We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Nice nature walk

Was in town visiting family, lived in the area as a child and never had gone wish I had before now... read more

Reviewed 1 August 2018
Cherie F
,
Reynoldsburg, Ohio, United States
Wow! Great trails!!

This was our first time at Sterling Nature Center, but it won't be our last. We took our dog with... read more

Reviewed 29 July 2018
Kathy G
,
Auburn, New York
Read all 23 reviews
  
Reviews (23)
Filter reviews
23 results
Traveller rating
18
5
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
18
5
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pack a lunch great blue heron lake ontario herons shore forest nest frogs wildlife rookery turtles bald benches scenic picnic hiking
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 23 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2017

Best place to watch bald eagle in NY, from nest to the sky. We went there in early August, the center is almost empty, really enjoyable. Bugs are not a problem at all, we spay deep woods OFF on ankles and neck, and Permethrin on clothes. Trails are all connected, remember to pick up a map at parking lot.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank Bing W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017 via mobile

Beautiful views peacefull ,nice trails dog friendly could of spent the whole day hope we make it back soon

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank arthur p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017

This was my first time at this nature center. My daughter and grandkids have been before because they live near there. This place is amazing. It is off the beaten path and not many people know about it. The trail to Lake Ontario is wonderful. The path goes through the woods and out to the lake. The walk to the bluffs is very easy. We went on the trail to the heron rookery and that was the best. I could have stayed there all day. The trail is through the woods that opens up to the swamp with several nesting herons. It was amazing. There are benches to sit on and watch. Beautiful place and it is FREE!!

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank Charlene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2017 via mobile

We went back this time of year because we read that the herons come back to nest. We were not disappointed. There were about 10 occupied nests. We saw a pair of blue teal ducks, a clutch of gaiters snakes and other birds. Perfect spot to refresh yourself. Also we were able to bring the dog on the leash.

Date of experience: April 2017
Thank 649simap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2016 via mobile

Beautiful day in early September to walk the grounds of the Sterling Nature Preserve. Trails were easy to walk and well marked. Great views of the bluffs and Lake Ontario. The nature center has lots to see. Restroom facility is adequate. Saw a green heron, blue heron and turtles sunning on logs. Going to come back in the spring to see the rookery in action.

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank 542jerryz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews