We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach Heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Southold Beach Motel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Southold
Bayside, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beach Heaven”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We have been going to this motel for years. The beach is directly across the street which is so convenient. If you want to get away and just relax at the beach, this is the place to stay! We park our car and don't have to go back in it until we leave. Amy, the manager, is the most pleasant person. Every time we stay there, it's like going back to see a friend or relative that you haven't seen in awhile! She greets you with a warm friendly smile. The backyard is big with many barbeques for the guests to use. Each room has outside table and chairs to sit outside and enjoy the fresh air! Why would anyone want to stay at a big hotel where you are known just by your room number? Here she knows you by your name.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bill l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    10
    8
    4
    15
See reviews for
9
23
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

A small motel located right on the very busy Soundview Ave. but conveniently, directly across the street from the beach. The sunsets are beautiful and if you choose a room with a water view you have a little deck complete with table and chairs to enjoy it from.There are no frills at this place. They literally charge your credit card the moment you walk in the office, leaving no chance for for additional charges to your room.
They are conveniently located a few miles from the town of Greenport and a few miles from several great wineries. My husband and I took advantage of this and rode our bikes to the wineries. My 2 sisters & my brother in law met us at the motel and Amy graciously let them park their car there. (It was a Sunday in July and the motel had cleared out) After being gone for about 4 hours my sisters' and I went across to the beach while our husbands enjoyed one of the bottles we bought at the wineries at one of the tables on the deck. While at the beach a couple who are friends of ours joined our husband's at the table. After my sisters' and I joined them at the table Amy decided to come over and reprimand my husband and I for having guests. She accused us of hanging out all day. Which was simply not true, the whole group was probably there no more than 20 minutes. Even if it were true, we were not causing a scene, paid for the room and should be able to do what we wanted with the room. We were reprimanded like children and berated in front of our guests.
My husband, did speak to her away from our group and she did apologize to him. One of my sister's did end up staying on the pull out couch. I would have appreciated the extra $25 fee for her to be waived for having to put up with the wrath of Amy, but no harm was done and we enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: I enjoyed the sunsets from the waterview room, but it is right up on the street. If the sounds of pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cortneyrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2012

It's a very small motel and very dated. If you are looking for cozy and quiet rooms, look elsewhere. The room and the bathroom were clean, but showed a lot of wear. All the furniture is mismatched and not in a nice way. But everything worked and the beds were unexpectedly comfortable. The internet did not work. If you choose to stay, I'd suggest a garden-view room, not the ocean view. Here's why - the windows in the rooms are set pretty high, so sitting on a bed you can only see the sky, not the ocean. At the same time, there's a lot of traffic noise from the road right outside. The beach is very small and not all that great. The motel is very conveniently located, the owner is very nice and the price, when we booked, was just right.

Room Tip: Water-view room was not a good choice - loud traffic outside and not much of a view because of windo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lilmac2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

I read quite a number of reviews before we booked the motel. The reviews varied so much, it was hard to imagine they all referred to the same place. So here is my take; This is a very dated motel, think 'back to the 50's' which in some ways is a nice change from the cookie cutter chain hotels. I spoke to Amy before our arrival and stated that a very good bed and very quiet room were our priority. We were placed in the rear, which fulfilled both requests nicely. Fortunately, the evening was cool and we opened the window, as the air conditioner was far too noisy to sleep with it on. Unfortunately, we were disturbed every time our neighbor's air conditioner turned on and off. The little refrigerator, toaster, coffee maker, and microwave are a super convenience. The beach across the street is small and rocky, but fine for a walk at the end of the day. One night stay is permissable with a $25 surcharge. One night with tax and fees was about $200! Next time, I think I would put more effort into finding a place to stay- I did see "vacancy" signs in several nice looking motels.
The location is super. You are barely three miles from Greenport with its many restaurants, boutiques, cafes, and the ferry. If you are on the North Fork wine trail, this is a convenient end to a day of tasting- and you can even back track if you missed a few.

Room Tip: Speak personally to Amy, and you can probably get what you need. The rooms facing the beach across...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mona_was_here
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012

The manager was the nastiest women I have ever met. She seemed annoyed that we were there before check in and didn't have a car. It was raining so we asked if we could check in early. She flat out refused. This was after Labor Day and the Motel was empty. The beach was small and dirty and the Motel is in the middle of nowhere. The cabs are $15 for a 5 minute ride.
This was a terrible experience.

Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Andrea K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southoldbm, Manager at Southold Beach Motel, responded to this review, 12 September 2012
I am sorry to hear the way you felt.We were unable to accommodate an early check-in when you arrived at 12:15PM , our rooms were being cleaned. Whenever possible we try to allow our guests to check-in early , however it was not possible that day.
Best Regards,
Southold Beach Motel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Southold hotels

Hurst
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

We stayed one night here. The front desk lady was extremely nice and accomodating. She was even willing to call other motels for us and then discovered she had a room.
Lets face it for the price of hotels on Long Island this place is a steal. Yes it is small and old. But it is charming and quaint. The room I was in was clean. As others have said the bed did take up the entire room and the bathroom was small. When other places rent for much more this is a good value for the Hamptons.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sportstaxi424242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copiague, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

I have to say we read many reviews on this motel, the good and the bad so we were prepared and pleasantly surprised when we arrived. We met Amy the owner and she was very friendly and accomodating, Our room was spotless, it had a refrigerator, stove top, small sink, & a microwave. The bathroom had a pedestal sink, stand up shower, and plenty of clean towels, the only thing bring your own soap. They had dispensers which had shampoo, conditioner, and body wash, which were almost empty and not designated. Bed was very comfortable and air conditioner was fine We had the ocean view which was spectacular at sundown. There is traffic going by but you take the good with the bad, we had a wonderful time and would go back again and again

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southold
4.5 mi away
The Blue Inn At North Fork
The Blue Inn At North Fork
#1 of 1 in East Marion
188 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sound View Greenport
Sound View Greenport
#1 of 7 in Greenport
547 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cliffside Resort Condominiums
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Heron Suites
Heron Suites
#2 of 3 in Southold
115 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Pridwin Hotel
The Pridwin Hotel
#3 of 5 in Shelter Island
236 reviews
17.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Long Island East End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southold Beach Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southold Beach Motel

Property: Southold Beach Motel
Address: 53250 North Rd., Southold, NY 11971
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > North Fork > Southold
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Southold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Southold Beach Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come enjoy our spacious beachfront accommodations on Long Island Sound. Our rooms and facilities are designed to maximize your comfort and enjoyment. All of our rooms have full Kitchen Facilities, Cable TV, Air Conditioning, & Maid Service. Waterfront rooms enjoy great views of the beach and personal patio space. Guests are welcome to use the grills located in the garden area. We also offer handicapped accessible rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Southold Beach Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southold Beach Hotel Southold
Southold Beach Motel North Fork, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing