We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Somber and deep experience...”

Postcards-The The Staten Island September 11 Memorial
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Somber and deep experience...”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I recommend this attraction but be forwarded it is very emotional especially when you see the names of people you have known that died in the attack. It is very well maintained and just a short walk from the SI Ferry, so easily accessible to all.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ed F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    44
    7
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yuma, Arizona
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Well planned, developed 9/11 memorial”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Peaceful, a tribute well done to those who lost their lives that day from Staten Island. Is a easy walk from the ground level north entrance to Staten Island Ferry.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank AzMoNurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“911 Memorial on Staten ISland”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Right near the Staten Island Ferry & Richmond County Ball Park (SI Yankees A ball) the memorial is tastefully done to honor the men & woman the died in the attacks of September 11th, 2001 who were from Staten Island (My cousin is part of this memorial). As a member of the NYPD, the memorial is steps away from where I was standing when the 2nd tower fell so it is a special remembrance for me.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Level Contributor
196 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Beautiful September 11th Memorial”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

My husband and I had taken the ferry to get into the city that day and when we got off I mentioned that the Postcards Memorial was right next to us. So before we went to our car we took the short walk over to check out the memorial.
There is no line or entrance to get in. It is free and open to the public to come and observe, reflect, and pay respect to those that lost their lives on that day.
The design is unique. If you look between the two sides you are looking at Manhattan where the Twin Towers used to stand. On looking closer at the two walls you can see names.
It was very peaceful while we were there reflecting on where we were on September 11th.
If you are in the Staten Island area it is worth a moment of your time.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank cmanfra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
102 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“spiiritual”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Everyone needs to come here and absorb the atmosphere created by this memorial. It is like stepping into another world, the air just feels different. It is a beautiful place to feel peace, the view is spectacular. Be sure to walk along the explanade and just esperience the feelings that it all brings.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank dorothy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Postcards-The The Staten Island September 11 Memorial also viewed

 

Been to Postcards-The The Staten Island September 11 Memorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing