We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean, nice comfy bed and great location”
Review of Southampton Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Southampton Inn
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Southampton
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very clean, nice comfy bed and great location”
Reviewed 21 March 2010

I was wary of this place because of the reviews- but it was fabulous! We stayed here preseason and it was quiet, peaceful, clean and easy to walk anywhere in Southampton (except beach). The bedding was clean (I always inspect!), the bathroom was immaculate (bring your own hair conditioner though!) and the staff was friendly. We were on the second floor and the floor was a little shaky, so hope it wasn't rough for our neighbors below! We stayed at the Montauk Yacht Club the night before and I actually preferred Southampton Inn and the beaches nearby. I was happily surprised!

Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank trippy1900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    75
    58
    33
    56
See reviews for
79
91
10
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Astoria, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2009

My friends and I decided to do a wine day visiting vineyards out on LI and needed a hotel. Most of the hotels in Riverhead ... were booked, so we extended the search. The Southampton Inn came up and after looking at a few other places online, we decided on this hotel. SO HAPPY we did! The hotel is conveniently located right outside of the town of Southampton and a few blocks from the beach. The hotel itself was very quaint and clean. The rooms were spotless and large with a couch and coffee table (for the king bed rooms). The beds were Tempurpedic and extremely comfortable (great night's sleep all around) and the bathrooms were newly remodeled and very nice. The hotel lobby has a library with books, a fireplace and piano. The restaurant at the hotel had fabulous food and friendly staff. My friends and I will DEFINITELY return to the Southampton Inn.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank antnyp73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 October 2009

We had scheduled a weekend away from the kids and needed a rest. The beds were heavenly (I'm going to buy a Tempurpedic mattress tomorrow). We slept like babies. We had the best breakfast ever (eggs benedict and mimosas) at the inn's restrauant. and then took the shuttle to the fabulous beach, where we walked and talked for hours. Loved it.

Going back again next year.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petfriendlytravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2009

On arrival told they had one room for us though we had 2 confirmation numbers.
No service at pool and machines not working
Breakfast service breakdown...1 hour for cereal and coffee
Know nothing staff totally unhelpful

But great town,large-ish rooms ,pool and grounds...Could be soo much better if they tried....and would justify the prices

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dadtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Southampton hotels

boca raton, florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2009

We arrived Friday afternoon and were given a room we were originally told was not made up yet. We then were told it was ready after all and given the keys.
We went and put our luggage in room 112A and took off with our friends who live there in Southampton and went off to visit with them. We were out late, showered and tried to sleep, with noisy neighbors jumping and fighting above us. Christine complained the sheets were itchy and I had her kill the bugs on the ceiling above my bed and she found another on the floor.The next morning we were up and out rather early and then came back late morning finding our room in the same condition. Same sheets and same wet towels. I then put the Service Sign on the door and we called the front desk and asked about public transportation. We were told there were only taxis available. We requested a taxi. We then went out in a taxi and the taxi driver informed us there was the Hampton Jitney that traveled between towns, buses, and the train . The staff failed to mention any of these options. Your staff acted as though we were bothering them at all times we spoke to them.
Saturday evening when we arrived back around 10:30-11:00 PM our room was still unmade, we still had the wet used towels, and the Service Please, sign was still on the door. Christine and I were appalled and Christine then called the office to complain. The young man on duty listened to Christine's complaints including that there was a huge fight going on in the room above us, our sheets were dirty and our towels still not changed. The young man stated we were the second guests to complain that the sheets and towels were never change and he would look into it.
Nothing happened. Sunday we went out for breakfast and came back to the same wet used towels and Christine was itching now with little bites on her arms and legs and then I saw bites on my legs as well.
At that point Christine was furious and she pulled the sheets off the bed and examined them to find pubic hair and different color hair than ours on the bed along with a spaghetti noodle. We never ate spaghetti during our stay. I told her to put it in the wrapping of the plastic cup in the room and lets bring it to the office. It is our belief that the maids made the beds without changing them from the previous guests.
This hotel is not complying with Suffolk County Hotel Code enforcements.
Given the sky-high daily rates, the lack of amenities, the staff being less than informative and rude, the used sheets we were forced to sleep on, the wet towels we had to use over for our full stay, and the bites we now have on our legs. I felt like we shouldn't have paid anything. It was not a pleasant experience.
Being a business owner working here in West Palm Beach and Palm Beach many of my friends and associates Summer in the Hampton's. It is a beautiful area but service and cleanliness are important. Katie, who was at the desk when we addressed the situation, gave her a list of complaints and the plastic with the hair and things found in our bed, treated us as though we were liars. She said she had tried to call us three times on Saturday. If that were true how come there was never a message or a flashing red light on our phone? We had our Service sign out and called with no response, other than other guests had complained of the same problem. I've never stayed in a more horrible hotel!!!! $400/night. ridiculous!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank hotelhopper069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boca raton, florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2009

The south hampton inn is the worse hotel with no ammenities in the room and the lazy cleaning staff doesn't even change the sheets between clients. My collegue and I got bed bug bites. At $400/night. Stay away!!!!!

Helpful?
2 Thank hotelhopper069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2009

This place is an utter joke! We paid $469 a night and the room had a horrible smell, was terribly damp, and had bugs- ants, huge mosquitos and we even had bees. The decor is awful- think old 80s Marimekko bed spreads, marks from leaks in the ceiling, dim lighting in the bathroom, no full length mirror, terrible little wall hair dryer, old tv, terrible toiletries. The pool was another huge disappointment. It was very crowded with loud people who were getting drunk all day and smoking cigarettes and cigars. You could not get away from the smoke. We tried to complain to a manager twice and were told both times that there were no managers available.
I know this is the Hamptons and anyone who goes there is obviously willing to pay exorbitant prices, but I've stayed at other places throughout the hamptons and at least they were clean and well run. The owners and management of this place should be ashamed of themselves. It was definitely the most disappointing place I have ever stayed anywhere in the world.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aandb7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southampton
2.8 mi away
The Hamlet Inn
The Hamlet Inn
#2 of 8 in Southampton
66 reviews
1.3 mi away
Southampton Long Island Hotel
Southampton Long Island Hotel
#5 of 8 in Southampton
93 reviews
9.4 mi away
Baron's Cove
Baron's Cove
#1 of 5 in Sag Harbor
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Long Island East End
6.2 mi away
Topping Rose House
Topping Rose House
#1 of 1 in Bridgehampton
110 reviews
22.9 mi away
Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southampton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southampton Inn

Property: Southampton Inn
Address: 91 Hill St, Southampton, NY 11968-5399
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Southampton Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Southampton Inn is a gracious 90 room hotel in the heart of Southampton Village. Set on 5 luciously landscaped acres and expansive lawns, we are only steps from some of the best shopping and restaurants in the Hamptons. During the summer season, we are proud to provide shuttle service to and from Coopers Beach, named the #1 Beach in America by Dr. Beach in 2010. Our kitchen is delighted to prepare delicious fare and present it to you in our own Oso restaurant, the Euro-esque courtyard or the patio adjoining our heated outdoor pool, from 7a.m. to 7p.m. 7 days a week in season. Best of all, our friendly and courteous staff is available 24 hours a day with all the Hampton's Inside Information to make your stay all the more special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de, Priceline, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Southampton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southampton Hotel Southampton
Southampton Bed Breakfast
Southampton Inn Southampton
Southampton b&b
Southampton Inn Ny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing