggestions for places to eat, etc. it just simply wouldn't have been as much fun. We also would have simply drove around in a maze of privet hedges.
Look, I researched the places to stay ad nauseum prior to coming to Southampton. There is no place like " A Butler's Manor". A good night's sleep is not worth $500 to $700 (and up?) which is what other places are charging. The Hamptons is a beautiful place to visit. Don't miss it. You do not need to spend your children's inheritance to stay there.
Prior to leaving, we purchased the cookbook that Kim wrote and the book that Chris wrote. We are enjoying both. Ask for copies...excellent.
Suggestion: It would be very nice if there was access to a basket of apples (or whatever) for a snack late at night. Just a thought.....
We are anxious to return to "A Butler's Manor". We think of Chris and Kim as friends now....hope they feel the same way.
Please email me if you have any questions: dmwolf1@comcast.net

DMW from Pennsylvania

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dmwolf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    349
    8
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
46
239
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boxford, MA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2009

I'm in the area twice a year for business. This was my first stay here, but Chris and Kim made it so memorable that this is now my first choice for my next visit to the area.

We were welcomed in a genuine, warm way, and Kim even offered to help carry things in. We got to see our rooms (wonderful!), and were shown around. Her breakfasts were amazing, and Chris' gracious manner was a treat, every day.

The only drawback we experienced was had nothing to do with the Inn, and that was simply the morning traffic between Southampton and Bridgehampton.

This was easily the most pleasant stay I've had in the area.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donalds_Screenname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2009

What a fantastic find!My husband and I stayed for 6 nights,it was the first time we had been to the Hamptons,we came over from the UK,and Chris & his lovely wife Kim made our stay truely memorable!We had a wonderful room with a four poster bed! and I couldn't fault anything!Their attention to detail,genuine warmth ,wonderful food was so refeshing!!We were pampered,and spoilt and you felt as if you had known them for years!!We were so thrilled to have found this gem , please don't miss the experience!.We will definitely be going back,!They have a fabulous garden with a swimming pool and we both totally chilled out.Kim &Chris are two very special people,and you would be hard pressed to find anywhere that gives you this level of personal service,very rare these days!! 'I'd give them more than 10 out of 10!!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan0102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2009

I can't say enough positive things to explain how much we loved our stay at A Butler's Manor. The Inn was beautiful the breakfast was amazing and the Innkeepers are wonderful people who you feel like you have known for years after just meeting them. I can't wait to stay there again. It is everything a B&B should be and more!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank _Nevele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2009

run by Chris (a real english butler) and Kim (his wife) the stay my wife and I had was perfect! They pay attention to every detail and are right on top of their game!
a little pricey , however , if you are looking to do it right-this is the place!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tiger0526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
223 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2009

A lovely place in Southampton, near East Hampton and Sag Harbor. A short and scenic ferry ride from nearby Sag Harbor to the wine region of the North Fork. Chris and Kim Allen are exceptionally friendly and gifted hosts. After our daily excursions we enjoyed relaxing, reading, and sipping wine in the very comfortable common area beside the fireplace. If you like gardens you will love this place. Exceptional restaurants for gourmet dining abound in the area and Chris and Kim know all of them. We will definitely stay there again on our next trip to the Hamptons.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
124 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2009

We are well-traveled and stay in many beautiful inns and B&B's throughout the US and Europe. This is the standard to which we compare all other B&B's. Our son lived in the Hampton's for many years with his friends. This is the place we would stay when we visited him. In fact, we often planned our trips around their availability. When I tell this story, Kim and Chris will know who wrote this review as it became well known in the area. The first time we were going out to see our son, we weren't sure where to stay and made reservations at The Butler's Manor. Our son was out and about town, and knowing how picky I am, asked several townspeople, telling them "my mom's a little clean crazy, she even vacuums all our mattresses". The answer he got astounded him -"She'll be fine, so does Kim". I felt great. After I met Kim & Chris, I knew we made the right decision. Their exuberance is infectious. They truly love what they do and it is reflected in everything they do. You feel like royalty when you stay here. If you can get reservations here, lucky you!

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank panter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southampton
0.8 mi away
Southampton Inn
Southampton Inn
#2 of 8 in Southampton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
22.4 mi away
Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa
3.2 mi away
The Hamlet Inn
The Hamlet Inn
#3 of 8 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Topping Rose House
Topping Rose House
#1 of 1 in Bridgehampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
13.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Long Island East End
1.2 mi away
Southampton Long Island Hotel
Southampton Long Island Hotel
#5 of 8 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Butler's Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Butler's Manor

Property: A Butler's Manor
Address: 244 N Main St, Southampton, NY 11968-3342
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Southampton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — A Butler's Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to A Butler's Manor, a Southampton, NY bed and breakfast inn. A Butler's Manor Bed and Breakfast offers lodging complemented by incredible amenities and exceptional service in five individually-designed guest rooms, all with private bathrooms, located off a wide second-floor hallway accessible by both a front and back staircase. The large, welcoming living room is handsomely decorated and features a wood-burning fireplace. The inn is situated on an acre of lushly landscaped gardens with dozens of mature trees surrounding a beautiful full-sized saltwater swimming pool. A full breakfast is served in the garden in pleasant weather; in the comfortable formal dining room in cooler months. Wireless Internet service is free and is accessible anywhere on the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your A Butler's Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Butler`s Manor Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing