We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very disappointed”
Review of Red Bar

Red Bar
Ranked #18 of 79 Restaurants in Southampton
Price range: US$40 - US$70
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Inspired 18 years ago by the renowned restaurant team of Kirk Basnight and David Loewenberg, Red|Bar is unequivocally the quintessentially comfortable gathering place for both Southampton locals and those who cherish fine dining. The food mastered by chef Erik Nodeland is an inspired balance between French influence and local bounty. From Peconic oysters harvested locally daily, a perfect filet mignon, foie gras made in-house, to our signature favorite, the truffled chicken with mushroom risotto, his menu never ceases to amaze.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
151 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
Reviewed 14 October 2012

We went with high expectations because friends of ours love this place, but our hopes were dashed quickly. It is truly nothing special. Three of the four artisinal cheeses were bland, the crostini were hard enough to break a tooth -- this appetizer was only saved by the truffled honey. We ordered pork shank (which was very good) and swordfish, which was so bad it had to go back. I never, ever send food back, but it tasted like it had been frozen and badly thawed and badly cooked. So, I ordered the truffled chicken as a replacement and it was just ordinary. To make up for it all, we thought we'd order a great dessert, so we picked Baked Alaska. ordinary, ordinary, ordinary. Even the drinks were average. When you pay $150 for two, do you expect something a little better than ordinary? I do.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank marabel100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    15
    8
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pelham, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
608 reviews
341 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 319 helpful votes
“Sunday - Thursday Fixed Price is a very good deal”
Reviewed 5 October 2012

$29 for an appetizer and entree. $34 for an appetizer, entree and dessert!

Your choices are:

Appetizer: House Salad, Soup of the Day, or Gnocchi

The salad was large, crisp, fresh and perfectly dressed with a hint of ginger in the vinagrette.

Entrees: Fish of the Day, Pasta or a beef dish

The fish of the day was a nice portion of tilefish beautifully presented and tasty. The Pasta Bolognese was fresh and tasty.

We didn't have dessert.

The service from Marcello and Bennie was outstanding.


This was one of the best meals and deals that we've had over 4 restaurants in Southampton and we'll definitely visit again the next time we're in Southampton.

Oh! Red Bar is an easy walk (about 7 minutes) from the 1708 House which is a great Bed & Breakfast!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fudgbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
161 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Delicious meal and quality service”
Reviewed 3 October 2012

The food is so delicious and the staff is very friendly and attentive. It is a very nice choice for a night out in Southampton with a lovely dining room with candles and low lighting. The only problem is that because the food is so good it is often crowded. If you can go on a Sunday or week night rather than on the weekend you will find it quieter. On weekends you will likely need a reservation and it might be louder. The pri fixe option was great value for the high quality of the food.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CLNYC85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quogue, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Love every thing about this restaurant”
Reviewed 26 September 2012

The food is amazing, the atmosphere very sexy and service is attractive as well as professional. It's a little loud, so not good for the hard of hearing...

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank garden4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
73 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great food in SoHampton”
Reviewed 1 September 2012 via mobile

Excellent food and service in SouthHampton. Fine dining in a casual atmosphere. And a very good wine list. The staff is very attentive and friendly. If your looking for a great night out in the Hamptons, make a reservation at Red Bar.

Helpful?
Thank dspilatro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Red Bar also viewed

Southampton, Hamptons
Southampton, Hamptons
 
Southampton, Hamptons
Southampton, Hamptons
 

Been to Red Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing