We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Mixed Bag”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Southold Beach Motel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Southold
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A Mixed Bag”
Reviewed 19 November 2012

It's a very small motel and very dated. If you are looking for cozy and quiet rooms, look elsewhere. The room and the bathroom were clean, but showed a lot of wear. All the furniture is mismatched and not in a nice way. But everything worked and the beds were unexpectedly comfortable. The internet did not work. If you choose to stay, I'd suggest a garden-view room, not the ocean view. Here's why - the windows in the rooms are set pretty high, so sitting on a bed you can only see the sky, not the ocean. At the same time, there's a lot of traffic noise from the road right outside. The beach is very small and not all that great. The motel is very conveniently located, the owner is very nice and the price, when we booked, was just right.

Room Tip: Water-view room was not a good choice - loud traffic outside and not much of a view because of windo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lilmac2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    10
    8
    4
    15
See reviews for
9
23
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Central Jersey
Level Contributor
92 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

I read quite a number of reviews before we booked the motel. The reviews varied so much, it was hard to imagine they all referred to the same place. So here is my take; This is a very dated motel, think 'back to the 50's' which in some ways is a nice change from the cookie cutter chain hotels. I spoke to Amy before our arrival and stated that a very good bed and very quiet room were our priority. We were placed in the rear, which fulfilled both requests nicely. Fortunately, the evening was cool and we opened the window, as the air conditioner was far too noisy to sleep with it on. Unfortunately, we were disturbed every time our neighbor's air conditioner turned on and off. The little refrigerator, toaster, coffee maker, and microwave are a super convenience. The beach across the street is small and rocky, but fine for a walk at the end of the day. One night stay is permissable with a $25 surcharge. One night with tax and fees was about $200! Next time, I think I would put more effort into finding a place to stay- I did see "vacancy" signs in several nice looking motels.
The location is super. You are barely three miles from Greenport with its many restaurants, boutiques, cafes, and the ferry. If you are on the North Fork wine trail, this is a convenient end to a day of tasting- and you can even back track if you missed a few.

Room Tip: Speak personally to Amy, and you can probably get what you need. The rooms facing the beach across...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mona_was_here
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012

The manager was the nastiest women I have ever met. She seemed annoyed that we were there before check in and didn't have a car. It was raining so we asked if we could check in early. She flat out refused. This was after Labor Day and the Motel was empty. The beach was small and dirty and the Motel is in the middle of nowhere. The cabs are $15 for a 5 minute ride.
This was a terrible experience.

Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Andrea K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southoldbm, Manager at Southold Beach Motel, responded to this review, 12 September 2012
I am sorry to hear the way you felt.We were unable to accommodate an early check-in when you arrived at 12:15PM , our rooms were being cleaned. Whenever possible we try to allow our guests to check-in early , however it was not possible that day.
Best Regards,
Southold Beach Motel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Southold hotels

Hurst
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

We stayed one night here. The front desk lady was extremely nice and accomodating. She was even willing to call other motels for us and then discovered she had a room.
Lets face it for the price of hotels on Long Island this place is a steal. Yes it is small and old. But it is charming and quaint. The room I was in was clean. As others have said the bed did take up the entire room and the bathroom was small. When other places rent for much more this is a good value for the Hamptons.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sportstaxi424242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copiague, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

I have to say we read many reviews on this motel, the good and the bad so we were prepared and pleasantly surprised when we arrived. We met Amy the owner and she was very friendly and accomodating, Our room was spotless, it had a refrigerator, stove top, small sink, & a microwave. The bathroom had a pedestal sink, stand up shower, and plenty of clean towels, the only thing bring your own soap. They had dispensers which had shampoo, conditioner, and body wash, which were almost empty and not designated. Bed was very comfortable and air conditioner was fine We had the ocean view which was spectacular at sundown. There is traffic going by but you take the good with the bad, we had a wonderful time and would go back again and again

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southern california
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012 via mobile

We booked two nights and opted to go for the ocean view room. It was a room right in the front of the hotel and the beach was across the street. It definately was a beautiful ocean view. Right away when checking in we spoke with Amy at the front office, she was very nice. She was also helpful in every way. She knew the local area and made great suggestions. We picked up lobsters at the southold fish market. Yum to say the least. The room was pretty good size with two queen beds. The kitchen had everything you would need but scaled down on the size. It has a nice size refrigerator, small stainless still sink and a two burner stove and a microwave. Some dishes and glasses etc in the cabinet. The bathroom was quite modern with a pedestal sink and a good size shower with a hand held shower to. In front of our door was a table and chairs with an umbrella, perfect for eating dinner or breakfast. great sunsets from that table. In the back grassy area of the motel there were barbecues. Amy was wonderfully helpful and very nice. We loved our stay at this motel and if we were ever in the area we would stay here again. thank You Amy you are wonderful.

Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank diamondfairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Stayed here for one night on a recent bicycle trip. The room was very small, basically the bed took up the entire room. But for one night that was fine. Room was clean and everything in working order. Beautiful, quiet and peaceful location. The manager was friendly. Note that at night there is no staff at the hotel, but they are available by phone.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stormville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southold
4.5 mi away
The Blue Inn At North Fork
The Blue Inn At North Fork
#1 of 1 in East Marion
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sound View Greenport
Sound View Greenport
#3 of 7 in Greenport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
1.0 mi away
Heron Suites
Heron Suites
#2 of 3 in Southold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Cliffside Resort Condominiums
2.9 mi away
Harborfront Inn at Greenport
2.4 mi away
The Pridwin Hotel
The Pridwin Hotel
#2 of 5 in Shelter Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southold Beach Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southold Beach Motel

Property: Southold Beach Motel
Address: 53250 North Rd., Southold, NY 11971
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > North Fork > Southold
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Southold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Southold Beach Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come enjoy our spacious beachfront accommodations on Long Island Sound. Our rooms and facilities are designed to maximize your comfort and enjoyment. All of our rooms have full Kitchen Facilities, Cable TV, Air Conditioning, & Maid Service. Waterfront rooms enjoy great views of the beach and personal patio space. Guests are welcome to use the grills located in the garden area. We also offer handicapped accessible rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Southold Beach Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southold Beach Hotel Southold
Southold Beach Motel North Fork, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing