We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Haven and Respite” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Conference House

The Conference House
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Benjamin Franklin and John Adams met at this house early in the Revolutionary War with British Admiral Richard Howe to discuss whether an end to the war could be negotiated.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Haven and Respite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

We went to Conference park after a very difficult time we were having following our grandfather's funeral. Grandma wouldn't leave the house and we managed to convince her to get out for some fresh air. The weather was beautiful. The entire place so idyllic, so peaceful. There were families and kids playing and moms with little ones. We sat there quietly on the benches watching people go by. We had a group of girl scouts come and show us their rock collection and grandma was so at ease and happy to be involved in all the laughter, life and childhood she forgot for a few hours all about losing grandpa and managed to find some well deserved peace and respite for her soul, even if it was only temporary. Our time here is after all only temporary.

As we were walking around Conference House a little child ran after me to show me what she/he had found playing. What a treasure! it made my grandmother's day. see pictures.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Verite W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    21
    7
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fair Play, South Carolina
Level Contributor
149 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Rich in history”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

We went here a few times with the grand kids and always learn something new. The house has fantastic views of Arthur kill and New Jersey. A must see for residents and visitors alike.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RICHARD F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A Piece of History”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

It is a lovely old house situated on a little piece of land with an amazing view. If you are at all interested in American history, this property puts some things into perspective and puts Staten Island on the American History Map. There is a bus that goes straight there from the ferry. The ride takes about an hour.
Take a picnic and sit on the lawn overlooking the water.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank DeHavenarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
154 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A bit of history in a quaint spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

The Conference House is a historical gem on the South Shore of Staten Island. It is situated on a beautiful waterfront city park. Tours of the house and the nearby (just a few hundred feet walk) Billopp House are interesting and the staff is kind and informed. Outside the house are walking trails and large trees that are perfect to picnic under. A nearby parks station contains additional info and restrooms.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank jennifer821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hebron, lsrael
Level Contributor
168 reviews
166 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
“Is This Really New York City?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

The Conference House (ca. 1675) - at the southern tip of Staten Island, of New York City & of New York State - is one of the oldest houses in the city. It is the site of a conference during the Revolutionary War between Benjamin Franklin, John Adams & Edward Rutledge on the "rebel" side, & British representatives, as an ill-fated bid to end the war - the "rebels" refused to surrender, with the result of us not being Canadians today (no offense intended!); the house is today open as a museum. It is located in a pleasant park; if you squeeze through weeds to the nearby seashore, you'll have a pleasant & interesting view of Arthur Kill (a sound), with Perth Amboy, New Jersey, on the opposite side; further away is the Outerbridge Crossing (1928), the outermost bridge crossing in or from New York City - it was actually named for Eugenius Harvey Outerbridge (1860-1932), the one-time director of what was then the Port Authority of New York & New Jersey; the bridge could hardly have been named the "Outerbridge Bridge"!
The adjacent district is Tottenville, New York State's southernmost neighborhood. This is small-town America right in the Big Apple! Here are many interesting historic buildings - bring a copy of the architectural guidebook AIA GUIDE TO NEW YORK CITY.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Conference House also viewed

 

Been to The Conference House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing