We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wine , Roosters and Good Vibrations”

The Old Field Vineyards
Ranked #4 of 24 things to do in Southold
Attraction details
Southold, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wine , Roosters and Good Vibrations”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

The Old Field Vineyards is a relaxed unpretentious place to spend an hour or two enjoying wine and the feeling of being in a vineyard. The vines are close by. The owners Ros and Chris Baiz or their adult children Perry and Ryan are usually around to answer your questions and give you the interesting history of the vineyard. It was originally their family farm and their love of the land and passion winemaking come through.

There are lovely trees, a pond, and an old ice house as well as some interesting colorful roosters and hens to make your visit special. You can pull up a chair or sit at one of the tables and unwind. You feel more like you are visiting friends who own a vineyard then a business.

My wife and I live in the area and frequently bring friends for a tasting. They always feel it was an authentic and interesting experience and a nice contrast to some of the larger wineries with mega tasting rooms and buses of visitors.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank SailorJohnnyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    15
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Level Contributor
71 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Intimate little winery with a cozy and scenic picnic area”
Reviewed 21 July 2013

My girlfriends and I went to The Old Field Vineyard this weekend to celebrate a birthday. This is a really lovely little winery that is friendly, casual and welcoming. They have a cozy tasting area that stretches outdoors. They also have a few picnic tables set up where you can bring treats and enjoy the wine with some food. Running around the picnic area are the vineyards chickens, geese, and dogs. Only negative was that the bathroom was a port-a-potty.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Christi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kunming, China
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Wonderful Wines and Beautiful Vineyard”
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We had a wonderful afternoon tasting wines here with their very friendly and knowledgable staff just before Sandy, and I'm really worried about how the winery survived during the storm since it's so close to the water (the winery actually goes down to the shoreline). I really hope that the vines recover and they can continue to make their really wonderful wines. And I'm grateful that I bought some bottles of the wine before the storm.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Georgia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Truly delightful, low key, high quality”
Reviewed 24 October 2012

This small family-run vineyard is located on the most beautiful old estate on Peconic Bay. The wines are delicious and the welcome, exceptional.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank quibblest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“nice”
Reviewed 18 October 2012

Good wines. Don't let the size fool you. Very pleasant tasting wines and nice folks.I Would go back again

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank MikeJ992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Old Field Vineyards also viewed

Southold, North Fork
Southold, North Fork
 

Been to The Old Field Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing