We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine for a stopover”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express - Staten Island West
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Staten Island
Irvine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fine for a stopover”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

I stayed hear with my family just for one night as stop over on the way to cape cod. The hotel is going through refurbishment at the moment so it may explain why the room was a bit smelly and seemed to be in need of an update.
Staff and breakfast were very good and cant be faulted.
The local area is a bit on the rough side with not much around but easy to get on and off the interstate.
I'm sure the rooms will be fresher after the refurb is complete making it a worthwhile longer stop in the future.

Room Tip: ASk about rooms that have been recently refurbished
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PlusTax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HI Express S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Staten Island West, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear PlusTax,
Thank You for your feedback during your stay with us! We appreciate your feedback so we can work on the specific areas that need fixing. We apologize for our appearance and any inconveniences this might have caused you and your family during your stay. We are always trying to maintain our rooms for our guests as much as possible, so from time to time we have to go through these small renovations. We are glad to hear our staff was accommodating to you and your family enjoyed our Hot breakfast. This area is in the process of being built up more but there are many restaurant and stores only a few minutes away. I hope if you are back in the area again you would consider staying with us.
Orlando M.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    120
    48
    20
    16
See reviews for
144
48
21
73
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We have stayed at this hotel several times over the past few years. Each time has been a very positive experience. While the rooms are on the small side, they are clean, comfortable and well maintained. The staff is always helpful and friendly and have made each experience a good one. Even though Steven is no longer in charge of the breakfast room, the service and food was good and the atmosphere comfortable and inviting.

Room Tip: Always make sure you ask for a room away from the elevator. It does tend to be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HI Express S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Staten Island West, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Linda A,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. I'm pleased to hear that your are a returning guest and that every time has been a positive experience. Breakfast is an important part of our morning that why we make sure that our attendants are have a smile, are friendly and have everything ready for our guest. We hope to see you on your next visit to Staten Island.

Orlando M.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We had a wonderful stay at this property July 26 and 27. The staff were very friendly, efficient, and really knew what they were doing. We were treated well as an IHG member. Breakfast had complete selection. The rooms smelled so fresh and were so clean. The beds, pillows, and sheets were the usual 'Holiday Inn' quality that I really treasure and always gives us a good nights rest after a long busy day in New York city. This property is so convenient if you are going to Manhattan using the free shuttle going to the free Staten Island Ferry Terminal. I would not hesitate to recommend this property to friends and family and will come back again knowing how we will be treated.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joey V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HI Express S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Staten Island West, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Joey V,

Thank you for writing a review of our hotel. It's gratifying to hear from our guest that they have enjoyed their stay and would recommend us to their friends and family. I will pass you kind words to our staff, I'm sure they will be excited to know of the recognition. Once again thank you very much to taking the time to write your review and hope to see you next time you are in New York City.

Orlando M.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Quiet place to stay in New York, it was near all the places we wanted to go, free parking was good coz we rented a car and I did not want to pay a huge parking fee in NY. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. I would stay there again. The free breakfast was good too!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank solomon g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HI Express S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Staten Island West, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear solomon g,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I'm glad you found our free parking convenient. Also, that you found the staff to be friendly and helpful as we strive to give all our guest a level of high customer service. I hope you can make us you hotel of choice next time you are in the New York City Area.

Orlando M.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

the room was nice it was small but was fine for just me, water was good and hot in shower,the free breakfast was great,had breakfast each morning,the area was nice,there was a park close took my granddaughter, people in holiday inn was very nice and helpful

Room Tip: not in the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carmella C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HI Express S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Staten Island West, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Carmella,
Thank you for taking the time to write this nice review of our hotel. I’m happy to hear that your stay with your granddaughter was very nice. The park you talk about is only a couple of blocks from our hotel. I’m glad you found our Smart Breakfast each morning to be great. We hope to see you on your next travels to Staten Island.
Orlando M.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed here 3 nights. The free ferry to visit Manhattan is always running and the hotel has both a shuttle schedule and is flexible.

Good food, wifi, fitness room, AC, fridge. It has everything I need & want.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andyprouty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HI Express S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Staten Island West, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear andyprouty,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our hotel. It makes me happy to hear you enjoyed your 3 nights stay with us. Our complimentary shuttle runs from Wednesday to Sunday. It departs to the ferry every 2 hours starting at 8 am. While our SI Ferry pick up are 7 pm, 9pm and 10pm. We usually encourage our guest to check with the front desk, as to reserve their seat, since it’s a very popular amenity in hour hotel. Again thank you for choosing us and being a loyal customer.
Orlando M.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saratoga Springs, New York
1 review
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Drove to visit sick relative in Staten Island Hospital......free parking and good highways allowed us to get to ferry to go to Yankees game and to drive to New Jersey shore......great beach at Sandy Hook less than 1 hour away.
Hotel was modern, good breakfast, good staff and extra towels!!

Room Tip: All rooms are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HI Express S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Staten Island West, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Amy K,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I'm sorry to hear the reasons to visit Staten Island I hope your friend is feeling better. As you mentioned we offer free parking to all our registered guest and have a complimentary shuttle to the Staten Island Ferry from Wednesday to Sunday. Also, all our guest can enjoy our Complimentary Hot Breakfast every day. Again thank you for kind words and hope to see you next time you are in New York City.

Orlando M.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Staten Island
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Staten Island
Holiday Inn Staten Island
#4 of 7 in Staten Island
93 reviews
0.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Staten Island
Comfort Inn Staten Island
#5 of 7 in Staten Island
346 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Staten Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Staten Island
2.8 mi away
Ramada Staten Island
Ramada Staten Island
#6 of 7 in Staten Island
355 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Carteret - Rahway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express - Staten Island West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express - Staten Island West

Property: Holiday Inn Express - Staten Island West
Address: 300 Wild Ave, Staten Island, NY 10314-4710
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Staten Island
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Staten Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express - Staten Island West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express hotel is conveniently situated in one of New York's five boroughs, in the heart of Staten Island, very convenient to Newark Liberty Airport and northern New Jersey sites. Our ideal location allows you to easily reach hundreds of area businesses and attractions. The Arts & Science Museum is close by. Historic Richmond Town, a restored village and museum complex devoted to life on Staten Island; National Lighthouse Museum, Staten Island Zoo, Richmond County Bank Ballpark Home of the Staten Island Yankees, John A. Noble Maritime Collection An education program with art, history, drama, music, and boat trips to the ships' graveyards of New York are all within walking distance from this hotel. The Staten Island Ferry sails into Downtown Manhattan till late night...and is a highlight unto itself. Free! There's the Verrazano Bridge as well as a choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express - Staten Island West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Staten Island Hotel Staten Island
Holiday Inn Express - Staten Island West New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing