We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere, great food!”
Review of Southampton Publick House - MOVED

Southampton Publick House
Price range: US$0 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, great food!”
Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

Came in for dinner on Tuesday night and there were four people waiting in front of us to be seated. A gentleman behind the bar noticed several people, including us waiting to be seated so he went in the back to get someone up front. One person came out and helped the party before us then one lady came to help us. Very rudely she said "2?!" And we asked if we could have a booth and the lady responds with "what do you mean?! We are really busy tonight. You can sit near the bar if you want a booth." So we told her whatever they had in the dining room was fine. And as she went to seat us she put the menus down and kept walking. She didn't even turn around to see if it was ok or tell us this is where we'd be sitting. Very rude hostess!! We've been here several times and never encountered someone like this. Other then that our waitress, Diana was great and the food was wonderful!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ijes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    69
    33
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Disappointing!”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

An old English pub atmosphere that felt cozy and welcoming. The Halloween decorations inside and out were great. Prior to our arrival we were unaware of the two for one entrée offering. There was a separate menu as well as select items from the main menu. My husband got the duck which he liked but the mashed potatoes were so-so (more like cafeteria style). I specifically asked the waitress about the two steak offerings. She didn't know and checked with the kitchen. She informed me that one was a flatiron steak and the other was a rib eye. I chose the latter and in no possible way was it a rib eye steak! It was thin, had no bone, and not at all tender. I ordered medium rare and it was medium to medium well. I know my steaks but either the waitress wrote down the wrong item or the chef doesn't know the difference. Very disappointing!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank HKC1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Lunch Spot”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

I had lunch at Publick House in early October 2013.The menu was varied and offered something for just about anyone's taste.The service was prompt and pleasant while the soup and sandwich were very good. The atmosphere was pleasant although rather dark and reminiscent of a old English pub. The establishment was a pleasant break from the run-of-the mill lunch alternatives and I would not hesitate to return on my next visit to the Southampton area.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 561sunshine2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stockbrdge GA
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Brew”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Took our mom out for her 81st bday. We all enjoyed comfortable surroundings, friendly service and very good food. The seasonal beer brewed in the microbrewery was exceptionally good and we would definitely go back and sample others they come out with. The menu had a nice selection and daily specials were offered.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danville, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great Beer, Good Food”
Reviewed 17 October 2013 via mobile

I always have great beer and food here. The atmosphere is very nice and the bar gives some appetizers, if you sit there long enough.

Helpful?
Thank ILiveOutofaSuitcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Southampton Publick House also viewed

Southampton, Hamptons
Southampton, Hamptons
 
Southampton, Hamptons
Southampton, Hamptons
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing