We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel, great wheelchair access and awesome friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Stony Brook
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Stony Brook
Certificate of Excellence
Westmead, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel, great wheelchair access and awesome friendly staff”
Reviewed 27 March 2013

Holiday Inn Stony Brook was the best hotel by far of our trip to the US. The staff were always friendly, and willing to help with anything you needed. They even got one of the hotel's shuttles to drive us to Port Jefferson when we couldn't get a wheelchair taxi. Was snowing and freezing outside, but Holiday Inn Stony Brook was always warm inside. The fire inside the front door, made it feel homely and you feel welcome. The room was amazing.. huge... big enough for me to turn my chair when I needed to.. only problem we had was the heater died during a snow blizzard, but that was no big drama, they moved us to a room across the hallway. Bathroom was easily accessible, and toilet and shower were an easy transfer from the chair, heaps of rails :) The only thing with Stony Brook and Long Island itself is the lack of transport for people in wheelchairs, as there are no wheelchair taxis on Long Island, makes it tough. However, I highly recommend Hoilday Inn Stony Brook for anyone considering staying in the area :)

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    92
    43
    18
    15
See reviews for
98
40
22
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Randolph, New Jersey
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Clean hotel that is just 5 minutes from Stony Brook University. Only had one minor issue the first night...pillows were too fat for my liking. When I mentioned this to the front desk the next day, they made sure I had a good pillow for the second night. The bed was very comfortable and the noise level was very low which allowed me a good night of sleep.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VacationLoverUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2013

** I was going to give this hotel 5 stars until one evening when I returned to my room and found an 'undesirable' object had been left there. No more has to be said on a family website, however I would urge anyone that stays here to be careful about the security of their room and its contents! I was upgraded to a suite on the top floor and the management apologised to me.
After this incident I think my rating is very fair and hopefully the hotel management do something to rectify the source of the problem I experienced **


The room I stayed in was large and well appointed, the bed was comfortable and came with a 32 inch TV, fridge and microwave oven. Overall the hotel is well kept and staff are helpful and friendly. Breakfast is resonable and above my expectations for a HI Express. The free WiFi is reliable and fast. There is a free shuttle bus available and we used it to go to and from the local train station which is useful for trips into NYC. Lots of shops and resturants nearby with a few within walking distance. Overall very good.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank N_Young47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stony Brook, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Dear N_Young47,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding our room and amenities.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation on the security which was unacceptable. We will address this point. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shorewood, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2013

Because daughter attends the university nearby, we've always stayed at this hotel. The staff is very accommodating, friendly and courteous. Breakfast always is hot, if you choose, and the hot water for tea is available at all times. We were here for hurricane Irene and was allowed to extend our stay as they made it clear we were welcome. Laundry facilities are easy.
Only problem is the "gym" area as there were no towels, no way to clean off equipment after sweaty usage, seems there could have been some spray and towels. I think it is nice though that the hotel offers usage of the pool and equipment to surrounding residents for a small fee. Just think they need to update the hygiene parts of the gym.

Room Tip: If you book online with the request of a larger room, insist on it or you might just get one with on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KMcT1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2013

I stay in a lot of Holiday Inn's for business. This hotel is very clean and the front desk staff is friendly and helpfull. The rooms are big. I've stayed here 3 times. I've stayed in the standard room, a jacuzzi room, and the one bedroom suite. All were nice. The beds here are comfortable which is hard to find in the H.I. chain. It's also close to shopping and food.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WeJammin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silverthorne, Colorado
Level Contributor
70 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2013

The staff makes most properties shine, and that seems to be true here. Hotel manager personally answering many emails about my concerns prior to arrival, arranging pick ups at train stations, drop offs at airports, etc. Hotel common areas and hallways, are bright and clean. Business center works like it is supposed to. Laundry facilities, sporting areas including basketball, mini golf, pool, etc., quick and courteous transportation, free breakfast and wifi. This hotel has helped many people during the hurricane Sandy disaster and one can see why they would be chosen or want to be helpful. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flyer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
102 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

It is a pretty big property. To me, my stay was average at best, not great, not to bad. My room was on the 6th floor was across from the conference room. Usually, a room near a conference room is not bad unless they have meetings at night, birthday/holiday parties, then it sucks because all of the good parking is taken and it is loud.

Having to do all the u-turns and stuff gets old, but that is not the hotel's fault, it just way hwy 347 is. There is a new Target, Chili's, and Home Depot close by.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stony Brook, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Dear James J,

Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to leave us a candid review. I would like to offer a sincere apology for being just an average. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stony Brook
2.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Stony Brook
4.4 mi away
Danford's Hotel & Marina
Danford's Hotel & Marina
#1 of 2 in Port Jefferson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Long Island
Hyatt Regency Long Island
#1 of 4 in Hauppauge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Long Island - Brookhaven
3.5 mi away
Three Village Inn
Three Village Inn
#3 of 3 in Stony Brook
3.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
5.2 mi away
Courtyard Long Island MacArthur Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Stony Brook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Stony Brook

Property: Holiday Inn Express Stony Brook
Address: 3131 Nesconset Hwy, Stony Brook, NY 11720-2004
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Stony Brook
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Stony Brook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Stony Brook 2.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Holiday Inn Express Stony Brook-Long Island offers 143 newly renovated guest rooms: standard kings, queens, two room suites, spa rooms, and handicap accessible rooms. The Holiday Inn Express Stony Brook - Long Island hotel is a designated non-smoking property. All rooms feature: flat screen plasma cable TVs w/HBO, CNN, ESPN, free local calls, high-speed wireless Internet access, iPod docking stations and pay-per-view movies. Additional in-room amenities are: microwave/refrigerator unit, hair dryer, iron & ironing board, & a coffee maker in every room. Our hotel meeting rooms can accommodate 100 people theater style, up to 80 banquet style and we offer use of our audio/visual equipment. All guests enjoy complimentary hot Continental buffet breakfast, 20X40 indoor heated pool and use of our fully equipped fitness center. Roll away beds are available at no additional charge. Children stay free and the hotel has a playground, and there are plenty of local attractions geared toward children. Our amenities include a putting green, horseshoe courts, and athletic fields with basketball, tennis, softball and picnic area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Stony Brook reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Stony Brook Hotel Stony Brook
Holiday Inn Stony Brook
Stony Brook Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing