We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Soup Dumplings, WOW !”

Red Tiger Dumpling House
Ranked #9 of 50 Restaurants in Stony Brook
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Stony Brook, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Soup Dumplings, WOW !”
Reviewed 31 January 2014

This newer resteraunt has been reported to be doing very well.
I went there for lunch this week and was greatly surprised. Its just a 10 table place in the corner of a strip mall. The offering is very authentic with chinese food resonably priced. The dumplings were sick. Soup Dumplings were awesome and surprise, filled with delicious meats, and seafood, and soup? What a great combination. The teas were filled with casava pearls, very healthy.
Hey Red Tiger, see you Saturday to try other new goodies.
If you want a treat, go there soon. Don't sit by the door during winter as its cold everytime the door opens.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Larry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    12
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Commack, New York
Level Contributor
45 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“If you like dumplings try this place”
Reviewed 19 January 2014

My wife and I were looking for a casual dinner out and she recommended this place she heard about. It is a small restaurant but we basically had a "dumpling" dinner. The soup dumplings are really really good. All of the dumplings they made are great. Wasn't expensive either. We would definitely go back again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Soup Dumplings!!”
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Soup dumplings are hard to find on Long Island..when we read in Newsday that Red Tiger had them we flew to Stonybrook. The dumplings (called "buns" on the menu) were awesome. But so was the the noodle dish (with curry) crystal noodle dumplings and the always-forgotten scallion pancakes.
The waitstaff is pleasant but they forget a lot of things...no water..no spoon for the dumplings etc. Stuff that really doesn't matter overall but gets a bit annoying when you're waiting to eat.
The food is ridiculously good so really.....go!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bkrtchr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smithtown, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Flushing no, but very good!”
Reviewed 28 December 2013

My family and I went t the Dumpling House for dinner after a movie. Had assorted dumplings, Cumin Beef (excellent and unique for Long Island) and Singapore Rice Noodles. All were very solid choices. Place is small so get there early if you have a group over 5 people. We will be heading back to Red Tiger!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Glenn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
227 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Long Island has a Dumpling House”
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Went here for a quick lunch. Really enjoyed it. While not a traditional dumpling house environment with the servers pushing carts of assorted dumplings around, the quality of the food was great.

Really enjoyed the fast service and casual atmosphere. We were in and out with soup and dumplings in about 35 minutes. That was great for lunch.

Really liked the soup dumplings and the shrimp dumplings.

Will definitely return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rightfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Red Tiger Dumpling House also viewed

Stony Brook, Long Island
Stony Brook, Long Island
 
Stony Brook, Long Island
 
Stony Brook, Long Island
Stony Brook, Long Island
 

Been to Red Tiger Dumpling House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing