We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Staff and front desk”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Staten Island
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Staten Island
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Staff and front desk”
Reviewed 23 May 2013

My husband, daughter and I arrived after a not very user- friendly experience in negotiating from the Amtrack station at Newark airport and finding our way through the airport to a cab rank. Newark airport dictates the charges for all cabs leaving the airport, for a 15 minute ride to the hotel, $47 PLUS round trip tolls for a total of $61! Our cab at least did not have a meter so there was no way of knowing what it might have been otherwise.
By the time we arrived at the Hilton Garden Inn, we were stressed to say the least.
It was our good fortune to meet Malek Hamad, the young man at the front desk. He was efficient and empathetic. He promptly took action to ensure that we did not have to repeat the experience on our return to the airport. He completely turned the situation around. He also double checked on our request for a quiet room away from the popular nightclub on the roof. We stayed for the weekend for a family wedding and in those 2 days we did not find a staff member in the hotel who was not polite, helpful and just plain nice!

Room Tip: Definitely request a room away from the night club on the roof and also be aware that the bar/lounge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jewela A, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Staten Island, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Dear Angela M,

Thank you so very much for staying at Hilton Garden Inn and for recognizing our amazingly wonderful team for being so amazingly wonderful! I am very sorry that you had to go through that hassle in getting/negotiating just to get a cab. With great pride, I am happy to know that Malek had turned your stressful night into a much better, hassle free service that you and family deserve.

We appreciate you taking the time to leave us your comments and sharing it here on Tripadvisor and truly appreciate those guests who recognize us for what's inside our doors.

Sincerely,

Jewela Anova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,097 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    592
    246
    120
    80
    59
See reviews for
379
237
70
287
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Penfield
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

I have just returned from a 5 days stay at this hotel and could not wait to write a review. I stayed there 2 years ago for my son's wedding and was very disappointed in the lack of service, noise level in the hotel, lack of security in the lobby, etc. What a change this time. Staff at check in were extremely friendly and added that personal touch, indicating a name and "please call me directly if there is a problelm with your room." (Thank you, Patrick). Great to see familiar faces in the dining facilities. Sal and the other wait staff really pamper you and Mike makes a great omlette among other breakfast treats!! Jeanette, in housekeeping, made sure I had adequate towels, etc. As it turned out her daughter and my son are in the NYPD so we had something in common to chat about. Frank Sanchez (General Manager) offered a survey in return for a breakfast coupon to make sure guests are receiving the quality of service the Nicotras want to provide. Nice new touch and shows they want feedback. Also, someone from staff goes to each table in the morning to make sure guests are having a good experience at the hotel. What a turn-around from last visit. I'll certainly be back.
Thank you!

Room Tip: Higher floors have better view. If you can, get above 3rd floor.
See more room tips
Green Features: I liked the idea you had an option on how often you wanted your bed linens changed.
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PenfieldUpstater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jewela A, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Staten Island, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Dear Penfieldupstater,

With a lot hospitality choices in Staten Island, we are honored to have earned your business again and look forward to many future as well. Thank you so very much for passing on your experience to other readers, and for your recommendation and noticing the improvement of our property. Everyday is a learning experience for all of us, and everyday we try our best to go above and beyond for our guest.

Sincerely,

Jewela Anova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastport
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

This is one of the most attractive hotels in the area, and a good alternative to staying in NYCity, because it is less expensive 'in season'. The staff are very friendly; the breakfast is excellent, with a chef ready to make omelets, waffles, pancakes or whatever you want. The parking has good lighting for safety. It is situated in a mostly park setting, so road noise is negligible. The bed was very comfy, and has an adjustment on it for firmness (which I didn't need). I found that the pool hours were limited, which was a disappointment; and the shuttle to the SI Ferry was not always easily available, but overall our stay was very good and I highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank 4Richardsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jewela A, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Staten Island, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Dear 4Richardsons,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience from the Hilton Garden Inn Staten Island.

We are thrilled to learn that you enjoyed your visit with us. We very much appreciate all of the lovely comments you have made about our team, and the hotel overall. We take a tremendous amount of pride in the hotel and truly want our guests to have the most exceptional, and unique experience one can have in Staten Island/New York.

I am very sorry that you had a difficult time booking our shuttle service and pool not being open when you needed it. We are working on adding more hours and hopefully on your return you won't have the same issue.

We will look forward to your return visit in the future. If I can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Sincerely,

Jewela Anova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 May 2013

They staff have always treated me very well. They are accommodating and friendly. The internet access in the room is fast and stable. The breakfast is one of the best I have had from the many hotels I have stayed at. The rooms are clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank tss0303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jewela A, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Staten Island, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Dear tss0303,

I am delighted to know that our staff have given you the service you deserve. Thank you for taking the time to give us your review and a 5 out 5 stars. It is good to know that with the little things we are able to satisfy our guests. Thank you for being a loyal customer and please do not hesitate to contact me directly when you plan your next stay with us.

Sincerely,

Jewela Anova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hackensack, United States
1 review
Reviewed 20 May 2013

This hotel was a great time away not far from home. We went there for a wedding and stayed 2 nights, staff was very friendly and helpful and the rooms were clean and comfy and the atmosphere of the hotel was very nice. Food in restaurant very good and the breakfast buffet was excellent!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jewela A, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Staten Island, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Dear Paul P,

Thank you very much for staying with us. We enjoy celebrating different events/parties at our hotel. Our staff works very hard to serve each and every one of our guest with excellent service. We are very happy to know that you would stay at our hotel again. Hope we get to see you soon.

Sincerely,

Jewela Anova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2013

GardenHilton Inn has a really awesome rooftop lounge club, great views, really upscale for SI. The architectural structure and design is very upscale. It is trendy and similar to those in big cities. The outside rooftop are has great views, there's plenty of heat to warm you on cold nights and the music is non stop. Order the fries, they are brought out in an actual sneaker!

Room Tip: Did not stay at Hilton, visited the lounge, it's a classy hotel though rooms are not easy to get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaliforniaDreamer612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jewela A, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Staten Island, responded to this review, 15 May 2013
Dear CaliforniaDreamer612,

It was a pleasure reading about your experience at The Above Rooftopt! We are very happy that you found our night club trendy and the architecture design to be very upscale. And there is nothing like getting fries in an actual sneaker!!! yum. :) Thank you for your review and recommendation, we hope to see you back soon...

Sincerely,

Jewela Anova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Juliet, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2013

This was a very clean and friendly hotel. I felt very safe here. The restaurant was awesome and had excellent food. Try the Sequoia Grove 2008 Cab, it is fabulous and you cannot buy this everywhere. The food was excellent and the patrons were very nice and had some great conversations. All of the staff was very courteous and the omelets in the morning were excellent!

Room Tip: Any room in this hotel would be excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori S P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jewela A, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Staten Island, responded to this review, 15 May 2013
Dear Lori S P,

The entire team of Hilton Garden Inn will be thrilled to read that they helped make your stay safe and wonderful! Thank you for taking the time to recognize their efforts and to share your experience on Trip Advisor about our restaurants entrees the "Sequoia Grove 2008 Cab"! We look forward to welcoming you back to our little slice of NYC!

Sincerely,

Jewela Anova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Staten Island
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Staten Island
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express - Staten Island West
2.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Staten Island
Comfort Inn Staten Island
#5 of 7 in Staten Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Staten Island
Holiday Inn Staten Island
#4 of 7 in Staten Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ramada Staten Island
Ramada Staten Island
#6 of 7 in Staten Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Executive Suites
Hotel Executive Suites
#2 of 2 in Carteret
3.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn New York/Staten Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn New York/Staten Island

Property: Hilton Garden Inn New York/Staten Island
Address: 1100 South Ave, Staten Island, NY 10314-3410
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Staten Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Staten Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn New York/Staten Island 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hilton Hotels Direct, TravelUp, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn New York/Staten Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Staten Island Hotel Staten Island
Hilton Staten Island
Staten Island Hilton Garden Inn
New York City Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing