We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Staatsburgh State Historic Site / Mills Mansion
Book In Advance
More Info
US$65.00*
and up
Hudson Valley New York Great Estates Pass
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The mansion is beautiful, but the real appeal is in the hundreds of acres overlooking the Hudson River.
Gardner, Massachusetts, United States
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“staatsburgh”
Reviewed 22 February 2014

This was a great place. Looked at 20 rooms. Received lot of information and history. Only issue is the tour guide talked very fast so it was hard to catch things from time to time. The house was great to look at I enjoyed myself

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank maryjo94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    34
    5
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Poughkeepsie, New York, United States
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The best of the Christmas celebrations in the valley.”
Reviewed 22 December 2013

My sister and I make a point of visiting a local historic site every Christmas time. This year, it was Staatsburgh, which we had not visited since we were kids. The outside of the mansion is in a bad state, worse than I remembered it. However, work is ongoing to repair it. NY State is finally putting some money into the place, but they have a long way to go. The inside is in a better state with most of the major rooms restored to their original splendor. The decorations were by far the best of all the estates we have visited in the last few years. The best feature of the tour, however, were the volunteer docents. All were well versed in the history of the family and estate. In period costume, they also related information about how the family lived and used the house. The Friends of Mills Mansion work hard to support the restoration process and they really give a personal feel to the tour.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Martha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“delicious scandal”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

By chance, we visited when the scandal-themed tour was about to start, so we joined that rather than the standard house tour. We didn't regret it: our tour guide gave an Oscar-worthy performance which wove together information about the house and its occupants with lurid but amusing stories about the Gilded Age when the house and grounds were in their heyday. It brought the whole visit to life and was very enjoyable. It was sad to see the dilapidated state of some of the building, but good to know that restoration is underway. Go: your dollars will go to a good cause.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bigapplebrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyde Park, New York
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Downton Abbey Themed Tour”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

did the Downton Abbey Themed tour at Mills Mansion with Maria as the tour guide. We found it very educational and entertaining. It was interesting to learn how the servants lived with and interacted with the millses. As a servant you were able to travel with the family, moving from house to house following the seasons and upon retiring was given the means to live comfortably in the style they have become accustomed to.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Marcia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Historic Home on the Skids”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

So sad to see this fabulous old home falling apart.
Go anyway just to see what the gilded age might have been like.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Staatsburgh State Historic Site / Mills Mansion also viewed

 

Been to Staatsburgh State Historic Site / Mills Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing