We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spacious Rooms- close to Newark Airport & Brooklyn” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Staten Island

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Staten Island
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Staten Island
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level Contributor
102 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Spacious Rooms- close to Newark Airport & Brooklyn”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

Stayed close to I-95 for easy departure. Nice big rooms. Minimal interior design in the downstairs lounge areas - needs some updating. In corporate office park - close to the Hilton hotel if you want to find more upscale restaurant. Good value.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HalBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonSINY, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Staten Island, responded to this review, 1 November 2011
Thank you so much for your comments. We do feel that we are at a great location, close to Manhattan, Brooklyn, New Jersey, and expressways in every direction. We are thrilled that we were able to make your stay comfortable and hope to do so again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    381
    168
    67
    36
    22
See reviews for
301
122
52
134
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
115 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

fantastic hotel but very pricey. Expect to pay 80% above national average for a Hampton.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dennysre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonSINY, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Staten Island, responded to this review, 1 November 2011
Thank you for your great review about our property. We are priced to compete with Hotels in the Manhattan, Brooklyn, and New Jersey area, and hopefully you will be able to notice the savings and ultimately the service for the price that we are asking. We hope that even though you find us pricey, you have recieved the best hospitality that New York has to offer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
98 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

It was your typical Hampton Inn. Clean, comfy and bug free! Only odd thing was they had a partial power outage between 2-4 to save electricity. Didn't effect us because we were napping but still seemed odd.

Also if you are deciding between Hilton and Hampton they are literally next door to each other.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Megs867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonSINY, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Staten Island, responded to this review, 20 October 2012
Dear Megs867

Thank you for your review, we appreciate your stay with us while your travelling. I hope you had a wonderful time on your cruise. Unfortunately during summer we work with our electrical company to avoid any type of black out. If we assist them by conserving just a few hours every once in a while we can count on our electric to be fully powered at all times. I do apologize for the rare instance that you witnessed, however it is only done to help prevent black outs in times of needs.

Thank you for choosing Hampton Inn & Suites
Jamarow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2011

We stayed in the hotel for one night before a cruise trip and 3 more nights after the cruise. On the first night, we arrived very late and were greeted by a friendly staff with a nice smile. Our room was spacious and clean. Even if it was just right next to the elevator, there was no noise at all.
The breakfast was ok (usual standard for Hampton Inn). It is always convenient to get a quick bit before going out in the morning.
The best part was the complementary shuttle to take us to the cruise port. We parked our car in the hotel’s parking lot for free during the cruise. It was a big saving, as well as a convenient way to get to the port.
After the cruise, we took the Staten Ferry to do sight seeing in New York City for 2 days. There were parking spaces at the ferry port ($8 per day) so we drove our own car and parked there every morning. The hotel also provides the shuttle service to the ferry port but we didn’t try, as it was more flexible to drive by ourselves. It was about 15-20 minutes driving. The ferry ride was a nice and relaxing way to/from Manhattan.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JY_Happy_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonSINY, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Staten Island, responded to this review, 1 November 2011
I am so happy that you enjoyed your cruise and your time in New York. We try to be as accomodating as possible to all our guest and wish that they enjoy our staff as much as they enjoy the sights of the city. Thank you so much for staying with us we hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norton, Massachusetts
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

I always stay here when I come to visit my friends and family. The staff is fantastic and rooms are great.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kuelkatz1028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonSINY, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Staten Island, responded to this review, 1 November 2011
Thank you so much for your kind words. I will be sure to pass down your appreciation to our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

We had booked the SI Hampton Inn for a one night pre-cruise stay, based on reviews on another cruise related website. Having never been to Staten Island, we did not know what to expect. With Irene bearing down on the east coast, our one night stay turned into 3 nights and 4 days at the Hampton Inn, as we came in a day early and the ship was a day late in sailing. I cannot say enough about this hotel and its staff. The Hampton Inn sits on a 400 acre parcel within a wooded area of Staten Island owned by the Nicotra Group. There is a sister hotel, the Hilton Garden Inn that has a wonderful restaurant (Lorenzo's). There are numerous sculptures throughout the entire campus. Clearly the Nicotras are art lovers (I have since googled them and they are very interesting people, not the least of which is their foundation that provides education funds for their employees). The SI Hampton Inn has the same amenities of other Hampton Inns where we have stayed. A great gym, luxurious linens and bedding, free breakfast and the very much appreciated free wi-fi. The staff made sure we were kept informed regarding the storm, and advised that we may lose power or have to be evacuated, neither of which occurred. But the staff was well prepared, and despite the fact that they may have been worried about their family members or property, they were always friendly and attentive. In the midst of some of the heaviest part of the storm, we even had an exquisite dinner at Lorenzo's over at the Hilton. And with breaks in the storm, we were able to hop on the Staten Island ferry for a couple of trips into the City (made available by the free shuttle). So, this hotel is much, much more than a one nighter destination.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SingerEsq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonSINY, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Staten Island, responded to this review, 1 November 2011
I want to thank you for your beautiful review. Our staff really put their best foot forward during the storm and made something out of nothing. We believe that we have a great staff in place here and appreciate your what you have said about our staff, property and owners. I will make sure that every one gets to see what you have written us here and hope that we can see you in the near future thanks again so much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

I stayed here for one night in August with my husband and kids during Hurricane Irene when we lost power. The room had 2 Queen beds, which were very clean and very comfortable. Bathroom was also very clean, and had a spacious whirlpool bath. I appreciated the frige and microwave provided in the room. Free breakfast is provided from 6am-10am: Get there early. The breakfast bar provided fresh fruit, an assortment of hot and cold cereals, yogurt, make-your-own waffles, and there was some sort of eggs and bacon (I got there at 7am, and the eggs were already gone) .

Drawbacks:
+ There's no closet in the room I was given; no place to hang up any items other than on the back of the bathroom door.
+ The selection of TV channels available - I came with two 7-year olds, and there was no channel appropriate for them. Thank goodness I brought iPads with movies loaded. And they use satellite TV, which was pretty spotty given the weather conditions we were enduring at the time.
+ The indoor pool was closed when we stayed here, due to the weather. Not sure what that meant.
+ The "high speed internet" provided the hotel is not very high speed at all. Quite the opposite. But I guess you can't really complain when its free.

Check in and check out were very smooth. Front desk staff were inundated (again, there were a bunch of panicked, stressed out folks taking shelter from a hurricane in their hotel) but they did their best.

Overall, my stay was not unpleasant. If I had to stay here again, I would do so gladly.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scrappintwinmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamptonSINY, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Staten Island, responded to this review, 1 November 2011
Thank you so much for recognizing our staff during your stay. We are happy that we were exactly what you needed at that time. I will be sure to pass this to our staff and management. It is unfortunate that you experienced some instances that could have made your stay that much better especially the drawback of the missing closet. Our rooms are designed in such a way that we understand some will not notice the huge mirror in the room is actually a closet that opens and or slides for more storage space. I wish we known you had this issue, we would have happily shared our hidden treasure with you.

Our pool was closed due to the weather because New York State requires that a lifeguard be present in a commercially operated pool in order for it to be open. Due to the storm a lot of people were not able to make it out to work which unfortunately required us to have our pool closed.

Rest assured we are currently working on our situation with the television channel selection and will do our best to provide more options for everyone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Staten Island
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Staten Island
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express - Staten Island West
2.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Staten Island
Comfort Inn Staten Island
#5 of 7 in Staten Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Staten Island
Holiday Inn Staten Island
#4 of 7 in Staten Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ramada Staten Island
Ramada Staten Island
#6 of 7 in Staten Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
3.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Staten Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Staten Island

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Staten Island
Address: 1120 South Ave, Staten Island, NY 10314-3410
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Staten Island
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Staten Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Staten Island 2.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A shuttle is provided through the Hilton Garden Inn across the parking lot from Hampton Inn & Suites property. Please contact hotel directly in advance to confirm pick up and drop off. New York State Law prohibits the use of a commercially operated pool without a contracted life guard present. This stipulates our pool hours. Monday through Friday 5pm-10pm and Saturday and Sunday 9am-8pm, (accommodations for pool are set at the Hilton Garden Inn across the parking lot while our pool is closed or blocked off due to pool parties.) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Staten Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Staten Island
Hampton Inn & Suites Staten Island Hotel Staten Island
Hampton Inn Staten Island
Staten Island Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn & Suites Staten Island New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing