We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Counrtyside gettaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Stony Creek Ranch Resort
Prospect, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Counrtyside gettaway”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

If you are looking for a weekend or a full week to get away in the mountains this is your place. I went the first time for a girls weekend of horseback riding I got so much more. I met some of the most wonderful people here and I have gone back with my family in tow twice since then and planing to two more times this year. This place sponsors great fun or relaxing getaways whatever your preference, the resort has pools, horses, and a saloon with a great band on Saturday nights right on site. Cabins are quaint and clean and the views are breathe taking. My family and I just returned from their bi-annual ATV weekend and we cannot wait for the next one. Check this place out, meet this amazing group of people you won' regret it. Oh and did I mention 3 meals a day and a 10 pm snack at the saloon included in all prices (amazing chef). Sitting in dinning room at round tables with other guests for a sit down family like dinner. So much amazing food you and hospitality.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dawn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    38
    3
    6
    16
See reviews for
61
16
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
new york
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I really enjoyed the long weekend I spent at 1,000 Acres. The horses were well cared for and the advanced trail riding really was for advanced riders. The food was very good and the place, well it was like taking a trip back to the '70's. We went on a country line dancing weekend and it was a blast, the other guests were very welcoming. The only reason it doesn't get 5 stars is that the rooms desperately needed renovating. Actually the whole place is badly in need of renovating, so much so that it was a topic of conversation around the dinner table.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank 99maryanns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 30 September 2013

What a great team of people! We were welcomed as family right from the start. We really couldn't ask for a friendlier group. It often felt that they were reading our minds as they offered us things before we even thought of it ourselves. The authentic cowboys and trail guides were extremely friendly and knowledgeable. Emmy, Linda and Billy are real cowpokes with an unparalleled knowledge of horses. Three levels of trail rides available. Fabulous trails with lots of deer, we even crossed the Hudson on horseback! How many people are able to boast of that?! Horses were wonderful, and we were able to experience many of them. Watching them get rounded up for turn out in the evening sunlight was a highlight of the trip. You will not go hungry! Jen is a phenomenal chef and served huge portions of food. Big Mike in the Red Dog Saloon offered talented nightly entertainment. The general manager, Jim has a great personality. He even set up our own personal campfire on the bank of the river. He runs a tight ship but is well liked by all. We were certainly impressed by his organization and leadership skills. Being able to hang out with the locals was a treat. People up here are beyond friendly. Views of the mountains were breathtaking, close to hiking trails and good fishing ponds. All in all, if you are an outdoor enthusiast we highly recommend that you stay at 1000 Acres! We've already booked our return trip next year and hope to make this vacation an annual event!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kayakqueeny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long island, NY
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We were originally booked on a cruise, but found out that my daughter would be 'too' pregnant to be allowed on the ship. After some research, we decided that 1000 Acres would be the place for our family celebration.
We booked 2 duplex cabins, side by side. The rooms are very rustic (the floors sloped toward the front of the cabin), but clean. I don't think they have been changed much since the Ranch was built.
The view of the Hudson River fom the porch is spectacular. It is so peaceful to sit on the porch and look at the river or read a book.
The food was delicious, thanks to chef Jenn...3 hearty meals a day, delivered by our fabulous server, Stephanie.
The riding was great! Be aware that you are only guaranteed 1 ride per day, but you may stand by for other rides. The horses were all in great shape and took us on beautiful trails. Since our group was of all different riding abilities, it was good that they had slow, medium and fast rides. All of the wranglers were very friendly and helpful, and made the rides so much fun!
Cowboy Ernie sang to us at dinner, ran the talent show, ran the show at the bonfire and was always around to make us smile. We bought one of his CDs so we can listen at home and reminisce about our great week at 1000 Acres.
There are many other activities such as hiking, boating, golf, swimming, volleyball, softball and fishing or you can also just relax in such a beautiful, peaceful setting.
In the evening, we would go to the Red Dog Saloon to dance, listen to music or play pool.
I would highly recommend 1000 Acres Ranch!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RustyRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

My girlfriend had originally booked the Halloween Weekend at the Ranch in 2012 but it was cancelled due to the weather. She was able to roll over the deposit (something most places don't allow) so we I booked the Labor Day Weekend Rodeo package. Little did we know how much fun we would have. The room we had was actually one of the cabins. Very clean and comfortable. It was nice to sit out on the small porch and watch the river flow by. The Rodeo wasn't a huge event like they hold in Texas but it was big enough for three days of events (calf roping, team roping, barrel racing, and pole bending). There were some young kids participating in the rodeo who are very talented. Of course we were there mostly for the horseback riding, and we weren't disappointed. The three levels of riding (slow, medium, fast) were perfect for us since I ride fast and she had to ride either slow or medium due to a sore hip. The horses are perfectly suited for all levels of riding and the guides are very good at pairing you up. The trails are extensive and I don't think we rode more than two of the same trail each day. They are also nice and sandy which makes for good drainage. We rode the day after a full night of rain and the tails were barely wet. The food was also excellent. A full, cooked to order, breakfast, buffet lunch, B-B-Q, smorgasbord dinner, all enough to keep you full during a day of activities. We didn't use any of the pools (there are three) but we did use the hot tub. The Red Dog Saloon was the place to be at night. They had line dancing lessons on Friday night, a live band both Saturday and Sunday nights, and Big Mike is quite a character. Yes, the Saloon is a little dated but I found that part of its charm. Some other things you can do at the Ranch - golf, boating, fishing, and hiking. One thing to note, since the major flooding two years ago they are still trying to recover. One of the lodges is still uninhabitable and the tennis courts haven't been repaired. These items may be last on a list of needed repairs so give them time and these items may be fixed. They don't take away from the fun time you can have at 1000 Acres Ranch Resort so try it some time.

Room Tip: The individual cabins are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

overall I enjoyed staying in this resort. Food is excellent, staff is very friendly and helpful. we have elderly, young children and infants in our group, and there are pretty of things to do for everyone(except for the infant OF COURSE). We stay at the Deer leap motel style room, is clean and comfortable. * one thing to keep in mind is this is not a 5 star hotel* this is a place to enjoy the nature and family time. no TV in the room, but there is Wi-Fi in the room. is better to bring your lap top or I-pad to check weather or stay connect with others. (no reception in facility, but you can use the phone in the room to dial out)
things you can do like golfing, horseback riding in the trail, pony ride for youngster, boating in the river, fishing, campfire, swimming pool, and basketball. this place help me clear my head and appreciate the nature and family. the only thing I would say is the facility need some update... we didn't use the indoor pool and tennis court, it need serious cleaning.
we also went to Lake George to take the steam boat ride $15/person, the boat ride is an hour long. Lake George is about 20 minute away from the ranch, is a cute town.
we booked on off-peak rate $144/person.
this is a good experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rainbow888168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

My girlfriend and I decided to take our girls to the 1000 Acres Ranch after viewing their website and calling the office back in March of 2013. We are so glad we decided on booking our family vacation at the 1000 Acres Ranch. We arrived during lunch time and Big Mike the bartender greeted us 1st. If you remember the TV show Love Boat, Big Mike would be like Iassac the bartender. Maureen in the office greeted us next and told us to eat lunch before we checked in. One of our daughters couldn't come with us so we brought our youngest's friend, Maureen had to adjust our total bill DOWN because our guest was younger than my daughter. We didn't even ask her to do that. Maureen would be Captain Steubing's daughter. JIm the manager spent time with us in the Red Dog Saloon and he would be Captain Steubing. Bryan, one of the cowboys was like gopher. Ernie was like Doc and Josh was like the cruise director (yes Julie, sorry).

The point of this review is the staff was awesome from the beginning to the end!!! If Big Mike wasn't introducing us to other guests or to some locals, he was talking to us like we were old friends. I work in a customer influenced line of work and also worked in bars before....Big Mike was awesome. Bryan would meet and greet us by name at the barn and throughout the grounds. He made us feel welcome and included. Linda seemed very comfortable talking to the guests during the trail rides.

The food was excellent. A mixture of buffet, cook-to-order, cook out or family style meals were offered depending on the posted schedule for the day. We ate very well while we were at the ranch and always found ourselves looking forward to the next meal with an appetite due to all of the walking and activities that we participated in. Maureen matched our little family up with another family who was in from London England. Our girls enjoyed hanging out with their younger boys,,,,,it was a perfect match. Matthew did a great job serving our meals. Jenny did a great job preparing the food...real mashed potatoes with some skin still on it...the pork loin cooked perfectly (juicy with very little fat, awesome gravy and biscuits to go along with it).

The horseback riding was great!! Trails weren't flat. There were different geographical features and fooliage throughout the trails (streams, ponds, hills, sand, pine trees, hard woods). I'm sure it would look great during the fall and winter seasons as well. There were 3 levels of riding (slow, medium, fast) for those with a lot of experience or who showed the ability to control their horse. Their horses were well behaved but had some independance to what they did.

Our room was rustic but clean and comformtable. We have an excellent view of the Hudson River and the beds were very comfortable.

I'm sure I'm missing something in this review but that will just give you the opportunity to enjoy the experience yourself. I would recommend the 1000 Acres Ranch to anyone. We were very relaxed the entire time we stayed there. We knew the place was a hit with the girls when they asked us if we really had to leave!!! Try it, you'll like it!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stony Creek
8.5 mi away
The Elms Waterfront Cottages
The Elms Waterfront Cottages
#1 of 7 in Lake Luzerne
91 reviews
7.9 mi away
Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
7.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Courtyard Lake George
Courtyard Lake George
#5 of 89 in Lake George
148 reviews
6.7 mi away
Super 8 Lake George/Warrensburg Area
8.0 mi away
The Georgian Lakeside Resort
The Georgian Lakeside Resort
#26 of 89 in Lake George
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stony Creek Ranch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stony Creek Ranch Resort

Property: Stony Creek Ranch Resort
Address: 465 Warrensburg Rd, Stony Creek, NY 12878-1613
Region: United States > New York > Stony Creek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Stony Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stony Creek Ranch Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 174
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Stony Creek Ranch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1000 Acres Ranch Hotel Stony Creek
1000 Acres Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing