We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice nature walk”

Sterling Nature Center
Reviewed 1 August 2018

Was in town visiting family, lived in the area as a child and never had gone wish I had before now. We only got to spend a couple hours there due to rain. Nice trails and plenty of nature to take in. One trail leads you right down to the lake shore with view for miles and others along the lake and into the woods. Pack a lunch and make day of it. Will have to go back sometime to see the rookery in action.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Cherie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (23)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"pack a lunch"
in 2 reviews
"great blue heron"
in 2 reviews
"lake ontario"
in 6 reviews
"herons"
in 6 reviews
"swamp"
in 3 reviews
"shore"
in 7 reviews
"forest"
in 3 reviews
"frogs"
in 2 reviews
"wildlife"
in 3 reviews
"turtles"
in 2 reviews
"rookery"
in 10 reviews
"bald"
in 2 reviews
"benches"
in 2 reviews
"scenic"
in 2 reviews
"picnic"
in 2 reviews
"hiking"
in 2 reviews
Filter

1 - 5 of 23 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2018

This was our first time at Sterling Nature Center, but it won't be our last. We took our dog with us. There are numerous trails, each one with different characteristics. There is a stand at the entrance that has trail maps with descriptions and it was refilled while we were there. The lady working at the nature center was very informative and friendly. We spent several hours waking the trails. You can customize your experience by selecting trails that interest you (forest, field, lake, pond, etc.) and keep the distance to your desired length. The trails were groomed well and there were none that we encountered that were too strenuous. Lots of wildlife present - frogs, birds, butterflies, dragonflies, variety of trees and growths, turtles. Some trails are in direct sun - others are under shaded canopies. There are benches along the way and observation points. So much to see!! This is a great place to explore!!

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Kathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2018 via mobile

Took grandkids here to see the rookery in full swing. Early June. Great and kids loved it. Even got to see a bald eagle flying about 20 feet above our heads. Nature center is super, trails excellent and a beautiful lakeside walk.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank 542jerryz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2018 via mobile

This is a good place for all ages. They have shorter trails with amazing views of the lake and shore. The heron rookery is an amazing site. There is a small gift shop and learning/exhibit area in the building. Admission is free but we decided to get a membership ($25 for family) to help support the center , get a 10% merchandise discount, get a tax write off and learn about special member events. Look forward to returning and checking out other trails.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank jeremyb821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 21 September 2017

Wonderful county site for nature walks, picnics and hikes! I has asked about paddling and there is a canoe launch site just before the entrance. Here it looks like a nice Stillwater paddle on a creek but I'd suggest spring. We walked all the trails which added to several miles and enjoyed the well kept trails and sites. the Great Blue Heron rookery will be great in spring. There are other attractions nearby as well as a large state park to the west for campers nd the like. The Sterling site was great as we had it all to ourselves although the building itself was closed.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank KestrelHaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sterling Nature Center also viewed

 

Been to Sterling Nature Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing