We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”

Sterling Nature Center
Reviewed 12 July 2017

This was my first time at this nature center. My daughter and grandkids have been before because they live near there. This place is amazing. It is off the beaten path and not many people know about it. The trail to Lake Ontario is wonderful. The path goes through the woods and out to the lake. The walk to the bluffs is very easy. We went on the trail to the heron rookery and that was the best. I could have stayed there all day. The trail is through the woods that opens up to the swamp with several nesting herons. It was amazing. There are benches to sit on and watch. Beautiful place and it is FREE!!

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank Charlene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (23)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"pack a lunch"
in 2 reviews
"great blue heron"
in 2 reviews
"lake ontario"
in 6 reviews
"herons"
in 6 reviews
"swamp"
in 3 reviews
"shore"
in 7 reviews
"forest"
in 3 reviews
"frogs"
in 2 reviews
"wildlife"
in 3 reviews
"turtles"
in 2 reviews
"rookery"
in 10 reviews
"bald"
in 2 reviews
"benches"
in 2 reviews
"scenic"
in 2 reviews
"picnic"
in 2 reviews
"hiking"
in 2 reviews
Filter

9 - 13 of 23 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2017 via mobile

We went back this time of year because we read that the herons come back to nest. We were not disappointed. There were about 10 occupied nests. We saw a pair of blue teal ducks, a clutch of gaiters snakes and other birds. Perfect spot to refresh yourself. Also we were able to bring the dog on the leash.

Date of experience: April 2017
Thank 649simap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2016 via mobile

Beautiful day in early September to walk the grounds of the Sterling Nature Preserve. Trails were easy to walk and well marked. Great views of the bluffs and Lake Ontario. The nature center has lots to see. Restroom facility is adequate. Saw a green heron, blue heron and turtles sunning on logs. Going to come back in the spring to see the rookery in action.

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank 542jerryz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2016

One of the best little nature preserves in upstate New York. Joins Montezuma as one of our real favorites. Not as well-know, perhaps, but that's fine because here you can find the quietude of nature. Diverse ecosystem, from marshes, meadows, woodlands and the shore. Beautiful.

Date of experience: May 2016
Thank RonL40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2015

We try to include a hike here every time we visit the area. It is a beautiful and peaceful area. Lots of birds to see.

Date of experience: September 2015
Thank Rita C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sterling Nature Center also viewed

 

Been to Sterling Nature Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing