We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we would love to come back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
ElmRock Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 6 Stone Ridge B&B and Inns
ny
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“we would love to come back”
Reviewed 22 February 2011

we have been to many bed and breakfasts and have not repeated too many because we like to try new ones. sparrowhawk might just be on our list of repeat visits. the hostess was wonderful, the room we had was large and romantic and the breakfasts were out of this world. we didn't have to eat until 7 at night after breakfast. while we were there, mom suggested that we call our friend in the next town to join us for breakfast. we didn't because we had other plans, but what a warm touch and generous spirit. we would remember this for a future visit. the inn is located on rt 209, halfway (15-20 minutes to each) berween new paltz and kingston. a convenient location off the beaten track. the jacuzzi ion the room was welcomed and they have a 2 person jacuzzi in a separate room if you want it.in the hallway right outside the rooms are a refrigerator, wine glasses, ice, water and microwave. there is a mini-bar as well in the living room. we were refreshed after a 2 night stay and would recommend this place to our friends and family. it would be a great place for a wedding. check out their website and pictures.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sglick53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    10
    0
    2
    3
See reviews for
5
33
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 6 January 2011

Looking for a magical stay while ice climbing in New Paltz.. Just off the beaten path on 209, this B&B is one of the most charming and coziest I have ever stayed at. The hosts Marietta and Mom were most gracious and welcoming, and made us a truly delicious breakfast; even though we were in a rush to hit the ice every morning. The room was all decorated in the Victorian style, and were all clean and well-presented. I loved the little sign that said everything here is for sale. We were tempted to take a couple of things home as a souvenir. If you are looking for a unique and pleasant night away, we highly recommend " SparrowHawk Affaires". It was a memorable experience to remember for a life time.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nancyyaisel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumont, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2010

We had a wonderful stay at Sparrow Hawk Affaires. Marietta and her mom are extremely warm and attentive hostesses. Our stay exceeded our expectations of a B&B, as our room was spacious and we had plenty of privacy. The entire room and the bathroom were spotlessly clean, not to mention very charmingly decorated. The next morning we enjoyed an amazing breakfast, cooked to order by Marietta herself. I had the fresh pumpkin waffles and they were absolutely delicious! We are already talking about our next stay at SparrowHawk Affaires!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank melr0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2010

My husband and I were looking for a relatively last-minute getaway, and found SparrowHawk through trip advisor. We arrived on the late side of a snowy Friday night and were met very warmly by the innkeeper, who recommended a good place for dinner.

We had the largest room on the ground floor and it was quite cozy, though the decorations were a bit kitschy and cluttered for my taste. The house itself is lovely, with exposed beams and wide-plank floors though it does feel a bit like you're staying at your kooky Aunt's house. It is also right on the main road, so there was quite a bit of car noise throughout the night. Not a huge deal, but it did keep me up a bit.

There was a beautiful fireplace in the room with a gorgeous mantle, but it was decorative only, and had a kind of cheesy LED fire-light heater in it (no real flames!). The bed was a king and very comfortable, and the bathroom was huge. I've had friends with apartments smaller than that bathroom.

The best thing by far is the amazing breakfasts. I'm talking filled omelets, huge waffles with fresh cream, bacon, delicious coffee. The works. We didn't have any need for lunch on either day. It was all delicious. There happened to be another couple from New York City staying that weekend and we had a great time having breakfast together, chatting over coffee. It was really nice.

All in all, we had a great time and really enjoyed ourselves. It's not fancy, but it's extremely comfortable and the owners are very sweet. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank squidalina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2010

First off, Marietta and Mom are wonderful hosts. You are made comfortable from the minute you walk in. It's like staying at your own home. It is beautifully decorating, very romantic and charming. The breakfast is out of this world. You must try the belgian waffles. We had apple cinnamon and pumpkin with fresh vanilla cream. To die for!!!! The omlets melt in your mouth and its all you can eat!!! The rooms are clean and comfortable. We can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paisley201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 September 2010

My family and I stayed here after spending the day at the Mohonk Mountain House. It was only a five minute drive away and after a day of hiking, this charming bed and breakfast was just what we needed. The rooms were all very clean, there were tons of movies to choose from, and board games for the whole family to play! The next day we had the most delicious breakfast and hiked the trails in the backyard. Marietta was a wonderful host...we can't wait to go back again!

Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank lsheena1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 September 2010

We arrived late on Friday for our big event on Saturday. We arranged the day about four weeks before. What we had planned vegitated in our minds for many months, but !!!
You see we were getting married, however I originally had my mind set on a location here in New York city. When I failed to find what I wanted in the city I recalled our lovely New Year's getaway at SparrowHawk. The quiet and beautiful accomidations, and the care and consideration of the two lovely women who own and manage the hotel, sold us on the fact that they would again do everything in their power to make our event a joyous happening. And that is truly what they did. Again Marietta and Mom we both thank you for being as you are thoughtfuly and loving people, kindest regards Frank and Aurora

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrResourceful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stone Ridge
6.7 mi away
Minnewaska Lodge
Minnewaska Lodge
#1 of 1 in Gardiner
325 reviews
8.6 mi away
Hampton Inn New Paltz
Hampton Inn New Paltz
#1 of 5 in New Paltz
109 reviews
5.7 mi away
1850 House Inn & Tavern
1850 House Inn & Tavern
#1 of 2 in Rosendale
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa
2.7 mi away
Hasbrouck House
Hasbrouck House
#2 of 6 in Stone Ridge
36 reviews
13.5 mi away
Stonegate Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ElmRock Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ElmRock Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: ElmRock Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 4496 US Highway 209, Stone Ridge, NY 12484-5610
Region: United States > New York > Stone Ridge
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Stone Ridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — ElmRock Inn Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1770 brick colonial nestled in Rondout Valley, between the beautiful Shawangunk Ridge and the Catskill Mountains, featuring 5 unique guest rooms, with private baths and fireplaces throughout. We have preserved the historic features, including the original wide plank floors, while providing you with the best in modern hospitality. In addition to our main house, we offer families and guests with pets, the option of staying in our cozy private carriage house featuring 2 bedrooms and loft area with a full kitchen, living room and outside patio area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your ElmRock Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing