We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay at this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Staten Island
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Staten Island
Certificate of Excellence
South Amboy, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Do not stay at this hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

My car was stolen from the parking lot during my stay at this hotel. They don't have any cameras in the parking lot either. The security took 25 minutes to arrive to the scene once I told the front desk about the situation. They need to get better surveillance around their facility. I would never stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
3 Thank Oscar C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robin W, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Staten Island, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Oscar C, I want to apologize for the unfortunate experience that you had at our hotel. Please know that the safety and security of our guests is of the utmost importance to us, we are dedicated to your satisfaction and hope you will a lot us to make up for your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    383
    170
    68
    37
    23
See reviews for
305
122
53
135
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Allentown, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

This hotel is wonderful all around! Its is almost brand new condition and the rooms were so clean and fresh. All the employees were always helpful and friendly and breakfast was always stocked. If I am ever in the Staten Island area this is my first choice!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Sasha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robin W, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Staten Island, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Sasha D. Thank you for letting us know about your stay. Our staff really works hard at making our guests feel at home away from home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

yep that is right. someone else got there before me and used my name and they gave up my rooms without contacting me. Yes, it was before 5pm and yes, I had "HELD" my reservation with a credit card. Even worse, they removed my name from the reservation but LEFT MY HOME ADDRESS!! so when the person checked out they put their name and my personal information. When I called to complain about how easily they gave up my room (being a hilton honors member I was even more offended) they acted sympathetic and then sent me an apology email...addressed to the person who had checked into my room. They said they felt really bad about the mix up and would make sure that I received points since I did stay in the hotel that night. Only problem, they gave me apology points but did not credit my account for the night stay.
I am still loyal to the hilton brand but think this one should be dropped from the chain.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karaf874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robin W, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Staten Island, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Karaf874 I want to apologize for the unfortunate experience that you had at our hotel. Please know that the safety and security of our guests is of the utmost importance to us, we are dedicated to your satisfaction and hope you will a lot us to make up for your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

If you're a European who travel the US regularly you'll know hotels can offer excellent value compared with prices back home. And they're big too! But even in the US city hotels can be expensive, especially if they're located near airports. But this hotel ticked all the boxes for the last night of my business trip. It is located on Staten Island just off the Goethals Bridge, so very close to Newark. Also, the run into the city from here (although always dependent on traffic) was straightforward, so it makes a good base allowing you those things you don't often get in a city centre (loads of parking, big rooms, etc). Very modern, large hotel, courteous staff. The cost, while higher than other hotels on my trip, was still really good value given its location in Staten Island, indeed costing no more than a typical, nothing-particularly-special UK hotel chain. Rooms were well-furnished, very clean and nice. Loads of options for delivery of fast food direct to your room, catering for every taste (really!). No trouble parking. Great TV, ideal way of winding down before my departure next day.

Room Tip: A front room overlooks the carpark if you're one of those people who wants to keep an eye on you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Calvin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robin W, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Staten Island, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Calvin S Thank you for letting us know about your stay. Our staff really works hard at making our guests feel at home away from home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staten Island, United States
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

simple amenities, could use more variety for complimentary breakfast, should have standard staples --eggs bacon and one "special"--ie the omelets or bagel toppers--need more single/couples tables set up --not every table need to shared

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Martin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robin W, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Staten Island, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Martin L Thank you for letting us know about your stay. We will be remodeling this year so I think you will find our area set up with more couples tables.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Rose, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

Clean, quiet, new and friendly. Went in not expecting much and was pleasantly surprised at ever step of the way. The staff was great. The breakfast staff were spot on and did a great job keeping everyone happy and fed.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Bert N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robin W, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Staten Island, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Bert N, Thank you for letting us know about your stay. Our staff really works hard at making our guests feel at home away from home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfside Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

This hotel was very clean,the staff was friendly and hotel is convenient to restaurants, schools, colleges, and shopping..We were there to attend a Communion for a grandchild and it was very close to the church and to my husbands children. The only downside is we werent there during the day much, and the mattress was bad. We both had backaches in the mornings.Overall, the hotel was great and highly recommended ..

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Shecon54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robin W, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Staten Island, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Shecon54 Thank you for letting us know about your stay. Our staff really works hard at making our guests feel at home away from home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Staten Island
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Staten Island
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express - Staten Island West
2.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Staten Island
Comfort Inn Staten Island
#5 of 7 in Staten Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Staten Island
Holiday Inn Staten Island
#4 of 7 in Staten Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ramada Staten Island
Ramada Staten Island
#6 of 7 in Staten Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
3.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Newark Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Staten Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Staten Island

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Staten Island
Address: 1120 South Ave, Staten Island, NY 10314-3410
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Staten Island
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Staten Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Staten Island 2.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A shuttle is provided through the Hilton Garden Inn across the parking lot from Hampton Inn & Suites property. Please contact hotel directly in advance to confirm pick up and drop off. New York State Law prohibits the use of a commercially operated pool without a contracted life guard present. This stipulates our pool hours. Monday through Friday 5pm-10pm and Saturday and Sunday 9am-8pm, (accommodations for pool are set at the Hilton Garden Inn across the parking lot while our pool is closed or blocked off due to pool parties.) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Staten Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Staten Island
Hampton Inn & Suites Staten Island Hotel Staten Island
Hampton Inn Staten Island
Staten Island Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn & Suites Staten Island New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing