We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cultural Tour plus Much More” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Historic Richmond Town

Historic Richmond Town
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This recreated village has period buildings from the late 17th to the late 19th centuries.
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cultural Tour plus Much More”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Touring the site of Historic Richmond Town is a history lesson with visuals. However Historic Richmondtown is much more - it plans special events to draw many to the site to experience what it has to offer. BBQ Contest, Chili Cook Off, Uncorked, Carnival and much more is planned each year on the ground of this wonderful SI treasure

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sallyann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    47
    30
    18
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
167 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Much potential”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Historic richmondtown should be called empty Richmond town. If you want to see how it's done go to historic Williamsburg (virginia) we have the basics of building a great attraction but as it stands there's nothing to see or do. You can't even get a cup of coffee or a snack.
If some one wanted to donate several tens of millions of dollars I can see a tourist attraction off the charts. Restaurants,souvenir shops,
Tours and much more. Maybe one day just not yet.

Helpful?
2 Thank Jonboy111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice Tour, Takes forever to get there from NYC”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

We took the subway to the Staten Island Ferry, enjoyed the ride, then boarded a bus to RIchmond. Little did we know the bus was winding around cow paths and dozens of stops to Richmond. So that was a boring hour with little to see.
Richmond is a collection of houses and shops moved from around the island to this location. For the $8 fee late in the day, we were almost forgotten since we were the only 3 people in the 'tour'. But Michael showed up and gave us a great personal tour of the old buildings, the country store, the schoolhouse, etc. Long story short, this place would be packed with tourists if it weren't so hard to get to from NYC. Before taking the bus, find out what a taxi costs to get there. Getting back there wont be any taxis unless you call for one.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielg922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
899 reviews
255 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 923 helpful votes
“Walk Around”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

I went to meet friends on Statin Island and was a little early. I walked the streets of this historic area. It's always a good experience to see something you are not familiar with. I think yon would enjoy taking the ferry (free),and having a stroll around Staten Island.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jeremy t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Nothing to see here folks”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

A few small historic buildings. No coffee shops, nothing. About 8 people midday on a holiday weekend. An old video on an old tv in the small welcome center. The museum store was about a 5x5 with some cheap stuff. We saw signs that an $18 million renovation is coming soon to make the place more visitable. If you're very much into history, it might be for you if you already happen to be in the area. Otherwise wait til the do something with the place.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank raquaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Historic Richmond Town also viewed

 

Been to Historic Richmond Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing