We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed bugs here.....don't go!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Southampton Long Island Hotel
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Southampton
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Bed bugs here.....don't go!”
Reviewed 4 October 2010

I found and killed beg bugs during my stay. After leaving, found the bites (about 60 to 70) all over my body. Had to go through all my luggage and clothes and found bugs in my vehicle. Serious inconvenience, not to mention the cost of the doctor as I was allergic to the bites. Stay far away from this place.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank nojoking_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loco1561, Manager at Southampton Long Island Hotel, responded to this review, 4 January 2011
This is not true, we have no knowledge of this incident nor have we had bed bugs at that location
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    30
    11
    12
    8
See reviews for
25
29
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jupiter, Fla
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2010

I got this room for $99. In the Hamptons that should be a great deal.
But it was so bad that even at this price I'd never stay there again.
From the smoke alarm hanging from the ceiling to the noisy old yellow refrigerator, to the not working wireless, the inexperienced desk clerk who needed to make several calls to find out how to check us in, the thermostat what was located in another room and controlled 3 rooms so that we couldnt adjust it for our room, the cobwebs on the ceiling, the ancient old tv, the green office chair and other unrelated but ugly furniture in the room, etc.
There was a nice lawn

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JupiterJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Southampton hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
brussels
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2010

just right if you're looking for a good deal in the hamptons. If you don't have a car well... forget the expensive cabs, but ride a bike instead. 15 min to main street of southampton, 25 min to the closest beach. we had a good stay, but prepare your trip since the staff wo'nt be much helpful. also, keep in mind that the pool is only open during summer. for the rest, everything was fine. the rooms were cosy.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misslpc55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen County, NJ
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2010

The room was extremely small. There were no mirrors , a leaky refrigerator under the rack for hanging clothes. The bed was comfortable but the duvet cover was stained. There was a small air conditioning unit in a window that worked well but was very noisy. The pool a few feet away was situated on a lovely lawn but it looked abandoned and was closed. We were up early one morning to see a doe and two fawns walking toward the woods behind the hotel which was nice .The place reminded me of a motel from the sixties - soda machines included. I know this is the Hamptons but come on... my bad for not arranging a place to stay sooner than I did because this is what we ended up with. Also, I was told by a past professor at Southampton college that this used to be the dorms. Then it all made sense... even the price! What a rip off.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelchick1056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2010

For $99 on a Thursday night in July, it was a bargain to be in Southhampton, albeit, you had a nice ride to Montauk, but we made it another 'trip" - Room was near pool (that needed some renovation, but if you wanted to get cool, it was outside your room), very clean with wood floors (no nasty carpet) clean updated bathroom and a nice size flat screen tv on the wall - we only slept there (did not stay on premises during the day) because we were out all day through the early morning. So, if you are on a budget and want to go to the Hamptons, pack your cooler and stay here (The Southhampton Enclave).

Stayed July 2010
Helpful?
Thank KatrinaNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cresskill, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2010

Despite the sketchy reviews, we decided to give the Enclave Inn a shot. It was our first visit to Southampton, and we chose this place because the price was reasonable (for Southampton, anyway!) . The room's main area was very large and roomy, but the separate bedroom was so close to the road that it was very difficult to dose off at night.
Honestly, I don't think the constant traffic let up until the wee hours of the morning. And it started again at the crack of dawn! I finally had to sleep with a pillow over my head!! I think that if the management/owner invested some time and money and removed the large window that faced the road, that the noise factor wouldn't be such an issue. On the positive note, the staff was very helpful and more than accommodating during our short stay.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Minivacatime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mirfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2010

My wife and I stayed here as part of a large trip around the East coast area of USA and stayed in 5 different hotels/motels, including our final night in the Waldorf Towers, New York. Having read the bad previous reports I was pleasantly surprised when we arrived.

This is not the Four Seasons, but it dosn't claim to be. It cost the two of us $99 dollars a night, for a small motel type room, decorated in the New England style, which was very clean, had a flat screen TV, microwave, fridge,safe and bathroom with good towels. The grounds and swimming pool were well maintained, and although it was near a busy highway, because of how it was designed, was pleasant to sit outside. There was fresh coffee in the morning in the lobby and the staff were always helpful, especially the manager.

The Hamptons can be a very expensive area and when you consider that we paid $30 for a small breakfast in East Hampton, this motel represents good value.

It is well situated, about 5 minutes drive to the centre of Southampton and several of the usual chain eateries are within 3 minutes.

My advice is give it a try.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yorkie39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southampton
2.0 mi away
The Hamlet Inn
The Hamlet Inn
#2 of 8 in Southampton
66 reviews
1.3 mi away
Southampton Inn
Southampton Inn
#3 of 8 in Southampton
295 reviews
12.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Long Island East End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Easterner Motel
Easterner Motel
#4 of 8 in Southampton
64 reviews
7.1 mi away
Colonial Shores Resort
Colonial Shores Resort
#4 of 12 in Hampton Bays
63 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Drake Inn
The Drake Inn
#1 of 12 in Hampton Bays
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southampton Long Island Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southampton Long Island Hotel

Property: Southampton Long Island Hotel
Address: 450 County Road 39, Southampton, NY 11968-5207 (Formerly Southampton Escape Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Southampton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Southampton Long Island Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southampton Long Island Hotel - Conveniently located, only minutes from the world's famous Cooper's Beach and charming Village of Southampton with numerous restaurants, cafes and boutiques - it will be your favorite lodging choice in the Hamptons.Open all year long - it is perfect for the summer beach getaway with friends or loved ones, business retreat, unforgettable fall trip with your children for apple or pumpkin picking, relaxing tour of exceptional wineries or just for a well deserved relaxing weekend as a treat for yourself.Our hotel features: All Seasons Inn with daily, weekly and long term rentals available. All rooms feature private baths, air conditioning, cable TV. Wireless Internet. Outdoor swimming pool in the summer season. Convenient proximity to Luxury Liner, Hampton Jitney, LIRR train station and airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Southampton Long Island Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Enclave Inn Southampton Hotel Southampton
Enclave Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing