We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great property & access to NYC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express - Staten Island West
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Staten Island
Newport, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
126 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great property & access to NYC”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed here Christmas night while visiting family on SI. This is a great little hotel - clean, incredibly friendly, good highway access, and a shuttle to the SI ferry at certain times, and a real deal. Our room was a good size with a kind bed. The gentleman who worked the breakfast was so good - friendly, constantly cleaning and restocking.
A very well-run hotel at this price point.

Room Tip: Very quiet at the back of the hotel where we stayed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dandfbud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HI Express S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Staten Island West, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear dandfbud,

Thank you so much for sharing the experience of your recent stay on TripAdvisor. I have shared your wonderful remarks with the rest of the staff and we are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Orlando M.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    120
    48
    20
    16
See reviews for
144
48
21
73
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Just arrived back from a 5 day visit to New York, we decided to stay at this hotel to keep the costs down, as it is much cheaper to stay off Manhattan. The hotel is immaculately kept in all areas, rooms are large with a large bathroom and the beds and pillows are heaven. Steven, the breakfast host is so friendly and helpful, if you tell him what you want to see he will advise on the cheapest way to do it and give recommendations and local knowledge, not only that but the breakfasts are superb. All of the reception staff were super friendly and went out of their way to make the stay excellent, recommendations on dining out from Maria hit the mark every time. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone on a budget wanting to visit New York, we will be returning next year if the budget allows.

Room Tip: we had 118 and 120 and they were lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HI Express S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Staten Island West, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear Mandy L,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write us this terrific review on TripAdvisor. It pleases me to hear that the staff was able to make your stay excellent by being friendly and helpful. I will be sure to pass along your compliments to Stephen and Maria, and compliment them on a job well done. Thank you again for recommending our property and we hope to see you again next year.

Orlando M.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daytona Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Stayed at this hotel a few times. The staff is very attentive. Front desk staff very accommodating and professional. Holly and Maria just super. Breakfast bar for an express had good hot breakfast. Steven kept the dining area clean was very friendly and helpful. Rooms are clean. Beds are great. I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mcgina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HI Express S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Staten Island West, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear Mcgina,
Thank you for sharing your experiences with our hotel on TripAdvisor, we always love to hear from our repeat guests. They say that breakfast is the most important meal of the day, so I am happy to hear our Express Start Breakfast exceeded your expectations. I will extend your compliments to Stephen, Holly and Maria for being friendly and helpful. We look forward to seeing you upon your next visit to Staten Island.

Orlando M.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 December 2013

The staff are very friendly. I stayed there countless amount of times and I would never go else where. Steven is one of my parts of my stay at the holiday inn. The breakfast is amazing and the service of steven was just excellent. The last stay before the current stay was november 9 to november 17. Shows how much the service was good. Ask for steven.
-Alaa Odeh, Dayton Ohio.

Room Tip: Make sure you grab breakfast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alaa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HI Express S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Staten Island West, responded to this review, 25 December 2013
Dear Alaa O,

Thank you for reviewing our property and staff on TripAdvisor, as well as, being a loyal repeat guest. Stephen will be so pleased to hear that he is such an important part of your countless stays. We look forward to your next visit to the hotel.

Orlando M.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
116 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Beds are hard as a rock. Staff us super friendly and so is the security staff working lot, but as for the beds get ready to call your chiropractor because they are hard as a rock. Pay more and book Hampton if you want a soft bed.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brownard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HI Express S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Staten Island West, responded to this review, 25 December 2013
Dear Brownard,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to review our property on TripAdvisor. We always appreciate guest feedback, as this is the only way we are able to improve and do better. I am very sorry to hear that the bed in your room was ‘hard as a rock’, I assure you this is not the standard at our hotel. A good night’s sleep for our guests is very important to us and we would never want our guests to have to visit a chiropractor after a visit with us. To have a more detailed understanding of the issue, such as date of stay & room assignment, I invite you to contact me directly at the hotel so we can work on improving.

Orlando M.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Stephen was a very attentive host during my stay. he would be part of the reason i would return to this hotel during business or vacation, when the opportunity occurs. Please stop by breakfast and speak to Stephen and let him know what a wonderful job he is doing.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 528Dave54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HI Express S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Staten Island West, responded to this review, 25 December 2013
Dear 528Dave54,

Thank you for taking the time to review our staff member Stephen on TripAdvisor. I will be sure to congratulate him on the wonderful job he is doing and I know he will appreciate your kind words. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.

Orlando M.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galloway, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 December 2013

The staff we encounter were all very helpful.
Since we were there for two breakfasts, Stephen was there to ensure our food was good and to encourage us to have healthy choices, including fresh fruit.
He even explain the workings of the HIE pancake making unit. The pancakes were quite good. His morning greeting help us start our day well.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HI Express S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Staten Island West, responded to this review, 25 December 2013
Dear Bob S,

Bob, I am so happy to hear that you found the staff to be so helpful. It is always our goal to exceed guest expectations with our customer service. Stephen will be so happy to hear he helped your day start out on the right foot with a delicious healthy breakfast. Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor and we look forward to a return visit if you are ever in the area again.

Orlando M.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Staten Island
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Staten Island
Holiday Inn Staten Island
#4 of 7 in Staten Island
93 reviews
0.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Staten Island
Comfort Inn Staten Island
#5 of 7 in Staten Island
346 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Staten Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Staten Island
2.8 mi away
Ramada Staten Island
Ramada Staten Island
#6 of 7 in Staten Island
354 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Carteret - Rahway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express - Staten Island West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express - Staten Island West

Property: Holiday Inn Express - Staten Island West
Address: 300 Wild Ave, Staten Island, NY 10314-4710
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Staten Island
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Staten Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express - Staten Island West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express hotel is conveniently situated in one of New York's five boroughs, in the heart of Staten Island, very convenient to Newark Liberty Airport and northern New Jersey sites. Our ideal location allows you to easily reach hundreds of area businesses and attractions. The Arts & Science Museum is close by. Historic Richmond Town, a restored village and museum complex devoted to life on Staten Island; National Lighthouse Museum, Staten Island Zoo, Richmond County Bank Ballpark Home of the Staten Island Yankees, John A. Noble Maritime Collection An education program with art, history, drama, music, and boat trips to the ships' graveyards of New York are all within walking distance from this hotel. The Staten Island Ferry sails into Downtown Manhattan till late night...and is a highlight unto itself. Free! There's the Verrazano Bridge as well as a choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express - Staten Island West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Staten Island Hotel Staten Island
Holiday Inn Express - Staten Island West New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing