We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great View, Clean, Comfortable-undergoing renovation”
Review of The Harbor House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Harbor House
Oak Park, Illinois, USA
2 reviews
“Great View, Clean, Comfortable-undergoing renovation”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Mo, the Innkeeper is friendly, accommodating and helpful. My 2 sons (ages 17 & 20) and I were pleased with the room, the private bathroom & the breakfast, Mo made scrambled eggs & sausage for the boys, The rooms are undergoing renovations, therefore not as "quaint" as many B&B places. Shared bathroom was totally renovated & in excellent condition, The view is amazing & the other guests were interesting and friendly, The price is also amazing. Surpasses all B&Bs in Brooklyn by far in terms of neighborhood+price+ease of arrival+Innkeeper. Great deal near Manhattan & Brooklyn. I'll definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank viewpoint4G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    42
    20
    11
    11
See reviews for
45
58
19
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Washington, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 August 2013

we enjoyed our stay here at the Harbor House. It is very relaxing and the scenes are amazing. our room was very comfortable and accommodating. The staff was pleasant and welcoming. our room was on the second floor so the night time view was so incredible. I enjoyed the the breakfast in the morning, the relaxation on the front porch was very relaxing.

our stay here was so great we had to come back again. Once again we had an amazing stay and would recommend to everyone

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 11 August 2013

I've been visiting this adorable cottage like inn on weekends for months! Its a clean and comfy, friendly peaceful atmosphere. The view is amazing the history intrigueing and the owner, Mo, couldn't be nicer!! This completely affordable bed and breakfast is by far the best place to spend a night weekend or longer with your family friends or significant other. Each room has its own unique style and personality guaranteed to draw you back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaAndDamien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We stayed this past weeked in The Staten Suite for Friday night to Sunday morning as first time visitors to the City. We debated between The Holiday Inn Express and the Harbor House, ultimately choosing the Harbor House mainly based on the reviews here. We have stayed in B&B's numerous times before and have always enjoyed our stays.Here's our review of the Harbor House:

POSITIVES:
* Close to the Ferry Port
* Free Parking
* Nice little park across the street to find sea glass
* Alice Austen house next door is beautiful
* The Staten Suite had large rooms, except for the bathroom, which was very tiny
* Moe was nice, even waiving the $20 extra a day fee for our daughter (due to a food allergy, she could not partake in the breakfast)
* The view from the front porch WAS beautiful
* Quiet neighborhood

OUR ROOM:
* The Staten Suite needs some serious renovations. Other reviews note that the House is being renovated and that it had a "beach house" feel. I could understand that with the common area. The suite, however, did not leave me with either of those impressions. Although the common area was very clean & well put together, the Staten Suite had several issues that need to be addressed. There was a layer of significant dust on the mantel of the fireplace in the bedroom, as well as on the bookshelves in this same area. The dining area floor was extremely old & in need of repalcement. Several holes in the linoleum flooring. The seam between the linoleum and the old carpet in the "sitting" area was black electrical tape. Although the kitchen table & chairs appeared newer, the couch, love seat, hanging painting and carpet in the sitting area looked like they dated back to the mid 1980s. My husband was amazed that the tv set was an older model that was, at best a 28 inch tv. The kitchen was a kitchenette. We did not use the apartment sized gas stove. The fridge was a larger mini-fridge that really needed cleaned. The kitchen counter had sticky stuff on it that I cleaned off with soap and water. The cutting board also had sticky remnants of whatever had been cut on it. The bathroom was small, but it’s a bathroom, so size really not that important. The shower was completely encased by non-matching plastic shower liners, which is because it was an old style stand alone bath that was converted to a shower. The holder hanging from the shower (for soaps and shampoo) was disgusting with several old bars of mini soap in it & one of the hooks broken off. The walls of the bathroom had cracked and peeling paint. The most revolting part of the bathroom: the trash can had an empty condom wrapper in it…good news is I guess it wasn’t a condom, just the wrapper!

We left the room a/c on, set at 73 degrees when we left on Sat. morning for the city. It was shut off when we returned to the room and it was a steaming 82 degrees when we returned. My husband was NOT happy about this.

Others complained previously on here about the breakfast...here is what was offered during our stay: The breakfast consisted of the following: 2 types of cereal, bananas, bagels (no cream cheese, jam or butter only), bread (for toast), mini-croissants, yogurt (if you asked for it) & instant oatmeal (had to ask for water or bring some from your room). There was no type of protein offered, so if you are looking for substance, you"ll have to eat elsewhere. This was very unlike any of the other B&Bs I have stayed at as the have all offered some sort of hot breakfast.

I cannot speak for the other rooms as we did not stay in them, nor did we see any of them. As I have said, the common area was clean and organized. If staying at this B&B, I would not recommend the Staten Suite, unless you are just looking for a place to crash. Even at that, the suite is pricy for just a bed to sleep in. If you are planning on spending any amount of time in the room, then I wouldn’t suggest this suite.

I do understand that this is an older home and that renovations will eventually take place, so things like chipped/peeling paint & and old carpet may be replaced/repaired. HOWEVER, the dust on the mantle & bookshelves, the dirty counter top & cutting board in the kitchen and the condom wrapper & disgusting shower item holder in the shower cannot be explained away as an “older home” issue. That’s just dirty. Made me question everything about our stay & whether the room had been cleaned at all. A simple $200 worth of repairs could really make this a decent room. What was ironic is the stairs leading up the front walkway look like they have been recently redone with marble....why spend so much money on the outside, but not invest anything in the largest, most expensive suite??? I did not mention these things to the owner as I didn’t feel I shouldn’t have to tell the owner he needs to clean countertops, dust the mantle/bookshelf, or that he hadn’t properly emptied the trash cans. These are things that should have been done prior to our check in. The other rooms were rented out already and you have to pay at check in (odd, to me) or we would have left. Furthermore, we arrived late on Friday evening and were exhausted from our long drive. My husband wanted to check out when he saw the room, but like I reminded him, we'd have to pay for another room & then wait for the funds to deposit back. At that point, it wasn’t even worth complaining because we knew we were going to be back late and were checking out on Sunday. I was way disappointed as I have never had any such experience in B&Bs before.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rugbytiff35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Found the Harbor House as a result of the NY Harbor webcam and what a great experience it was !

We stayed the weekend before heading to the Manhattan Cruise terminal for our Carnival cruise. It was very convenient to get to the FREE Staten Island Ferry to lower Manhattan. On the way back from the cruise ship, it was a $25 fare to the Staten Island Ferry and a free ride to the SI terminal where Mo was there to greet us and drive us back. You don't get that service in the city !

Did I mention he let us park our car in his driveway for FREE for 8 Days ! That saved us over $300 over parking at the Cruise Terminal parking garage.

Mo is a tremendous man who is passionate about restoring the B & B to its original glory. We had a chance to see one of the rooms he has finished and it looked great. Our family of 4 had a room with a private bath and it was perfect for us.

Mo, we consider you a friend and we look forward to seeing you again before our next cruise!

Eric, Karmen, Paige and Hannah

Room Tip: There is no pool, but I cannot undo the rating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mintaro, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Harbor House was recommended to us by an American-born friend in Australia who regularly tunes into the NY harbor webcam, which is located on the house. We were a little wary but booked it. What a find. Right on the waterfront with uninterrupted views across to Manhattan. 'Mo' was a perfect host and made us very welcome and was a great source of practical information for the six days we were there in June. He recommended a Metrocard to cover the buses of Staten Island and the subway of Manhattan. It was a very easy commute and the return to the island on the free ferry each afternoon was relaxing after a day in the bustle of NYC. The location of Harbor House and its view across the Hudson to Manhattan is worth a million dollars. No view like that from the Waldorf Astoria! The refurbished rooms are spacious and comfortable and Mo's breakfast spread was a good start to a day of exploring and sightseeing. The historic Alice Austen House set in a pleasant green park across the street from Harbor House was a pleasant place to sit and watch the ships and boats at work and play on the Hudson. We arrived in New York on Queen May 2 and watched her leave for the return voyage to Southampton from a comfortable bench in the park. On the last day at Harbor House it was raining hard and steadily as we reluctantly said goodbye to Mo and set off for the ferry. "I can't let you go off in this rain," he said, and graciously offered to drive us to the ferry. We thanked him for a wonderful stay at Harbor House and vowed to return if back in New York. We can unreservedly recommend this place and the commute to Manhattan via a short bus and ferry ride is an enjoyable part of the overall experience. Thank you Mo. Justin and Libby, South Australia

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ormskirk
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

The Harbor House is a beautiful and homely place to stay with fantastic views of New York. We were made very welcome by Mo who is an incredible man, and the large dining table as you go in is the place to sit around in the evening with other guests and share the adventures from across the world.
The rooms are spacious and very clean and everything you will need is here.
We will always remember our visit here and how Mo made us welcome. Our son entertained some of the guests with magic around the table and we had many cups of tea while listening to some interesting stories. We are very fortunate to have found this rare gem and Mo just makes it all come together. Thanks for everything.

Room Tip: we were in the Liberty room which had fantastic views of New York
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Staten Island hotels
7.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Staten Island
Comfort Inn Staten Island
#4 of 7 in Staten Island
349 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Staten Island
6.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Staten Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Ramada Staten Island
Ramada Staten Island
#5 of 7 in Staten Island
362 reviews
7.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Staten Island
Holiday Inn Staten Island
#6 of 7 in Staten Island
1 reviews
7.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express - Staten Island West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Harbor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harbor House

Property: The Harbor House
Address: 1 Hylan Blvd, Staten Island, NY 10305-2001
Region: United States > New York > Staten Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Staten Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Harbor House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located on the New York Harbor with a stunning view of the Manhattan Skyline as well as the Verrazano Bridge. The NYC marathon starts at the base of the Verrazano Bridge on the Staten Island. It is a 15 minute walk from the Harbor House Bed and Breakfast to the starting line of the race. There is a bus (the S 51)one block away that stops at the St. George Ferry Terminal. You can ride the ferry for free and arrive in downtown Manhattan in 20 minutes. It is a short walk to Ground Zero from there. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Harbor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Harbor House Staten Island, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing