We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a great B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Speculator
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Red Pines Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Speculator B&B and Inns
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“This is a great B&B”
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

For others who posted negatively, one needs to understand this is a B&B, not an inn. B&B you share the home. They are offering you a bed and breakfast.

Diane was lovely, gracious and a fabulous cook. Knowledgable of the area, not intrusive at all! And very accommodating!
We plan to make this a regular three season stop!
Rooms were comfortable and you can't beat French Toast Banana Fosters and Creme Brûlée French Toast for breakfast!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Jeanae W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    6
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
20
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Great Neck, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 December 2013

My family and I highly recommend this place to family and friends. Diane was so pleasant and helpful with our stay. Even our pet dog liked and listened to her. Her rooms were so nicely decorated that after our ski and tubbing adventure the beds were so comfortable to sleep in.

Thank you so much Diane for making our stay so warm and welcoming. We will certainly come back.

Room Tip: Please mention you are traveling with a pet. She has a pet friendly room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We just got back from a two night stay at Red Pines. We were pleasantly surprised with how beautiful the property was. We actually spent quite a bit of time hanging out around there because it was so lovely. There were plenty of places to lounge in adirondack chairs with views overlooking the water. They even had a private beach where we made a bonfire one night. Diane was out of town, but her daughter Chris was a wonderful host. She gave us suggestions for where to eat out and kayaking spots. Breakfast was good, soft comfortable bed. Everything was very clean and tidy. The only complaint is that the bathrooms are shared, but everything else was so enjoyable we didn't mind, and were glad we selected this b&b. It was a great stay we didn't want to leave.

There was no phone signal for me (sprint), but practically the whole Adironack region had no signal. Diane sent us directions, so use those and don't rely on GPS. They had Wifi, which was great, so I was able to catch up on my emails on my smart phone.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Spent an overnight stay at Red Pines. The B &B is set in a beautiful location on Lake Pleasant. Upon our arrival, we were met by the owner's mom, Helen, and went to our comfortable room to relax and then go for a swim in the lake. The B & B is a beautiful home, with nice rooms, central meeting area and kitchen. The shared bathroom was large, and had all the amenities. There is a patio overlooking the lake where we spent a glorious evening swimming in the lake and sharing a bottle of wine. What a great spot!
The next morning, we had breakfast with another couple staying at the B & B, Helen, and the owner, Diane. We had great conversation, and a wonderful, filling breakfast.
Bottom line-if you are looking for a B & B in a beautiful lake surrounding, quiet, beautiful home, good conversation-this is the place
P.S. I spent my birthday there

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anthony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Really enjoyed our experience here. Only stayed one night for a wedding in Speculator, but cannot wait to come back and really take in all it has to offer. Diane is very pleasant and so is her daughter...really makes you feel "at home". No TV channels--but it was nice to spend some time with my husband not watching a game on TV---we did have our laptop and no trouble with the WiFi connection. I do wish the shared bathroom (which is huge) had better lighting to do my make-up. The breakfast is outstanding! I just wish we had more time...next time we'll make sure we have a full weekend, at least. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank busyparents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Narberth, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 January 2013

My husband and I enjoyed our recent stay very much. What was very nice is that the hostess, Diane, really does give you a great deal of privacy and independence. She has truly opened her home to her guests and made us feel very comfortable using the kitchen for minor niceties like hot cocoa, etc. We also felt very comfortable even outside the home. We brought our small dog as well and she was super cool concerning all aspects of having a dog at a B&B. She even "babysat" him one night while we went out to dinner rather than shutting him in our room. We would wholeheartedly recommend this B&B to any sort of guest.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdirondackLover1015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2012

A wonderful fairly new bed and breakfast, tastefully decorated, delicious and filling family style breakfast, relaxed, quiet, and lakefront! Trails are available for walking and canoes for paddling.
Diane is a friendly, gracious hostess leaving home made cookies for guests!

Room Tip: The rooms on the west have a lake view to enjoy the sunset!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank abby58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Speculator
20.1 mi away
Garnet Hill Lodge
Garnet Hill Lodge
#1 of 1 in North River
54 reviews
23.0 mi away
Gore Mountain Lodge
Gore Mountain Lodge
#1 of 4 in North Creek
114 reviews
23.7 mi away
The Alpine Lodge
The Alpine Lodge
#2 of 4 in North Creek
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Pines Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Pines Bed & Breakfast

Property: Red Pines Bed & Breakfast
Address: South Shore Road, Speculator, NY 12164
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Speculator
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Speculator
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing