We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem!”
Review of A Butler's Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
A Butler's Manor
Ranked #1 of 6 Southampton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 September 2009

While never having written a review before, I am compelled to write about A Butler's Manor. Tucked away in a quaint residential area, you enter feeling welcomed and you leave feeling pampered and as if you've made two wonderful new friends.

Chris and Kim's dedication to hospitality is unmatched and we will recommend this lovely spot to our friends and plan to visit whenever possible. Long Island is a treasure and we found the perfect spot on the island for our anniversary and a brief rest!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glfangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (394)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

319 - 325 of 394 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2009

My husband and I just returned from a weekend getaway at A Butler's Manor and it was the most delightful trip! Kim and Chris are the most gracious hosts and made us feel welcome from the first moment!

The house is incredibly well-kept, quiet, and very comfortable. We actually spent a lot of the weekend sleeping and resting, because we were so relaxed. To be honest, we did not expect breakfast to be a communal event with all the guests eating together- but like attracts like, and the other guests were as pleasant and as nice as Kim & Chris. In fact, most of them were repeat customers, and I can understand why. I also now see why they have so many rave reviews here!

Favorite moments include spending a quiet morning reading out by the lovely pool, and getting a delicious homemade ice cream from a place they recommended.

I would highly recommend coming to A Butler's Manor! Thank you Kim & Chris!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank presbyny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2009

What a wonderful surprise in Southampton! Highlights include the delicious breakfast served in the English garden, the charming/accommodating hosts, lovely rooms, secluded pool & gardens, excellent location and attention to details. We are already looking forward to our next visit! This B&B is "2 Thumbs up" all around!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roadrunnerDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2009

At the end of july I stayed for 3 nights with my family in this lovely place. Kim and Chris, the owners of this charming house are really wonderful . They take so good care of all guests and they make you feel at home in every moment. Bedrooms are very nice , gourmet breakfast delicious and plates are decorated with fresh flowers. The gardens are beautiful and also the very clean pool. We definitely recommend this lovely place in Southampton for a special stay!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank queensemiramide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2009

There's no place like home, and that is just what you feel like when you stay at, "A Butler's Manor". If you read through the other posted reviews, which I have done, you almost feel as though it's not possible for a B & B to provide that kind of service. After our visit, I can tell you the reviews are entirely accurate. The greeting at the car, the personalized service, the fantastic conversation, the incredible amenities....we could go on and on....all make this a once in a lifetime experience. At the heart of it all are Kim and Chris. Our visit to the Hamptons was so enhanced by their help. Backroad maps, restaurant suggestions, searching for celebrities, they were a wealth of information and help. The two of them take your visit to a level I have never experienced before in all my years of travelling. Not only will we be back, but we'll bring friends, so they know we're not just making this up!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYshopaholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GBButler, Owners at A Butler's Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2009

Thank You!! to all of our guests who have taken the time to offer their thoughts on our service standards here at A Butler's Manor B&B. We have been truly overwhelmed by the compliments we have received and hope that we can continue to provide this standard of service and value for money to future guests. We take all reviews, positive or not, very seriously and wanted to let everyone know that we have implemented some of the great suggestions. We have replaced the older carpets in our guest rooms, installed new 26" flat screen TVs with DVD players and sound proofed the walls of three of our bedrooms. We continue to strive to provide excellence in the hospitality industry and encourage all our former guests to post their reviews. Our heart felt thanks to you all. Because of you, we continue to love what we do. THANK YOU! Please stay in touch with us by visiting our blog. You'll find the link on our website.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2009

...well then it's a no brainer to stay at a B&B where the innkeeper was a former butler! From the moment you pull up where they greet you at your car, know your name and take your bags in for you, until they send you off with hugs and kisses when you leave, this place hits a grand slam in EVERY category. It's all about attention to detail and very personalized service. The rooms were pristine and thoroughly clean...the breakfasts were delicious, and served outdoors in a lush flower filled garden, while birds chirped around you. The pool was immaculate and super inviting (and one of the nicer ones I've seen at a B&B.) You don't have to think much...because they've already thought it out FOR YOU...If you forgot a toiletry or glamor item...they will supply it. Each morning, they have a linen beach bag ready for you with towels and sun block ready for you to take to the nearby beaches. They've also packed beach chairs and umbrellas for you to take as well. Need a ride? No worries...the innkeeper will PERSONALLY DRIVE YOU to the beach in their car....and when you're ready to come back...just ring their cell phone and they will come to pick you up. Door to door service...and no expensive beach parking fees!

By the time your stay is done, you will honestly and truly feel like you've been at your aunt and uncle's house the whole time. Trust me, you'll want to come back. As a matter of fact you will HAVE TO, because they've already become your best friends.

Yes, it's a little on the expensive side, but newsflash: you're in Southampton. And there's no place that's going to even TOUCH this inn as far as what you are getting for your money. It's worth the splurge.

I'm an avid reader of Tripadvisor, but I've never reviewed ANYTHING on here, despite traveling quite a bit. But I feel so strongly about what a diamond in the rough this B&B is, that I felt compelled to write about it.

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SkeeryJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2009

This was our second stay at A Butler's Manor and most definitely it will not be our last. That is as long as Chris and Kim are there for it is the two of them that make A Butler's Manor the wonderful place that it is. On our first visit last year Chris came out to greet us when we drove up, newcomers to his home. This year as we pulled up Chris once again came out to greet us, this time as friends returning to his home. It is a special feeling that you get returning for a repeat visit. We were very happy to be there and they were happy to have us. Kim greeted us with a big hug and smile and she is actually the one that put the thought into my head when she said she is always happy to see her friends return. We do feel like friends and we miss them both already! Chris' directions and dinner suggestions were always spot on. He asked what we were in the mood for and gave us amazing choices every night. He even offered some insider tips of what to avoid, where to go and when. He looked out for us and we appreciate that. We began every morning with coffee at 7am ready and waiting for us right outside our door. Breakfast at 9am was a feast for the eyes as much as it was a feast for the stomach. The preparation is wonderful, the garden is gorgeous. Once served, my favorite part... besides eating obviously, was the time Chris and Kim (with coffee mug in hand!) would spend talking to us about our previous day/night, plans for the upcoming day, and any other topic or question someone brought up. A big thumbs up for Chris' book as well! Our room this time (Villefranche) was amazing. Very tastefully decorated and extremely clean. Oh yes, and for those not familiar with the area... The Southamptons are beautiful as well! The weather cooperated and we spent every day on the beach. It was the perfect get away vacation... beautiful place with my beautiful girl by my side!

If the Southamptons are your destination, A Butler's Manor is the place to stay. Visit there once as newcomers and return there forever as friends. Chris and Kim...they are second to NONE!

Chris and Kim... thank you for everything! We miss you both!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MisterD2728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southampton
0.8 mi away
Southampton Inn
Southampton Inn
#3 of 8 in Southampton
308 reviews
13.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Long Island East End
3.2 mi away
The Hamlet Inn
The Hamlet Inn
#2 of 8 in Southampton
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Southampton Long Island Hotel
Southampton Long Island Hotel
#5 of 8 in Southampton
95 reviews
22.4 mi away
Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa
11.9 mi away
Mill House Inn
Mill House Inn
#1 of 11 in East Hampton
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Butler's Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Butler's Manor

Address: 244 N Main St, Southampton, NY 11968-3342
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Southampton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Southampton
Price Range: £238 - £301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — A Butler's Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to A Butler's Manor, a Southampton, NY bed and breakfast inn. A Butler's Manor Bed and Breakfast offers lodging complemented by incredible amenities and exceptional service in five individually-designed guest rooms, all with private bathrooms, located off a wide second-floor hallway accessible by both a front and back staircase. The large, welcoming living room is handsomely decorated and features a wood-burning fireplace. The inn is situated on nearly an acre of lushly landscaped gardens with dozens of mature trees surrounding a beautiful full-sized saltwater swimming pool. A full breakfast is served in the garden in pleasant weather; in the comfortable formal dining room in cooler months. Wireless Internet service and parking are free and is accessible anywhere on the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Priceline so you can book your A Butler's Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Butler`s Manor Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing