We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay on Staten Island”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Staten Island
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Staten Island
GreenLeadersBronze level
Albany, New York
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Best place to stay on Staten Island”
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Clean and well maintained. Busy on weekends and holidays. Private and well lighted parking area for guests with room keys only is a big plus as main parking lot often packed and busy. Good location just off major highways and easy access to Gothels bridge.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaylinn H, Guest Service Agent at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Staten Island, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear Dave G,
I appreciate the time you took to review our hotel and I'm glad that your stay with us was enjoyable. I hope we see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    616
    258
    127
    82
    60
See reviews for
408
243
71
294
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Staten Island, United States
1 review
Reviewed 4 December 2013

This hotel was perfect for a romantic anniversary dinner. The room was clean and comfortable and breakfast the next morning was satisfying. We had an overall excellent experience. Staff was professional, helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Maria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaylinn H, Guest Service Agent at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Staten Island, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear Maria G,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We value all guest feedback, both good and bad. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope we see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mays Landing, United States
1 review
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Hotel is top notch in my opinion. Very accommodating, knowledgeable, friendly staff. Room more than met our needs and wants. On my next visit I will ask them to undo the "Smart room" feature. Hotel is conveniently located by an Interstate and it's easy to get into Manhattan.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaylinn H, Guest Service Agent at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Staten Island, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear Michael G,
Thank you very much for your kind words about our hotel. We take a lot of pride in our staff and our hotel. At the moment we are unable to remove the smart room feature, however it is something we are looking into. I sincerely hope we see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staten Island, United States
1 review
Reviewed 25 November 2013

The Hilton on Staten Island is a great place to stay. Their food is exceptional and I would recommend this hotel for the excellent quality of service and staff on the island. They also have a great night club that you can go to while here, all in one convenient location.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Myron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaylinn H, Guest Service Agent at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Staten Island, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Myron R,
I appreciate the time that you took to review our hotel. We value all guest feedback, good and bad. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and had the opportunity to go to our Above Rooftop. I hope we see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We recently stayed here while my wife ran in the New York Marathon. This is a world renown marathon and yet it seemed as if the just did not care about the marathon or the runners.

We are so used to the Hilton s going above and beyond to cater for runners. The Hilton in Disney is a perfect example how to take care of their marathon runner clients. We chose this Hilton because of our good experience with Hilton s catering for runners. This Hilton is one of the closest hotels to the start of the race on the entire Staten Island.

These are my dislikes;
The 1st night there was a very loud wedding and our room was right above the reception hall. Trying to get a goof night sleep was almost impossible. Common sense would be to put the marathon runners on their own section of the hotel.

The next night there were kids running in the halls You could hear everything anyone said in the hallways, the walls were so thin we could hear the guys in the next room coughing and flushing the toilet.

The rooms had "pillows" that were tiny square things that were so flat and uncomfortable. One would expect good quality bedding in a Hilton.

We asked if they would have breakfast early so the runners could eat before they ran. I might as well asked him for free food, with the look we got. We were told there was no special arrangements for the runners. Wow , what a difference to other Hilton's close to marathons.

Very disappointing

Room Tip: Stay some where else if you want a good nights sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shaunc64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaylinn H, Guest Service Agent at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Staten Island, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Shaunc64,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm sorry that you were disappointed during your stay with us. I sincerely hope that you give us another chance. If you are ever in our area again, please contact me personally so I can ensure your satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranston, United States
1 review
Reviewed 22 November 2013

The cleanliness of the hotel room was not up to my expectations. There was dust and candy wrappers behind night stands. It appeared to be Top cleaned only. The front desk staff should be more detailed when giving info on hotel restaurants, etc. When told of a buffet they should have also told us the cost instead of us being surprised when we arrived that it was $30 per person.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Kristine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaylinn H, Guest Service Agent at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Staten Island, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Krisitine C,
I would like to apologize the cleanliness of our hotel did not meet our expectations and I appreciate that you took the time to review our hotel and bringing it to our attention. It will be an issue that I will bring up with the manager of housekeeping. If you ever find yourself in our area again, please contact me personally and I'll do everything in my power to ensure that your next stay with us will meet, if not exceed, your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

I travelled from Wales UK to New York for my friends wedding. I was met on time by their free shuttle service, my room was as indeed the whole hotel was, spotlessly clean, warm and the staff are obviously proud to be in their profession, always have time for a chat without intrusion. The pool was great and I was so impressed that there was a lifeguard on duty, which is not always the case elsewhere. Food was good, and I would heartily recommend this hotel. I travel to NY every year and stay in Times Square, but from now on, because of their brilliant free shuttle service, and the free ferry service, I would recommend anyone to stay there. The only downside is that you get changed in the ladies for the pool, but the door to the pool via the gym is locked so you have to walk through the public area past the spa to get to it, that really needs to be looked at. Other than that - perfect.

Room Tip: Beds are adjustable depending on preferance of soft/firm.
See more room tips
Green Features: pet friendly, towels/sheets changing at yiur request as part of environment practice. toilets dual flush.
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zoila321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaylinn H, Guest Service Agent at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Staten Island, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Dear Zoila321,
I would like to thank you for the time you took to review our hotel. I'm glad that your stay with us was exemplary and that you took advantage of all the amenities that we offer. We all take pride in our hotel and work our hardest to meet the expectations of all of our guests. We will definitely look into opening that door between the fitness center and the pool. We intend to make everything convenient for our guests. I hope we see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Staten Island
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Staten Island
2.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Staten Island
Comfort Inn Staten Island
#4 of 7 in Staten Island
349 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express - Staten Island West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Staten Island
Holiday Inn Staten Island
#6 of 7 in Staten Island
1 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ramada Staten Island
Ramada Staten Island
#5 of 7 in Staten Island
362 reviews
3.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Newark Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn New York/Staten Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn New York/Staten Island

Property: Hilton Garden Inn New York/Staten Island
Address: 1100 South Ave, Staten Island, NY 10314-3410
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Staten Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Staten Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn New York/Staten Island 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn New York/Staten Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Staten Island Hotel Staten Island
Hilton Staten Island
Staten Island Hilton Garden Inn
New York City Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing