We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Good Luck”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Victorian Bed & Breakfast of Staten Island
Reviewed 8 May 2014

I needed to escape from the crowds of Manhattan for a couple of days. Staten Island seemed a likely candidate and I found my way to Danuta's B&B at 92 Taylor Street. I found her to be extremely friendly, accommodating, knowledgeable and concerned for my comfort. She offered to pick me up at the ferry terminal, gave me a nice tour of her home and provided me with an endless parade of snacks and drinks. She is a lively conversationalist and tells entertaining stories. Breakfast both days was ample, novel and satisfying. Danuta dedicated herself to seeing that I was well-fed before leaving for each day's travels and adventures. There is bus service between the ferry terminal and Danuta's home. Get a schedule and plan accordingly.

Please do yourself a favor and stay with her. You will love your time there. I did.

Room Tip: Rooms are on the 2nd and 3rd floors. Call ahead and make your request.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bob494
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (71)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2014

We have been to several B & B's over the past couple of years, including B & B's in New York Massachusetts and Vermont. This was one of our best experiences. The accommodations were
were very comfortable and very clean. Danuata, our hostess was charming, always making sure our comfort needs were met.
The breakfast was good,consisting of a fresh fruit salad (including kiwis and strawberries). An assortment of rolls, muffins, breads and croissants were also served. (I was particularly impartial to the almond croissants, which were purchased at a local farmer's market , and ate two.) These were all served with a delicious homemade fig jam. Yogurt and eggs were also offered. My husband opted for scrambled eggs and toast.
The quietness of the surroundings was also welcomed and appreciated after a full day in the city. The only sound heard during the night was an occasional fog horn from a nearby tug boat....

We enjoyed our stay, look forward to returning and would definitely recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrea L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

The house is amazing and full of history. It was unlike any place I had every stayed before. Daunta , the host, is a wonderful and caring person. The food of course was wonderful too. There was a shared bathroom, which I thought would be an issue but never turned out to be. The rooms are very big and we even got the room with a private kitchen.

The problem for us was the location. The actual road that the house is on feels very safe but around the corner I felt a little uneasy (That could just be because it was my first time to new york). Visiting Manhattan by bus was possible, but time consuming and inconvenient.

But if you are familiar with New York then this might be a perfect place for you.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank neocarbunkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

My wife and I stayed three nights here while we explored Manhattan and thoroughly enjoyed it. Danuta, the hostess, is very welcoming, cooks a great breakfast and maintains a comfortable and charming house. The location is perfect - we drove to the Staten Island ferry each morning, parked all day for $7 and then took the free ferry into the middle of the city. It may take a little longer than if you were staying on Manhattan but the price more than compensates. Finally, I would recommend ringing to check availability as third-party booking websites listed this place as No Vacancy but this was not the case when we rang the owner.

Would definitely stay here on our next visit to New York!

Room Tip: Top floor has its own bathroom and a nice outside porch area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank david d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We only stayed one night and could not enjoy the breakfast, but the hostess was very pleasant and accommodating. Never saw the other guest even though we shared a bathroom. We were visiting locals who said the area was "not great", but the street was quiet and we never felt unsafe.

Room Tip: Make sure to call for availability.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank capposcasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

很高興成為Victorian b&b第一個從台灣來的客人
We are glad of being the first guests from Taiwan to visit Victorian B & B.
謝謝豐盛充滿精力的早餐
Thanks for hearty breakfast let us full of energy.
謝謝溫暖強力的噴水龍頭水柱
Thank you for the strong flow and heat water of shower.
謝謝舒服令人容光煥發的大床
Thank you for the comfortable king size bed.
每天早上醒來,又是充滿活力的開始
Wake up every morning, like a vibrant start.
我們會懷念您的熱情招待及您帶我們去的秘密森林、派翠克、TomTom
We will miss the hospitality of you, Patrick, TomTom and took us to the secret forest.


黑膠唱片的留聲機傳出交響樂
Listen to the symphony from phonograph of Vinyl records.
桌上擺著中央車站旁凱悅飯店的建築師的作品集
The architect's Portfolio that designed the Hyatt hotel which next to Central Station is on the table.
每天兩小時與女主人享用波蘭式的早餐,幾乎都要忘了要去NY city玩
Enjoying Polish breakfast with hostess for 2 hours in every morning, almost forgot to go to NY City to travel.
值得推薦給所有的人一去再去的地方
It`s worth to recommend to all people a place to go.

Michael Yang & Jane

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank editor77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We visited on 6/21 - 6/23/2013. This B&B is on a charming, safe street, and the house is situated with a beautiful front yard and garden. The furnishings are beautiful antiques. Room had comfortable queen bed, ample space, and amenities such as complimentary bottled water, snacks. etc. There is a parlor with TV and books for guests, plus a well-stocked coffee bar, cookies, tea, etc. The proprietor prepared a most delcious, ample breakfast. All sorts of fruit salad, cheeses, egg dishes, breads, etc. were served.
We found the location perfect, given its proximity to Brooklyn, NY and No. New Jersey. We traveled through various neighborhoods to arrive, and I found the location to be on a beautiful residential and charming area. If you are looking for old world elegance and/or a quiet place to relax and get away from the city noises and congestion, this place is wonderful.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Allen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Staten Island hotels
3.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Staten Island
4.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Staten Island
Comfort Inn Staten Island
#4 of 7 in Staten Island
357 reviews
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Staten Island West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Staten Island
4.9 mi away
Staten Island New York Hotel
Staten Island New York Hotel
#5 of 7 in Staten Island
6 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ramada Staten Island
Ramada Staten Island
#6 of 7 in Staten Island
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victorian Bed & Breakfast of Staten Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victorian Bed & Breakfast of Staten Island

Address: 92 Taylor St, Staten Island, NY 10310-1226
Region: United States > New York > Staten Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Staten Island
Price Range: £118 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Victorian Bed & Breakfast of Staten Island 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant house is located on the North Shore of Staten Islanmd,in the town of West New Brighton,a "restorative country place one of New York City most agreeable suburbs" as quoted by mid 19 th century contemporaries.Only 17 minutes by the city bus to famous Staten Island Ferry and attraction of Manhattan beconing beyond.This fine Italianette Villa,dating back to 1847 is crowned with a cupola and has marble fireplace mantles in every room.Original victorian decore includes mirrors paintings and some furniture that are original to the house.There are four bedrooms and two bath.One of bedrooms is a suite with two rooms to accommodate three persons.Guest will enjoy full breakfast.Tv in the living room. Free access to wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Victorian Bed & Breakfast of Staten Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victorian Bed & Breakfast Of Staten Island New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing